We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just As Nice As You're Imagining”
Review of Sunset Beach House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roatan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunset Beach House
Ranked #21 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Roatan
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just As Nice As You're Imagining”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just back from the Sunset House and have to join the others who love it so much.

You can see all its details on VRBO of course - what's so great about Sunset House is that the house, the amenities, the location, and the people involved are all as great or better than you were imagining. Not every listing turns out that way!

We were a family of four (pre-teen/teen kids) and had a wonderful, relaxing time at the house and would go back in a heartbeat.

If you're thinking about Roatan, we'd recommend it to you - it's quiet, but with plenty to do (and see and eat and drink), and it's not choked with tourists (especially on non-cruise ship days!)

If you've decided on Roatan and are thinking about taking a house, you couldn't do better than the Sunset House.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scottsdale, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

HOW WE PICKED THE BEST HOUSE ON ROATAN ISLAND!

Our family chose the “Sunset House” on VRBO to rent for 10 days. What luck for us, with such a big selection of rentals, we picked the best house on the island. It’s in the center of everything, yet all the privacy you want…and after the first evening you’ll know how it got it’s name.

This home stocked with every necessity! Plenty of towels, comfortable beds, beach towels and a kitchen like home. It was immaculate with plenty of room for our family of seven people to enjoy meals and morning coffee on the deck. Mark and Gail, (owners) have added so many extra touches to this wonderful house, you instantly feel comfortable. They’ve thought of everything for guest’s to enjoy their vacation. Two kayaks, snorkeling gear numerous hammocks for your afternoon nap and a big bag of kids sand toys, that our grandson ran for the first thing every morning.

There’s a separate bar/kitchen/BBQ located in front of the house on the beach. Again fully stocked for “Happy Hour”…even a margarita machine. The bar is so uniquely designed, two guys walked up to order a couple of drinks on our first day…not realizing it was a private house.

Upon our arrival, Ruth and Brad, property managers, welcomed us to the Sunset house. Through a very quick but thorough introduction to the house. they left us with a programmed cell phone to call at anytime with questions, requests or emergencies.

Johnny, the caretaker, lives behind the house with his sweet family. He’s up early every morning raking the beach, setting up lounge chairs, floats and sand toys. He’s always available to assist with any request with a big smile on his face. We loved having him around the house,
and he’s a perfectionist!

Chris and Carlos are great neighbors on your left. Chris arranged several wonderful all day excursions, taking the family to fabulous snorkeling spots. He also can to take you for some great fishing…and they definitely know where to go to catch fish! And when you return all your fish, will be cleaned and filleted. That night we barbecued at the beach bar with a first class grill… “What a deal”.

When you get tired of eating fresh fish that you catch…you can hire Blackie and Marty. They shop and arrive in the early evening to prepare your dinner…coconut shrimp is by far the winner. They clean up and leave you and your family to enjoy this wonderful “Island Meal” leaving a homemade coconut cream or lemon pie for dessert. It was delicious! We had them two nights and I would recommend booking them the minute you arrive or have Ruth set it up before your arrival because they are very popular.

Staying in this wonderful house with all the amenities you quickly realize that you don’t to want to leave. There are many restaurants located in West End and West Bay. Ruth has a book loaded with brochures. Our recommendation is “Roatan Oasis” number one restaurant on the island (need a reservation) “Monkey Island Beach Cafe”, “Taco Tuesday” ($1.00 per taco) and a must all you can eat and drink ($15) Sunday Brunch at Entre Pisco Y Nazca. Also, the kids enjoyed lunch at Bite on the Beach after their West End diving school classes everyday. You can catch a water taxi for $3 per person, right on your dock, (which although not totally private) is still part of the Sunset House.

No need to hire anyone but “Marty for transportation”, (Blackie’s husband) to pick you up at the airport and he’ll include a stop at Eden’s market to pick up provisions to stock your vacation home. This can be arranged through Ruth and Brad via email before you arrive. Also Marty’s transportation service was great for us in a last minute pinch, when the concierge from “At Your Service” was a “No Show” for our pre-paid expedited airport transfer on Saturday. (which we quickly found isn’t necessary for the price)

Marty, quickly sent Mario, to fetch us and our bags at a last minute request. Mario stayed with us while we got boarding passes and our departure taxes were handled and expedited by our neighbor, Chris. We then left and all had lunch at a charming little locals restaurant about 10 minutes from the airport, and hung out until 2:00 PM, when it was then possible to return and check our luggage for our 4:40 PM flight.

Thank you Mark and Gail for sharing your great home in Roatan! We are planning to return next year and will highly recommend to family and friends. We have rented numerous houses on VRBO and all agreed the “Sunset House” is our favorite.
“You have a “super number one staff” in place to make the “Sunset House” a 5 + VRBO rental.

Room Tip: Our family rented the whole house + the extra apartment behind the main house. We loved the design...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tizzytam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sunset House from 6/16/12-6/23/12. We're normally stay at resorts when we travel, simply for the comfort, ease and all-inclusive factor, but this was by far the best vacation we've ever had. We didn't rent a car initially, but after two days we decided it was a good idea since we wanted to tour the whole island. If you're more inclined to stay close to home, a car isn't really necessary as you can walk to West End or West Bay for shopping and dining. Johnny (caretaker) and Carlos (next door neighbor) were really helpful and made us feel very welcome. This house is very comfortable, clean and is stocked with everything you need. Stella and Tanisha, with Roatan Property Management, made planning this trip very easy. I highly recommend this vacation rental.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The beautiful beachfront house is excellent for some r&r but also ideally located to go out for day trips snorkeling, scuba diving, ziplining etc. Watet taxis come by regularly but you can easily walk or kayak to the little towns on either side of the house. Lots of new renovations have been done to the house and the pride of ownership shows. The swimming was great and sitting out under the stars at night was spectacular. I would recommend this property to anyone. Spectacular!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ang_other
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

I recently stayed at Sunset House, Roatan - Honduras with a group of friends. This type of vacation was new to me. I had never been to the Caribbean before but let me tell you THIS WAS THE WAY to experience it for the first time!
The Island was amazing with its white sand beaches, friendly locals and breathtaking views at every turn.
The house itself was a relaxing venue with a sunset backdrop. It is perfectly located between West End Village and West Bay Beach. It sleeps eight comfortably, has a huge kitchen/living room with a/c and all the comforts of home. The outside set up was equally spacious; with an upper deck which homed two hammocks for your lounging pleasure. A lower deck which featured two picnic tables for dinner gatherings and a beach front bar complete with refrigerator/sink and a gas BBQ. And last but not least; the dock/sundeck! Oh and there is also a caretaker in residence who tends to the grounds and oversees the house during your stay.

Let me walk you through one of our days; after waking from a restful evening in a cozy bed/air- conditioned room, jump into swim suit, grab a coffee and something easy for breakfast as we slowly eased into consciousness while lounging in a hammock on the upper deck; watching the sky brighten to an awe-inspiring view. The dock/beach out front would then call our names to float/sun tan/ unwind as the tensions of the real world eased away. Around noon we would hail a water taxi from our dock ($3.00) to West-End Village for a little souvenir shopping/ stopping at THE BLUE MARLIN cafe for some scrumptious calamari and chicken fingers. Afterwards we would flag another water taxi to West Bay Beach where you literally snorkel by walking/swimming from the beach into the wondrous underworld. Then a leisurely walk of the beach back to the house/ outside bar for drinks/ laughter and watching a sunset that will leave you speechless and mesmerized. Followed by sparking up the BBQ for another meal with friends (and many drinks ). We even had the luxury of having one of the resident families – Blackie, Marty and their girls come and cook an island meal for us. The coconut shrimp was mouth-watering and the opportunity of getting to spend time with them and learning of their island was an absolute pleasure.
RINSE AND REPEAT! Can you tell I had a fabulous time ! (grin)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank love1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travel 8143
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at Sunset House in Roatan for one week last week. It was absolutely everything I could have asked for and more. Sunset House is beautiful and very well cared for and has everything you could ask for in a holiday home. It is luxurious without being pompous. Well stocked, and beautiful linens. It is situated in between West End and West Bay - we walked to West Bay a few times, and took water taxis and kayaks to West End. Straight out and an easy swim from the beautiful dock in front is the amazing coral reef and snorkaling. It was nice to be able to cook our own meals and an even bigger treat to have Blackie and her family come in to cook for us a couple of nights. The outside bar is fantastic and we spent a lot of time socializing there with the ocean as our backdrop. Marty picked us up to and from airport and took us on a great tour of the island. An onsite caretaker kept the place looking beautiful each day. The sunsets are amazing. This was the first time I stayed at a private house instead of a resort and it was much preferred. Nice privacy and lots of room. You will not be disappointed if you decide on this location.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travel8143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redway, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

* note I stayed in March 2010 (but, could not pick that date)

Ahhhh.... so lovely. After arriving in Roatan my boyfriend and I spent the first few nights "in town." We then spent the remainder of our trip at the Sunset Beach House with some of our other friends. This is when our true vacation began. I would wake up in the morning after getting a good night's sleep and would walk out to the dock to do my morning stretches. I am a light sleeper, so I just kept the windows closed at night and turned on the a/c and fans. I would then have my tea/coffee on the front porch while lounging in the hammock. We did some reading, socializing on that front porch and it was great! Lots of snorkeling spots in walking distance. As a group we bought groceries and would make big dinners and there was always plenty of room to sit and eat. During the sunset period we would gather on the dock and sit back and enjoi. None of the docks are private in Roatan, but the locals/other travelers are pretty respectful if you are already out there. In the two times that there were other people on the dock I would just walk out there, strike up a conversation, and within 15 minutes I had the dock to my self.... without even having to say "leave." When we stayed in town the first days I would hear roosters and dogs, but, this was not the case at the Sunset Beach House. I truly felt myself unwind and relax. I meditate and this location only enhanced my meditation experience. The breeze was lovely, a million dollar view, and just an all around amazing experience.

I will be back--- already planning a mini-family reunion in the near future and renting out the whole house.

I would recommend this to big family/friend groups, and couples.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank aleebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
1.6 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.5 mi away
Xbalanque Resort
Xbalanque Resort
#7 of 14 in West Bay
145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#1 of 8 in West End
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Caribe Tesoro
Caribe Tesoro
#1 of 6 in West Bay
118 reviews
1.1 mi away
Foster's West Bay
Foster's West Bay
#8 of 14 in West Bay
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach House

Property: Sunset Beach House
Address: Tabyana Beach, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Roatan
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach House Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing