We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B Villa de Don Andres (Hotel)
Ranked #8 of 35 Quetzaltenango B&B and Inns
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“poor management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and were disappointed by what we received and by the management of the hotel.

On arrival, we were given room no. 1. which is a small double room with an inadequate shower. The warmth of the water was fine, but to access the hot water you needed to run the water at a very slow trickle. Soon after, the toilet blocked, too. Also, the room lacks some privacy as people are able to see into the room through the glass door.

The next day we asked to changed the rooms and, with some reluctance from the management, we were able to do so. We were placed in room number 2 which was a lot better than room 1. It was spacious and it had 2 double beds. More importantly, the shower worked a lot better than the first one.

After changing rooms, I questioned myself why would they put us in an inferior, inadequate room when they had better rooms available? Especially, as there was almost nobody else staying in the hotel - most of the rooms were empty.

Also, after changing rooms, the management of the hotel spoke openly and rudely about us for the rest of the duration of our stay there. We could hear them talking about us constantly from our room. They acted as if we were to blame for everything that happened and seemed to be looking for anything possible to get angry about. This is totally unprofessional and inappropriate.

On the website, internet is advertised as being unlimited if you pay for the corporative rate. We paid this rate, but found that the hotel repeatedly turned off the internet service throughout the day and night. We repeatedly had to ask them to turn on the internet to be able to access it.

The good points about the hotel:

- the breakfast included was good, with a variety of choices. It was well made and presented.
- the staff were friendly and helpful.
- the rooms minus room no. 1 and the singles room(s) are large.
- the place is safe, secure and clean.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waalitj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    9
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
8
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

I really enjoyed Xela and would recommend this hotel to others. The location is right near the park so there are lots of places to eat and drink nearby. The hotel breakfast was not so great and there our plenty nice places nearby. We went up near the theater on 14st. and found lots of places for dancing. The rooms are old but nice and ours had a sitting area and a desk to do some work. I would stay there again the next time I make it to Xela.

Room Tip: Ich Bin Student is a Bar nearby that was really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

I was recently in Quetzaltenango on a family trip and was told by a local that the Hotel Modelo was the nicest place in town. We booked our first night at the Hotel Modelo, but were unable to get a second night because a convention was coming to town. We decided to take a chance on the Villa de Don Andres for our second night, and we are so glad we did! Much nicer than the Hotel Modelo. The Modelo had a pleasant staff, but the rooms were sparse and dreary, and the street noise was relentless. On the other hand, Villa de Don Andres had larger, more comfortable rooms (we booked the 4-person suite), with nice decor and comfier beds. Our room was near a street, but there was significantly less noise than at the Modelo. The breakfast was light, but quite nice and the staff was attentive and friendly. The location was great, too- about a block from the city's central park. My family and I definitely recommend this place over the Modelo.
As an aside: My family and I highly recommend Adrenalina Tours if you are looking into any excursions during your stay in Quetzaltenago. They took us to a sacred lagoon (Chicabal) about an hour from the city and natural hot springs (Fuentes Georginas) about two hours out of the city, all at a very reasonable rate-- I believe it was ~$200 for 5 people to take the two trips which took up an entire day and included a shuttle driver and a guide. Our driver Jose was very friendly and super helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCellist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2009

Spent 3 night her and thoroughly enjoyed it. Start the day with good breakfast here then explore the city or markets, or surrounding villages. Free internet, big rooms, solar water, gets cool in evenings. Only 1 block from the Parque Central which in Xela is the towns main attraction. Nice gift store on site and close to resturants and nightlife.
Great location , very safe , owners willing to help and assist with tours or questions.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanannman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buffalo
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2007

Great location, one block from Parque Centrale.
Very clean, big room (room no. 4)
A few unusual things: They call this hotel a B & B, but breakfast is not included. They advertise that they have hot water, but that's a stretch - there is hot water in the itsy bitsy bathroom,
but don't expect any kind of water pressure. The sink, of course, has no hot water, and the bathroom is so tiny, it makes you hate taking a shower, as there is no place to towel off. The toilet is very temperamental...allow at least 15 minutes between uses.
One major annoyance - the front door is locked from 8pm - 7am.
If you come home late, or like to go out for early coffee, you have to ring the bell and wait for someone to open the door.
The owner is quite petty. She charged us $6 for a towel, which she said we stained.....I don't think there is a towel that costs $6 in the entire country. They didn't want payment on a credit card, even though they advertise Visa/Mastercard on their front door.
On the other hand, we had a very large room, and the location of the hotel is superb.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the owner
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ablask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Quetzaltenango hotels
0.1 mi away
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
Pension Bonifaz Hotel
#3 of 17 in Quetzaltenango
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Modelo
Hotel Modelo
#1 of 17 in Quetzaltenango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.7 mi away
Anna Inn Hotel
Anna Inn Hotel
#2 of 17 in Quetzaltenango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Las Americas
Hotel Las Americas
#6 of 17 in Quetzaltenango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
Hotel y Bungalows Santa Ana
#13 of 17 in Quetzaltenango
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Seibel
Casa Seibel
#2 of 35 in Quetzaltenango
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Villa de Don Andres (Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Villa de Don Andres (Hotel)

Property: B&B Villa de Don Andres (Hotel)
Address: 13th Ave. | 6-16, Zona 1, Quetzaltenango 09001, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Quetzaltenango Department > Quetzaltenango
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Quetzaltenango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Villa de Don Andres (Hotel) 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B & B Villa de Don Andres is a small hotel located one block from Central Park Quetzaltenango. In the historic center of the beautiful city of Los Altos . It is located in a beautiful house with lots of history and where details make the difference , it's a safe and quiet place in a familiar environment . We have eight themed rooms in honor of Quetzaltenango, single, double , triple, quadruple . All have private bathrooms and hot water. With services : room - breakfast , wifi , laundry. We support the community with selling crafts and regional food group classes . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your B&B Villa de Don Andres (Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa De Don Andres Hotel Quetzaltenango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing