We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Lost World

Lost World
Book In Advance
More Info
US$70.00*
and up
Tikal Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lost World complex includes the Great Pyramid, the oldest visible building at the Mayan ruins site in Tikal, now a popular place to watch the sunset and feed the toucans.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

It is an amazing place, how the Mayans made this great infrastructure for so many years?. You have to walk a lot in the park, but time flies. If you love nature, you'll love Tikal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gtpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    25
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lost World found”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Everything about this place is filled with wonder. I was so happy every moment I was there there is just too much to see for one visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank imaglo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Interesting site- take care with guide choices”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We went to Tikal from Belize- to do this you have to go through border control and MUST change to a Guatemalan taxi. The Lost World / El Mundo Perdido part of Tikal is the oldest part of the city. Careful choice of guide is recommended as some guides are less knowledgable than others- suggest anyone going does some ground work for themselves first as some guides are not so well informed on e.g. rulers of Tikal, recent discoveries, chronology.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank chaletaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
173 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“So much more than I expected!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

It's hot and sticky, with 90% and in 4.5 hours, I walked 16 km, not counting the stairs, temples and pyramids I climbed. And I loved every moment of it! Tikal is so much more than I expected and it's stunning to realize that what I saw is just 20% of what's there. Climb everything you're allowed to climb, and open yourself up to the jungle experience. Take a guide, you'll learn and experience so much more. Watch for the howler monkeys, they're so cute. Wear the absolute best walking shoes you own and watch out for slippery sections of the trail, because it's so humid. A hat, sunscreen and mosquito repellant cream are essential and take as much water as you can carry. Absolutely do not forget your camera! Tikal was on my bucket list and far exceeded my expectations. I loved my day there!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I don't have adequate superlatives”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Truly amazing. Our favourite part of the highlight of our Guatemalan experience. Don't miss this part of the complex. It's quiet, full of wildlife, and beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanielGoodare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lost World also viewed

Tikal National Park, Peten Department
Tikal National Park, Peten Department
 
Tikal National Park, Peten Department
Tikal National Park, Peten Department
 

Been to Lost World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing