We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tikal Inn was Great! But....”
Review of Hotel Tikal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tikal Inn
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This is a fun place to stay, and a great launching point for touring Tikal -- especially if you want to do one of the sunrise or sunset tours. They arrange the tours and you walk out the front door into the park. The pool is quite nice. Most things are fine, nice and quaint. There'll be howler monkeys in the trees in the parking lot.

BUT be aware: This is in the jungle. They have generator electrical power for a few hours in the morning and a few hours at night. Same for the internet. Same for hot water. Sometimes I had no water at all. Of course there's never air conditioning. The service is friendly and good, but of course they are dealing with the same limitations of power, water, etc.

If your personality can live with this style of place, you'll have a fine experience.

Room Tip: The bungalows around the pool were a great choice. You may feel "safer" there, too, becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HouTexTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 886 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

Nice location, right at the entrance to the park, so you can see the sunrise from the top. But it is usually not overcast. It is alright for one or two nights. The food is decent and the sound of the howler monkeys in the morning is always a pleasure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

extremely slow restaurant service. rooms are ok but nothing more. very friendly and helpful receptionists. annoying with all the periods where the electricity off and only so-so wifi. found it did the trick for a one-night stay and a visit to tikal

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ExphilipX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed at the Tikal inn for one night. I enjoyed the bungalow because I sat on the porch after hiking the ruins all day, and watched the wild turkeys, and coatimundi and monkeys. It is a fantastic setting. The food was excellent and the waiters were friendly and efficient. Be prepared with a flashlight because there is no power except for generators inside the park. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Would stay here again just to wake up to the Howler Monkeys. Pretty standard rooms and liked the fact the power gets shut off at night. Makes things very quiet and it's a great feeling in the jungle. Can't beat the location for an early morning walk to the Temples (No people anywhere!!!).

Room Tip: Stay right down the back. Right in the jungle.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lachlan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The staff is very friendly. The rooms were clean and respectable for the price. Glad our stay was during a cooler time of year as there is no A/C and the hotel only has power for lights, hot water and wifi (in main lobby only) from 6pm-10pm. We did the sunrise tour which is a must! Watching the sunrise over the Jungle as it awakes is amazing. I couldn't imagine traveling to Tikal for just a day trip. While it was warm and humid at the hotel, it gets cold sitting at the top of the temple in the dark especially if it is windy. Bring flashlights and bug spray!

Room Tip: If you're not on a budget, the bungalows next to the pool are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1SJCMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Hotel Tikal Inn is convenient. The setting is beautiful and you can walk right to the ruins. Keep your eyes open for all kinds of fun birds and animals.
The rooms are very sparce. They only have electricity for a few hours in the morning and few in the evening, so be prepared with flashlights and charging during those times.
There is a pool which are kids thoroughly enjoyed even tho it's nothing fancy.
The food was fine.
We did the sunrise tour. The idea is really good. However, we were with a bunch of buffoons who insisted on chatting and using their smartphones (or other lit up bits of technology). Climbing to the top of temple #4 in the dark, sitting there soaking up the silence (when they stopped talking), listening to the animals and watching the sunrise could be magical.
One warning, when Tikal Inn says they will arrange transportation for you , it can be spotty. We didn't have any trouble, but others there did.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank d22randy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tikal National Park
0.2 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
666 reviews
17.0 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
248 reviews
17.6 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
La Lancha Lodge
La Lancha Lodge
#2 of 6 in Santa Elena
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Margarita
Hotel Villa Margarita
#9 of 16 in Flores
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal
Hotel Jaguar Inn Tikal
#1 of 1 in Tikal National Park
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tikal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tikal Inn

Address: Parque Nacional Tikal | Guatemala, Tikal National Park, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > Tikal National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tikal National Park
Price Range: £45 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tikal Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tikal Inn is located in Tikal National Park. It sits on the edge of the jungle and it is only a ten minute walk from the center of the Maya Ruins (Grand Plaza). The hotel's traditional architecture provides a comfortable setting to relax, bird watching, wild life observation and enjoy the natural beauty of Tikal National Park. All rooms have private bathrooms, hot water, and ceiling fans. We have a swimming pool, front desk/conference center for 80, bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Tikal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tikal Tikal National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing