We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not ready for guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Media Luna Resort & Spa
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Almonte, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not ready for guests”
Reviewed 8 March 2011

Resort is still under construction, nothing to do at this resort, no games etc. very limited booze selection, no umbrellas or shade! If there is shade someone is all ready sitting it. You could go for a walk outside the resort but there is nothing to do and good luck if you walk it cause the hills are so steep that you would be walking outside of your shoes. No telephones in the room (not that it matters but if your with other guests you cant call them or call front desk) also no clocks to set the alarm so you have to depend on them to wake you up. I had two wake up calls this past week and both of them 30 minutes late just about missed my day trips. Also there is no shopping there the dive shop is open sometimes but there isnt much in there to purchase. I needed more sunscreen and they didnt even have that. I needed to take a taxi in to town to get some. Oh and I had to buy Ketchup there too cause they didnt have that either. The taxi cost $40 to take there and back and its a 45 minute round trip to town/civilization. The weather was excellent there were only 52 people staying at the resort this past week, We met up with other couples who were scheduled to stay there for 2 weeks but they took a transfer to West Bay to Henry Morgan, This resort is very pre-mature, Maybe in 5 years it will be better but for now it was the worst Honeymoon resort out there. The picture with all the smoke is a guy who goes around at 4am and 4pm and fogs the entire resort. If you can tell he has a large resporator mask on, but they told us that it wasnt harmful. I really dont think it works cause the sand fleas bit me as well as everyone else. They tell you NOT to use bug spray but to use baby oil. The rooms are definately 5 star as well as the staff. As for everything else it was disapointing. As far as i'm concerned this resort should not even be opened and Sunwing is advertising something that it isn't. I spent $3910 to go here and I honestly should have only spent $2000 max. If you pay any more than that you are getting ripped off as of now.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlmonteTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    349
    161
    57
    16
See reviews for
140
496
40
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

- Unbelievable views.
- Remote location.
- Amazing sunny weather - always a breeze off the ocean
- Large villa rooms, with a large private deck (most of them overlook the ocean)
- Decent snorkelling of the resort, but it was the best in west bay which isn't far away by ATV or cab.
- Really good variety of healthy/fresh food in the buffet, not worth going to the a la carte
- Amazing resort staff! Everyone was so friendly and fun, with the exception of our Sunwing Rep; Patrick - he was terrible, not helpful, and rude. The good thing was he was never around so he didn't ruin our trip!
- Daily affordable and fun dive/snorkle trips around the island - ricardo & claire (dive instructors) will take you where ever you want to go

Overall, it was one of our best vacations and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing/fun trip in paradise.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank summerTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

Food was excellent! Very healthy and diverse. The dining area was also nice and the waiters were excellent, always there to take you're drink order. Little suggestion: red wine is best at room temperature, the hotel should stop serving it cool.
A la carte restaurant wasn't good..better off at the buffet.
Rooms are excellent! Clean, comfy, modern touch and very private.
Clean beach towels always available in room after the cleaning ladies pass by.
One Bar, but enough given that the hotel isn't packed. Suggestion: have a larger drink menu, very limited.
Location is great, a bit secluded but thats what makes it so relaxing!
Beaches are nice and private. Right now there are 2 beaches available and soon 3.
Staff is friendly
Spa was nice and very affordable
Diving with Ricardo and Claire was amazing! They're a great team!!
3 pools. All nice and clean. The deck is huge and very nice! Great view of the sunset off the deck.
In all, the hotel was AMAZING!

We went to Henry Morgan for a day and hated it. So did everybody else from our group. Henry Morgan's staff are rude, the hotel itself is very old and the beach is over crowded!! Not a pleasant experience. However I do suggest snorkeling in west bay.. Far right side of the Henry Morgan beach.

As for the Sunwing guide, Patrick. One word: horrible.

So DEFINITELY BOOK THIS HOTEL if you're looking for class, luxury, beauty and relaxation.

if you're looking to party and late nights at the bar, this isn't the place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MahsaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

The words that come to mind when I think back about my recent trip to the Media Luna is breathtaking. The resort is gorgeous, the grounds are beautiful and the scenery is breathtaking. Our cabana overlooked the ocean and pool and the large deck off our room was fabulous to sit and read or enjoy an afternoon cocktail.
The staff are all so pleasant and accomodating. I had a yoga session with Miriam on one of the decks over the ocean one morning that was amazing, such a beautiful and peaceful place. We snorkelled right off the beach and it was much prettier than the reef we saw out on our boat tour. I was hestiant about our trip to the Media Luna given that it is so new but I was blown away by the beauty and tranquil feeling that it evoked on me. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing and rejuvenating experience, this place is for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nooners434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moose Creek, Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

My husband and I just returned from Media Luna Resort & Spa in Roatan, Honduras. We went the w/o January 10 - 17. On the Sunwing website for Media Luna it shows it as being 18+ but there were children there so if you want adults only, don’t go!

First off, if you are not sure footed, in a wheelchair or have any problems walking, etc. this is not the place for you to go. There are lots of stairs to get to your cabin and stone walkways (see pictures).

Secondly, if you are booking, my advice is to take the premium/elite package for $50.00 offered by Sunwing when you book your trip. You get advanced seat selection and express check in at the airport (both in Montreal and Honduras) among other stuff which is a big plus if you don’t like waiting in long line-ups.

You do not need to bring a converter for your shaver, etc. You can use US funds to tip or pay for small purchases. You do not have to convert your US to Limpiras. You can use your VISA or MasterCard, etc. to pay for excursions. You will need $37.50 US (which is to be paid at the airport when you depart) to leave Honduras.

Angela and Davey, HM Resort reps. met us at the airport. We arrived at the resort about 1:30 in the afternoon. The ride from the airport was about 25 minutes and our driver advised us that it could take longer when the cruise ships are in because there is more traffic. We received a fresh drink when we arrived at Media Luna. There were thirteen of us from the Montreal flight. Check in was slow - there was one girl at the desk checking us in and my husband and I were second in line. We had a lovely cabin, king size bed, big bathroom. The room/bathroom needs more hooks to hang up wet towels, bathing suits, etc. We each had our own closet. There was a safe in the room and we left our money, passports, etc. in there. Same as ones we have had in Cuba. There are no phones or alarm clocks in the rooms. Should you need a wake up call you can tell the front desk and someone will come and wake you up. The beach is very small but nice and both it and the resort are very clean.

There was always entertainment at lunch and at supper. Either someone singing or playing the piano. There was music playing in the morning on their sound system. Two nights they had entertainment after supper, one night was dancers and one night a band. They were very good. If you are looking for partying every night, don’t go here. It is a place for relaxing, reading, snorkling and swimming. Everyone at the resort when we were there agreed that it was a very good vacation and the R & R was exactly what they wanted. The range of our ages was from 32 to 53.

The meals were wonderful - breakfast was eggs (any type including boiled), bacon, pancakes, French toast, fresh fruit, cheese, desserts
- lunch and supper - fish, chicken, pork, pasta, fries, calamari, potatoes, fresh fruit, rolls, bread, desserts
There is always a variety of food.
We had an a la carte one night with five other people that we met. We had lobster in our salad, lobster tail and pasta with lobster/crab, dessert and wine. Everyone agreed that it was delicious.

The wait staff was very friendly and the service was very good. Andrea, the manager of the evening staff, made sure that we wanted for nothing. Darling, Ever, Robert, Jose waited on us for the whole time we were there and made us feel at home. Ingrid was one of our bartenders and did a great job, along with the rest of the bar staff, making our drinks. The staff was always washing, maintaining and fixing stuff. Everyone was friendly and tried to accommodate your wishes. They were not looking for tips but really appreciated them when they were given.

We attended our Sunwing info session with our rep. Pat Gagne. Ricardo and Claire, the diving/snorkling instructors were in attendance as well. You could book day trips away. They were very informative and helpful. If you want to leave the resort, you can go to the front desk and book a taxi. Three people booked a taxi and went for a tour, shopped and had lunch for $20.00 each.

We rented the gear for $15.00 person per day from the dive shop on the resort and went snorkling on the reef off the beach. There were all sorts of sealife in all sorts of colors including fish, turtles, a manta ray and squid.

There is a small gift shop at the resort. They sell beach wraps, shorts, purses, jewellery, wine, small items like shampoo, etc. Be prepared and make sure you bring personal toiletry items including bug spray because they have a very small supply.

Another tip, when you get to the airport to check in, if there are two of you, one should go to pay the departure tax (you need to bring your passport and form that you were given when you came into the country) and one of you should stand in the baggage check in line. I went to pay the tax and my husband stood in the check in line and I was finished first and we still had to wait. His line had moved up but there were lots of people behind him. After checking your bags in at the airport, don’t go through customs right away, go back outside to enjoy the sun or whatever. We checked our bags and then crossed over but you are stuck in two rooms that were not air conditioned and they were packed!! The flight that was leaving before us was delayed and all of us were stuck there. Once you cross over, you are stuck, you cannot go back!!!

All in all, the people are friendly, the country is beautiful and the resort wonderful. It is not yet finished but for what they have right now it was perfect for

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeatherMooseCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
15.0 mi away
Henry Morgan Resort
Henry Morgan Resort
#10 of 14 in West Bay
1,431 reviews
15.3 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
5.8 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
1.3 mi away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
338 reviews
15.1 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Media Luna Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Media Luna Resort & Spa

Property: Media Luna Resort & Spa
Address: Media Luna, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Media Luna Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pearl of the Caribbean… refined, precious, endowed with an innate elegance without the confines of time.Are you searching for a refuge in the pure nature?Do you want an eco-Lodge that respects the natural harmony of the elements?Are you seeking absolute relaxation with personal treatment …To you who want the “luna”… Experience…have found it!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Media Luna Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Media Luna Hotel Roatan
Media Luna Resort And Spa
Media Luna Resort & Spa Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing