We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something out of a Travel Magazine”

La Sirena de Camp Bay
Ranked #13 of 212 Restaurants in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours
New Orleans, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Something out of a Travel Magazine”
Reviewed 19 April 2012

It is a long long ride and i am not sure how anyone that does not live on the island would ever know it existed if it was not for a web site like TripAdvisor. Glad I read TripAdvisor.

This place is amazing. We only had the rum punch, but just hanging out with Jimmy and Selena in that secluded beach hut was an experience that i will never forget. Put this one on your list folks when traveling to Roatan.

I hope it never changes!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friday252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    56
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roatan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Way out yonder but worth the trip.”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This little palapa type restaurant is worth the trip way out to the east end of the Island. The fish is excellent, couldn't be fresher. The building itself is quite the experience, sitting out over the water with a small deck with tables if you prefer outside. It's really cool with good food and drinks. I think the lobster might be a bit pricey at L380 given the distance and rather rustic structure. The bathroom is of the outhouse variety which is a bit yucky but hey, it's pretty remote. Worth the trip. Also the home of the rescued turtle which was got in a fishing net.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jimmi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife NWT Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great little Palapa Bar...true East End hospitality”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Jimmy and Selena are very welcoming hosts who always have a cold beer and if you're a rum drinker - Selena's Rum Punch is to die for! Selena and her gals are amazing cooks, and there's always something fresh on the menu. We always recommend La Sirena to our friends and family who stay with us on the East End.... the snorkelling of the dock is pretty amazing too!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

True this restaurant is out of the way, but your trip to Roatan would not be complete without it. The water was rough on the day we went so they had a limited menu since they will only serve the freshest fish possible. We had two kinds of fish, mashed potatoes, and some rum drinks. All of it was delicous. Very friendly owners. If you don't drive out to La Sirena de Camp Bay you will not have experienced one of the best, beautiful, and remote places Roatan has to offer.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B_BPrecourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“La Sirena - Serene and Delish”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Head east to the end of the paved road in Roatan and keep going... and going.... The bumpy ride is well worth the effort. At last you arrive at what can be described as the 'perfect beach palapa restaurant' that has been there for years. Sitting on stilts over the water, the view is always breathtaking. Don't bother asking if the fish and seafood is fresh.... of course it is! Our group of 8 enjoyed excellently griled snapper, chicken, and pork chops prepared on the grill. Sweet coconut postres topped off a delightful meal.

Side note..... the turtles in the pen outsde the entrance are not held captive. They are rescue turtles bought from local islanders. Many have been hooked by fishing lures, fins damaged by props, etc. They are nursed back to health and released as soon as they are OK to return to the beautiful waters that surround Roatan. Jimmy, the owner, is eco-friendly.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sully111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Sirena de Camp Bay also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to La Sirena de Camp Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing