We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It serves a purpose”
Review of Jungle Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It serves a purpose”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here for two nights mainly to have easy access to the park. Basically, the hotel serves a purpose: you're in the park. Nothing more. The rooms are spacious and clean but haven't been updated in a long time. The pool area is rather forlorn and the pool wasn't very clean. The restaurant is massive but seemed deserted as there were never more than three tables occupied while we were there. Staff is friendly enough, though service seemed rather erratic at times (we were charged different prices for our breakfast (which wasn't included in the rather expensive room rate!) on both mornings, despite having the exact same thing, etc.) and at check out no one seemed to know how to do our bill or use the credit card machine. Transfers are expensive but reliable. So if you want to avoid the hour+ trek from Flores into Tikal on a day trip, this place will serve its purpose, but don't expect over-the-top luxury, amenities or service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charis1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    239
    132
    49
    19
See reviews for
133
280
34
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon and were overwhelmed with how friendly and accomodating that staff were. Our guide, Antonio, really knew his stuff and it was clear that everybody working on the Tikal site knew him and had a huge amount of respect for him. The accommodation was perfect and facilities were clean, well kept and in excellent condition. I cannot recommend this place highly enough to anyone wanting to stay somewhere near the ruins.

Andy & Tess 30 UK

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyland1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Four of us visited the Jungle Lodge in May, and could not have been happier. The bungalow was really cozy and clean, with lots of space and well maintained mosquito nets. All of the staff was super friendly and helpful- including procuring a pinata and cake for a birthday celebration we were having! Access to the park is great, just a 20 minute walk to the Grand Plaza, and the wildlife came right to our doorstep, with the monkeys playing every afternoon, toucans buzzing around and howler monkeys providing a great wake up call every morning. The food and amenities were really great, especially considering how far out in the jungle we were. The best choice to explore the magnificence and wonder that is Tikal!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crollernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This was so very strange to wake up at 4 o'clock in the morning by the screams of the howler monkeys and again at 5.30AM which also awakend the rest of the animal lifes. Get out of bed and enjoy the surrounding. The bungalow we stayed at was very nice with a large bathroom. It surely was a great experience and the staff and restaurant was of good quality.

Room Tip: The bungalows are great but do not know about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjalok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We found the Jungle Lodge perfect. Yes the power is limited but you are at a jungle location and should except it. There is no air conditioning but the jungle cools off for a comfortable nights sleep. We found the staff very friendly and charming. We loved our guide. You must ask for Antonio. The restaurant served excellent food. It is priced well. We never walked away hungry. You should try the Eggs of the Jungle very satisifying breakfast. It is very close to Tikal National Park.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tfoslund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The Jungle Lodge in Tikal is a perfect location from which to explore Tikal. You are within steps of the entrance and about a half hour from the central plaza. This is especially wonderful if you want to take the sunrise tour, which leaves by 4:30 a.m. That is very cool because of all the mist, animals, and birdsong. We sat at the top of Temple 4 and watched the mist as it came and went, sometimes seeing the back of Temple 3 across the jungle, sometimes barely seeing the jungle.
The lodge itself is a jungle lodge, which means no T.V., no telephones, no air conditioning, and no WiFi. The electricity goes out every so often and the pool is a bit murky. (I think crocs could be in there.). On the positive side we had no problem with hot water, the staff were friendly and helpful, and our guide was very well informed and fun. (ask for Antonio). Not to mention the monkeys both howler and spider-tons of monkey fun. The rooms are basic but clean, the grounds are beautiful, and the restaurant is ok but the food we had was a bit bland, but do try the black bean soup that was excellent. Overall for a jungle lodge it was very nice but don't expect luxury from anything that calls itself a jungle lodge and you won't be disappointed. Remember where you are which is why you're there and you'll be perfectly content having a howler monkey wake you up at 4:00a.m. for a sunrise tour of one of the most amazing places you'll ever see.

Room Tip: If you want monkey action the spider monkeys are particularly fond of the trees above 2B and 3A
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

Hotel was almost empty. Room was decent size and reasonably clean. Hot water and electricity erratic. My main gripes:
1. Almost zero customer service
2. Almost 25% more than counter parts (Tikal Inn) for transportation and even more for tours
3 hard sells on over prices tours
4. Above ground pool was filthy
5. Horrible stench of sulphet/sewage outside my room.
6. $30 more a day than Tikal Inn- and Tikal was much nicer with amazing customer service.
7. Wifi $3US per 30 mins
8. All around price gouging and sucky behavior.
I don't understand how this hotel gets positive reviews.

I used Tikal inn for the sunrise tour- in fact - so did the thee other people at Jungle. Roxie, an archeologist by trade was amazing and less expensive. I also booked my transportation through Tikal Inn

Strongly recommend against this hotel - save your money.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swinmer_Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tikal National Park
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
873 reviews
24.9 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
17.4 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
243 reviews
18.8 mi away
La Lancha Lodge
La Lancha Lodge
#2 of 6 in Santa Elena
247 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gringo Perdido
Hotel Gringo Perdido
#3 of 4 in El Remate
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Lodge

Property: Jungle Lodge
Address: | Parque Nacional Tikal, Tikal National Park 17013, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Peten Department > Tikal National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tikal National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jungle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1952, the government of Guatemala assigned a piece of land to Mr. Antonio Ortiz Contreras for the construction of a hotel which will help with the logistics of the TIKAL PROJECT, and room and board for the archeologists. This project was supervised by the University of Pennsylvania with the collaboration of many other universities around the world. Form 1956 to 1969, 113 scientists worked in the Tikal Project, making it one of the longest archeological projects in the western hemisphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Jungle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Hotel Tikal National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing