We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute relaxing great escape!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Media Luna Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Media Luna Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cute relaxing great escape!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

I stayed at the Media Luna from 5/22-5/27. The resort is beautiful! Clean and updated. The ocean front rooms are the best choice. Private little cabanas covered by an oasis of lush tropical gardens. 95% of the staff was helpful and friendly. Belkys the front desk girl is delightful and accommodating! Nicole the Yoga instructor is a total sweetheart and gem. Cristobal the electrician/handy bell hop is a genuine informative kind person who works at nights but also works during the day as a cab driver and tour guide. Hire him! Ask the front desk for him. Maids are good but they did not clean our room one day until we notified the front desk. Food is so-so. Drinks are ok. Room 142 is one of the 1st cabins near lobby so you have view of pool and ocean plus access to Wi-Fi from balcony as other rooms do not have Wi-Fi.
Pros:
-Quiet relaxing resort
-Clean
-Pretty new resort. Only open 3 yrs
-High Security
-Friendly
-3 pools with beds and lounge chairs
-Spacious rooms with his and hers sinks and rainfall like showers
-Clean beach
Cons:
-Far away from action of West End. $80 cab ride r/t if you want to go
-Walk ways are dark and bumpy as rock stucco decors them. Not ideal for walking in heels or lugging luggage
-The only bar in resort closes at 11:00pm
-No phones in room so if you need something you have to walk to lobby
-The only restaurant serves breakfast only from 7:30 -9:30am, lunch from 12:30-2:00pm and dinner from 6:30-8:30. If you are hungry after that, you will not have access to any food unless you call a cab to get food out side the resort
-The road to enter Media Luna is long, dark and parts are unpaved. Caution for those who decide to rent a car
-Small rocky beach, bring your swim shoes!

Room Tip: Room 142 has views of the pool and ocean and also access to Wi-Fi from balcony which is only availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bittersweetmoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    321
    156
    56
    14
See reviews for
131
466
39
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed at Media Luna for a week on april 25th/2013. It was a nice relaxing vacation. Great Service, fun animators, food is average. Beautiful vegetation, floral. Perfect place to snorkel, lots to see under the water. Be careful of sea urchins. Nice resort. We stayed in room 136, ocean view but can't really see the ocean because of the palm trees but it was nice :) loved it. Such an adorable place. I loved it ! Free wifi in the lobby ;)

Room Tip: Chose ocean view room. Bar closes early. Don't miss breakfast, dinner and supper or else you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sophiapath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We went to Media luna on the week of 18-25 april and expected a calm tranquil vacation due to some of the reviews seen here before.Dont get me wrong the vacation could have been calm if u wanted it to be but in our case(bein a young couple in our 20s ) it was surprisingly the best amount of party,fun,and relaxation.

Starting from the rooms. Definately worth the ocean view cabanas! We were in the 147 right next to the diving deck u could see the sunset every night from the comfort of ur personal hammock splendite views of the ocean/boats. The cabanas are absolutely gorgeous and very private if this is what ure looking for u can find it in Media Luna.

Buffet was amazing no comments what so ever always something different and very delicious!

The hotel is stunning.u have ur on private beach no worries no nee to look after ur stuff.In fact we would leave everything on our chairs and go on kayaks or to the buffet for ours without any concern(giving the fact that we've travel to many different places down south where this would be a no-no).
The bar closes at 11. But many nights they closed later on because we were having so much fun!besides they poor sooo mush liquior and refill ur drinks before u even ask that belive me by 11 if ure not smashed... something somewhere went wrong:p.shout out to Eddy! He put quite a show many nights and made the atmosphere for us all.Never the less the other bartenders were just as amazing as as he was:)

Take a kayak and go! It is worth it some days the water so clear u could see the sting rays without even puttin ur snorkling gear on!we saw turtles,dolphins,many sting rays and we spotted a lion fish! 15 mins swimming straight off the diving deck brings u to the wall.. Its feels like ure in "Finding Nemo" theres soo many different species its amazing.

If ure a diver or an amature snorkler u would definately enjoy it.We went to west end by night its on friday its worth it if u want to really party in the carribean vibe.the cost was 25$ per person and its really cheap considering its about 45mins drive at night.theres no lights and the treets are very narrow so the drive is a little longer by night.we also took the Barbarita island tour absolutely worth every penny check it out!
The island toor was fun aswell however if u have an idea of what u want to do and see on the island ( if u have done ur research as i did before going) ure better off taking a taxi and doing it all. I will
tell u why: its simply because u have the time to see and do things on ur own pace. Going to the west bay beach u maybe want to stay 2h instead of 45 mins or seing the monkeys in the park or the iguana park or having a monkey la-la at west end or shopping. U an do it all for less money and more time to enjoy the things that have more value only to u!:) taxi u can reserve at the reception and u have a driver for the whole day if u want or whatever suits u!

Another tip if ure going there for the sea life. If ure not a diver but u still want to see what is out there in the sea with ur snorkling gear- u can pay 15$(average) to join the divin group whenever theyre going and snorkel while they dive its worth it even going on the boat its amazing to see the island from a distance!
All in all amazing time at Media Luna! Cant wait to go back and maybe even move on the island one day!
Big thanks to Dianne our Nolitours Rep! The entertainment especially Nicole,Andy and Marion!Eddy and our awesome Dj as well!:))) love u guys

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Wonderluster R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
157 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

We were expecting an average hotel resort with average food and average service due to the excellent price of the all-inclusive week at the Media Luna. The great service, food and overall atmosphere was a really pleasant surprise and far from average. Security is also very good with two 24/7 checkpoints on the way in. The entertainment during dinner and the layout of the buffet restaurant in a semi-circle around the stage area is amazing.

The resort is small and cozy and does not involve long walks to get anywhere, yet the cabins are spread out enough to provide privacy and your own space. There was never a shortage of chairs or tables or anything and we were never left waiting for anything. When I first saw the small pool area I thought it may get crowded or annoying but that was never the case in the entire week.

The staff are really friendly and provide good service. We only ate at the buffet and found the food selection to be small but the quality very good. There was not even one meal that I can think of that was not really good or excellent..........really good being the lowest it ever got and that probably did not have anything to do with the food. What I admire the most is that they cook for the number of people staying and do not waste food unnecessarily. I never had to ask, but I am sure if there was something that I really wanted that was not on the buffet they would have been more than happy to do their best to make it for me.

We bought one of their diving packages, which was an amazing deal. The diving was excellent and they took us to different locations every day. There is also the house reef which you can dive whenever you feel like it, which is also an amazing wall. People we spoke to who were snorkelling all spoke highly of it and seemed to be snorkelling several days in a row..........so it must have been good.

We rented a car which was quite handy due to our own personal requirements to get to and from the villages most days, but others just took tours or taxis and seemed quite satisfied with that. Aside from diving we did not do any excursions but our friends and others did and I did not hear one complaint from anyone about not getting their money's worth.

We have been to Roatan before and will definitely return to Media Luna if it is an option. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We chose room 135 which is right beside the pool, lobby, bar and restaurant. There is some residual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luv2travel9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rouyn-Noranda, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed there from 18th to the 25th of April with friends and we had a great time. The facilities are very nice and comfortable. The only down side for us was that the bar closes early, but by 11 most nights we were very tired anyways.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with ocean view, it was great to get up in the morning go out on the balcony and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norm2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Media Luna the week of April 11-18th. Setting of this resort is amazing! The road leading up to the resort...not so much.

The resort is very quiet and tranquil. As other reviews have noted, no phones in room, no instruction on how to use the room safe. Fridges only contain 2 bottles of water which guests are responsible for refilling all week. Kind of annoying as we would have greatly appreciated some beer or soda to be stocked. At 11pm, the resort shuts down. It's ok if you plan ahead drinks wise and have a group to mingle with. During the day it would be nice to have constant music by the pools, but this is not the case either.

Aside from the aforementioned negatives, everything else is fantastic. We never had any issues with food shortages, or cold meals. There was always something to eat and no one seemed to go hungry. Cabanas were very clean and well maintained. Lots of hot water, clean sheets and toilet paper. A/C worked great. Maids made beautiful towel creatures every day. Pools are clean and refreshing. Beach is a little rocky, but once you're in, the snorkeling is at your fingertips, and is truly a site to see. The decks are beautiful but slightly under utilized especially in the evening as seating becomes a bit of an issue.

Activities were ok. Diving with Pete was fabulous. He is an excellent instructor. Very patient and knowledgeable. Nicole and Flako from animation made out stay so much more fun! Victor at the bar always made sure were had cold drinks in hand.

Beware of the Nolitours briefing. Come prepared with cervesas in hand as this 15 min session is stretched into an hour.

The only excursion we partook in was the island tour. Due to some hiccups, we did not spend the time we hoped to in west end, however we still had a fabulous time thanks to Flako! Perhaps take the advice of other reviewers and hire a cab company to view the island. Lots more freedom and less of a "scheduled" day.

If you like seafood, don't miss out on the opportunity to dine at Gio's. Great setting and fantastic eats!

One thing I have not noticed in other reviews is that it gets dark very early in Roatan. Not a huge deal, but something to note.

All in all, stunning location, great staff and an unforgettable vacation. If you're looking for 5 star, book elsewhere as you will be disappointed. For a quaint, relaxing getaway to regroup, make friends and appreciate all that nature has to offer, visit Media Luna.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buy_a_potato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

I love this resort, we had great food for the full week, beautiful scenery, amazing snorkeling and scuba diving too! If you're really adventurous then take a run or walk up the driveway. The resort is off the beaten path, only 3 years old, and right on the east coast of Roatan. The driveway has some of the steepest hills I've seen, similar to a ski hill! Running to the peak gives you an amazing outlook spot, and a great cardio workout! The only downfall, this resort lacks in nightly entertainment, but for me that didn't matter because a full day here exhausts you, and I was in bed at 9pm (just after dinner) almost every night!

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean view rooms, we only spent $70 more each to upgrade and the view was amazing!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank handymanchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
14.9 mi away
Henry Morgan Resort
Henry Morgan Resort
#10 of 14 in West Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
15.2 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
14.9 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
1.2 mi away
Parrot Tree Plantation
Parrot Tree Plantation
#1 of 1 in First Bight
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
Fantasy Island Beach Resort
#5 of 5 in French Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Media Luna Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Media Luna Resort & Spa

Property: Media Luna Resort & Spa
Address: Media Luna, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Media Luna Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pearl of the Caribbean… refined, precious, endowed with an innate elegance without the confines of time.Are you searching for a refuge in the pure nature?Do you want an eco-Lodge that respects the natural harmony of the elements?Are you seeking absolute relaxation with personal treatment …To you who want the “luna”… Experience…have found it!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Media Luna Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Media Luna Resort And Spa
Media Luna Hotel Roatan
Media Luna Resort & Spa Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing