We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Tikal Inn
Nearby Hotels
Jungle Lodge Hotel(Tikal National Park)
US$131
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Mon Ami(El Remate)(Great Value!)
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hotel Sun Breeze(El Remate)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camino Real Tikal(Santa Elena)
US$120
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Lancha Lodge(Santa Elena)
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$368
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
US$46
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$103
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (918)
Filter reviews
918 results
Traveller rating
231
370
192
67
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
370
192
67
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunrise tourroxy ortizfew hourspool sidenice poolhowler monkeyslimited powerhot watermain buildingmorning and eveningcouple of hoursbring a flashlighttour guidespent two nightsan amazing experienceguatemala citytemple iv
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
368 - 373 of 918 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Would stay here again just to wake up to the Howler Monkeys. Pretty standard rooms and liked the fact the power gets shut off at night. Makes things very quiet and it's a great feeling in the jungle. Can't beat the location for an early morning walk to the Temples (No people anywhere!!!).

Room Tip: Stay right down the back. Right in the jungle.
Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lachlan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The staff is very friendly. The rooms were clean and respectable for the price. Glad our stay was during a cooler time of year as there is no A/C and the hotel only has power for lights, hot water and wifi (in main lobby only) from 6pm-10pm. We did the sunrise tour which is a must! Watching the sunrise over the Jungle as it awakes is amazing. I couldn't imagine traveling to Tikal for just a day trip. While it was warm and humid at the hotel, it gets cold sitting at the top of the temple in the dark especially if it is windy. Bring flashlights and bug spray!

Room Tip: If you're not on a budget, the bungalows next to the pool are nice.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1SJCMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Hotel Tikal Inn is convenient. The setting is beautiful and you can walk right to the ruins. Keep your eyes open for all kinds of fun birds and animals.
The rooms are very sparce. They only have electricity for a few hours in the morning and few in the evening, so be prepared with flashlights and charging during those times.
There is a pool which are kids thoroughly enjoyed even tho it's nothing fancy.
The food was fine.
We did the sunrise tour. The idea is really good. However, we were with a bunch of buffoons who insisted on chatting and using their smartphones (or other lit up bits of technology). Climbing to the top of temple #4 in the dark, sitting there soaking up the silence (when they stopped talking), listening to the animals and watching the sunrise could be magical.
One warning, when Tikal Inn says they will arrange transportation for you , it can be spotty. We didn't have any trouble, but others there did.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank d22randy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed in one of the detached bedrooms around the garden, very nice. Ideally located just outside the entrance to Tikal. Good swimming pool. Complimentary shuttle bus from airport which is a necessity (at scheduled flight times only). Electricity only within certain hours. Wi-fi available (although understandably patchy), but guest computer out of action. Evening meals are average. Went on the sunset and sunrise tours that you can take as part of the package, their guide was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMLondon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night in December 2013. I have NO IDEA why anyone would want to day-trip Tikal vs. spend a night here. It was an amazing experience.

Prior to our arrival at the Tikal Inn we were staying at the Macal River Camp @ Chaa Creek in San Ignacio, Belize. Via e-mail with the Tikal Inn, I was able to arrange for the Tikal Inn shuttle (operated through Mayan Heart World) to pick us up at Chaa Creek and transfer us to the Inn. We exchanged money USD for quetzals at the Belize/Guatemala border for a good rate (you'll need 300 quetzals (~$40 USD) to enter Tikal National Park). We were at the Tikal Inn by 10:30am, which was wonderful.

We checked into our bunglao (clean & comfortable) and immediately headed into the ruins. Bring bug spray & sunscreen. We were happy to have the opportunity to explore on our own prior to our tours. It was SO HOT during the day, and crowded. We ended up sneaking back to the Inn around 2pm-ish. The pool is impeccably clean, and will provide a welcome dip after a hot day in the sun. We also took showers at this point. The water did not get *HOT*; however, who wants a *HOT* shower when it's 105 degrees and 100% humidity outside!? I was very humbled to even have a shower PERIOD.

We arranged a sunset tour though the Inn ahead of time via e-mail. It left from the main lobby @ 4pm. It was my husband and I, another couple, and a guide. The tour was obviously not all-inclusive of the site (it's HUGE); however, it was great. We watched the sunset from the top of one of the temples in the Gran Plaza. It was an amazing experience to be at such a site at night. Bring flashlights. The hike back to the Inn was DARK. This was well worth the money, and a great addition to the sunrise tour, which everyone talks about (we had our sunrise tour booked for the next morning).

Since we used our "ticket" to enter the park in the early afternoon when we arrived, we were confused if this ticket would still be valid the following morning for our sunrise tour - or if re-entry into the park was included in the tour. Answer: NO. If we had entered the park for the first time after 3pm, it would have been fine, but since we explored on our own starting at 11am, we needed to pay an additional 150 quetzals/person to enter the park again the following morning. The hotel front desk was able to exchange a few more USD$ for us, which we were grateful. If we had known this ahead of time, we probably would have just exchanged more money when we were at the Belize/Guatemala border. (Of note, within the national park USD$ and Belize Dollars$ are not accepted).

After the sunset tour we had dinner at the Inn. Nothing special here, but warm food and a cold beer. Included with a night stay. No complaints.

We went back to our bungalo for some sleep. It was nice to have the electricity at night (it's only on for a few hours overnight). This is not a problem because you should be out exploring the ruins during the morning/day/evening anyway! That is why you come to Tikal!

We arranged a complimentary sunrise tour via e-mail with the Inn prior to our arrival. It left at 4am from the main lobby. Bring flashlights. THIS WAS AMAZING. You'll read wonderful things about sunrise in the park, but until you experience it yourself, it is hard to explain. It's a moderate length hike through the park to temple IV, and then a climb to the top. We were some of the first people to arrive. We sat at the top of the temple in the pitch dark listening to the animals for about 45 minutes before the sun started to rise & the mist started to clear. The animals were insane. AMAZING experience. After spending time at the top of the temple (not rushed), we hiked back down to see some of the other sites, and finally the Gran Plaza. It was amazing to be here so early in the morning before the day-trippers arrive. The tour guide was informative, but he also allowed us to explore the ruins on our own & enjoy the quiet.

Then we walked back to the Inn for breakfast, again included (choice of eggs or pancakes). Good for a hungry tummy.

Then we checked out. We had pre-arranged via e-mail with the Inn ahead of time to use their shuttle to transfer us back to Belize City where we were going to take a ferry to Ambergris Caye. This happened without a glitch. The shuttle was the same as the previous day, operated through Mayan Heart World, and we were in Belize City in time to catch the 3pm ferry, which was great.

Overall, the Tikal Inn was a WONDERFUL value if you'd like to spend the night inside Tikal National Park (which you do). Having the meals included, the sunrise tour included, and the ability to use their shuttle made planning easy. Much better than paying $400/person for an overnight tour via a tour company.

*Of note: I don't think the bungalo accommodations were necessary for my husband and I - we would have been just as happy in a smaller, less "fancy" room - mostly because we didn't spend much time there anyway.

Room Tip: We stayed in a non-pool-side bungalo. I think we would have been just as happy in ANY of the rooms at the Inn. It's a small, clean Inn.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JTA208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews