We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay here again!”
Review of Hotel Tikal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tikal Inn
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Just stayed last week here and had a very pleasent stay! They picked us up at the Flores Airport and dropped us off at the Tikal Inn where we went a pool side bungalow which was basic but did the job! We had Sunrise Tour, Breakfast and Dinner included with 15 each way on the shuttle per person and we thought it was a great deal! It was very clean and great location! We are really happy we stayed in the jungle rather than staying down in Flores. What an incredible experiance! I highly recommend staying here, both bungalows and outside rooms would be just great! Didn't see rooms inside the main building.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropigal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tikal Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

We just ate here one night. They double swiped our Visa card and when we complained they said they'd return the money but never did after several emails. Our card starting getting some fraudulent activity after the last time we contacted them so we had to cancel it.

The food was passable FWIW.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Our main reason for staying here is to spend the night in the park. The hotel included a free sunrise tour and i really recommend going on it!. This hotel was clean and food was ok. The other hotels in the park are a little more however I don't recommend as they looked pretty much the same. I loved hearing the howler monkeys at night, it was an amazing experience.
My husband and I were backpacking and arranged this without a tour company. We came from San Ignacio , Belize, which was 15 mins from border by cab and then at the border when we crossed over we negotiated a deal with another cab driver. It was pretty easy. Overall we were pleased to stay here, the rooms were clean and service was great. The guy at the front desk even helped me by giving me the local buses info to get back to belize.

Room Tip: rooms book fast, but email and they will get back to you pretty quickly.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebeca970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed at Tikal Inn for one night which was perfect. We arrived to Tikal after 3:30 so we were able to watch the sunset from the top of temple IV (spectacular) and take a sunrise tour the next morning all under one ticket (plus and extra fee for sunrise entrance). It was extremely convenient and the best way to see Tikal. The rooms were extremely basic and the howler monkeys EXTREMELY loud at night, but consider it part of the experience of staying withint walking distance of the ruins ;-) Overall I highly recommend seeing Tikal this way, it was actually cool in temperature in the morning and absolutely no crowds. For sunset, the guard at the temple let us around the back in order to see the beautiful sunset. We took a dip in the pool after our tour ended around 10:30 (was from 4:15-10:30) which was just what we needed. Overall, a completely incredible experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

When you visit Tikal, this is the place to go! Especially when you get up at 4am for the sunrise tour! The rooms are basic but clean. Staff is friendly. Fodd served in the restaurant is also basic, but always freshly made.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lady_Betsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

To make the most of Tikal you just have to stay at least one night in the park, and the Tikal Inn does an honest job of industrially processing tourists doing just that. The place has a slight motel feel , but the bungalows around the pool are spacious and clean, and the gardens attractive. Nothing much to add to the generally OK-to-average reviews already here, but do please read them in date order. I always read the bad ones first and it was good to see that the hotel has cleaned up its act since all the ‘Terrible’-rated reviews during 2006-10, which are still dragging its overall rating down.

So what to add? The pool is nice, as you will probably have midday and afternoon downtime; and there will be kids splashing if you want a nap. It will be very hot April-June (duh…) and the site involves some climbing. The tiresome limited power hours is just cheapness on behalf of the owners, surely? Do take the sunrise tour – we were lucky with a spectacular mix of sun and low cloud – and enjoy the early mists and the manic Howlers. Like others, we were a bit surprised to have to report at 4.15am for our (complimentary) sunrise tour only to leave late, and to be atop Temple IV a good half-hour before sun-up at 6.30. Maybe others walk or climb more slowly!

We took the hotel’s half-board package, getting the vouchers, and ticking off our choices (chicken, beef or veg, like an airline). Quality of that was average- to-poor, with small carefully controlled portions, but you weren’t expecting a gourmet experience, were you? In retrospect, it might have been better to try one of the other places for dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Others have commented about the charm of the bungalows and gardens and jungle quiet and intrigue. All good points. Yes, staying in the midst of it all, rising at 4 AM for Sunrise tours, seeing the Mayan Genius come awake in the rising sun, hearing the Howler tribes compete for glory and territory. Wow. And a great guide too... Thanks Ronnie! The Inn staff were also very helpful, including help getting to Belize for the next step. Good food as well. Pool was very pleasant in mid day cool off time. Tikal City is incredibly wonderful, and getting more and more restoration attention. Don't miss out.

Room Tip: Bungalow away from pool if you want quiet, and access to nearby jungle paths where Howlers appeared.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tikal National Park
0.2 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
648 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
245 reviews
17.6 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
La Lancha Lodge
La Lancha Lodge
#2 of 6 in Santa Elena
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gringo Perdido
Hotel Gringo Perdido
#3 of 4 in El Remate
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sun Breeze
Hotel Sun Breeze
#2 of 4 in El Remate
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tikal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tikal Inn

Address: Parque Nacional Tikal | Guatemala, Tikal National Park, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > Tikal National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tikal National Park
Price Range: £25 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tikal Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tikal Inn is located in Tikal National Park. It sits on the edge of the jungle and it is only a ten minute walk from the center of the Maya Ruins (Grand Plaza). The hotel's traditional architecture provides a comfortable setting to relax, bird watching, wild life observation and enjoy the natural beauty of Tikal National Park. All rooms have private bathrooms, hot water, and ceiling fans. We have a swimming pool, front desk/conference center for 80, bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tikal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tikal Tikal National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing