We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A contradiction”
Review of Hotel Tikal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Tikal Inn
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A contradiction”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Despite the high prices (there are only a few hotels near the national park and they all seem to charge whatever they like, though Hotel Tikal Inn was the least expensive), we chose to stay rather than take a day trip in order to maximise our time in the national park.

The grounds were beautiful and well looked after and the pool was a great place to cool off in the afternoon after a sweaty morning walking around the ruins. The rooms were spacious and clean enough and I thought it was good that electricity wasn't available all day/night to minimise light pollution at night.

Unfortunately the food was just terrible. It was like having school dinners and things were undercooked and flavourless.

The sunrise tour was excellent (although we were not impressed at having to get up for a 4am start and then have to wait for more than half an hour for a family of americans who couldn't be bothered to get up on time - the hotel should have a stricter policy and leave without people if they can't be on time). Our guide was knowledgable and, as we had walked around a lot of the site the day before, it was great to get a detailed explanation and it meant we didn't have to rush around during the tour.

The transport was good though late to pick us up from Flores and late to return us to Flores - I suspect that is just Guatemala time though :)

Room Tip: Don't stay in the main house if possible as there is a lot of noise from reception and the kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sezabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    358
    176
    59
    48
See reviews for
169
388
79
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Staff all spoke perfect English. Rooms very clean which is hard in the rain forest. Wildlife abundant right on the property. Steps to tikal. Remember flashlights. Electric only 6 to 8 am and 6 to 10 pm

Remember repellant. No bugs in rooms but in jungle. Also will be warm at night

Do sunrise tour. Only way to do tikal is to stay in park

Restaurant is typical tikal, simple but well prepared

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diverOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

As novice international travelers and not knowing Spanish we were having trouble getting a good price for transportation from Flores to Tikal, once we made contact with Tikal Inn's Flores office they immediately drove over and straightened it out. Thank you Ricardo! Of course the hotel is lovely, they have a beautiful pool, and the location is historically invaluable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Hotel Tikal Inn is a beautiful hotel with good front desk service and restaurant. I gave it a 3 stars due to the price tag. I took a tour package from Antigua and stayed in the hotel rooms which promise hot shower. But the shower is not hot and the ceiling fan is loud when it is being switched on and moves so slow that it hardly functions. It is bad as you are staying in a hot and humid jungle. Plus the electricity only runs from 6pm to 10pm. Although all the hotel room windows are covered with mosquito nets, still you will still get some mosquito or insect bites. The room is really basic so it hardly justify the price paid. The only good thing is the beautiful swimming pool. Maybe this is the reason that you got to fork out more for the room price. The tour to Tikal with the tour guide arranged by the hotel is really good as the tour guide is informative. However, the tour won't be able to cover all the sites in Tikal and tour guide didn't even show us the Plaza de los Siete Templos. So you have to go back into the Tikal site by yourself later in the afternoon if you wish to see some other sites that were not covered by the tour.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoohlingE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night on our honeymoon. Service was excellent. The staff spread flower petals throughout the bedroom and bathroom and made our stay feel extra special. We did the sunrise tour and it was one of the highlights of our trip. When the generators are turned off at night, you can really hear the jungle come alive. It was amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Tikal in July and stayed here and it was a blast. The bungalo was very charming and we enjoyed the spooky howler monkeys early in the morning. We did the sunrise tour with the hotel which is a great way to experience Tikal. Hotel Tikal Inn was beautiful and delightful!

Room Tip: The bungalos with the garden view are great for nature watching. We had families of Pizotes visit us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandra743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopatcong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Close to site, nice pool! Had battery back up light when electric was out. We had nice clean room and no bugs. Good shower and food. Enjoyed this place :) We were near the pool and did not mind waking at 4 as we were going to the sunrise. If not doing this, you will be awakened.

Room Tip: Heard that the jungle rooms have more bugs. We were by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caren_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tikal National Park
0.2 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
17.6 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
La Lancha Lodge
La Lancha Lodge
#2 of 6 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal
Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal
#1 of 1 in Tikal National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
17.0 mi away
La Casa De Don David
La Casa De Don David
#1 of 11 in El Remate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tikal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tikal Inn

Property: Hotel Tikal Inn
Address: Parque Nacional Tikal | Guatemala, Tikal National Park, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > Tikal National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tikal National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tikal Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tikal Inn is located in Tikal National Park. It sits on the edge of the jungle and it is only a ten minute walk from the center of the Maya Ruins (Grand Plaza). The hotel's traditional architecture provides a comfortable setting to relax, bird watching, wild life observation and enjoy the natural beauty of Tikal National Park. All rooms have private bathrooms, hot water, and ceiling fans. We have a swimming pool, front desk/conference center for 80, bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tikal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tikal Tikal National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing