We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Mayan Ruins & Wild Turkeys!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lost World

Lost World
Book In Advance
More Info
US$70.00*
and up
Tikal Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Lost World complex includes the Great Pyramid, the oldest visible building at the Mayan ruins site in Tikal, now a popular place to watch the sunset and feed the toucans.
Hopatcong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Awesome Mayan Ruins & Wild Turkeys!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Awesome Mayan Ruins. We were here just after sunrise and had the place to ourselves! Especially liked the wild turkeys!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caren_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    24
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Much quieter than the rest of the Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Though not terribly far from the Great Plaza, this area of the Park is considerably less crowded. In fact, by the time we got to it, we were the only ones there! We were lucky enough to have similar experiences at sites in Belize, Being the only people surrounded by vast, Mayan ruins is always an awe-inspiring experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skidea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
502 reviews
232 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Not really lost, but a nice and quiet place compared to other attractions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Please have a look at my general review of temple IV to get an idea of my appreciation for the whole of Tikal, Just reviewing one site in this enormous complex seems a bit akward to me.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank werdlerswereld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
772 reviews
241 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“I never tire of the Mayan ruins.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I am just writing this review so I can upload some more various photos. You really need to come and see these ruins in person because the photos do not do them any justice. Give yourself at least 3 hours, if not more, in order to try to see all of the cool ruins.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

It is an amazing place, how the Mayans made this great infrastructure for so many years?. You have to walk a lot in the park, but time flies. If you love nature, you'll love Tikal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank gtpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lost World also viewed

Tikal National Park, Peten Department
Tikal National Park, Peten Department
 
Tikal National Park, Peten Department
Tikal National Park, Peten Department
 

Been to Lost World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing