We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clear blue water and paradise.”
Review of Roatan Pirates Bay

Roatan Pirates Bay
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Clear blue water and paradise.”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I loved it here and didn't want to leave. I swam in the most delicious clear blue water in the bay which was not deep (just over a metre) and enjoyed it immensely. There are some craft shops as you walk into the rather old resort area (which is shortly to be completely rebuilt and modernised according to a large poster displayed at the entrance). A folk dance show was offered but I declined preferring to enjoy the water. There are sun lounges under palm trees on white sand and there is serenity. There are also tables and chairs in which to sit in an open air covered area. No vendors on the beach. There is snorkelling equipment but unless you book a snorkelling tour they don't let you use it - we found out when the snorkelling gear was taken from us which was quite upsetting - the snorkelling gear was sitting under a palm tree and we thought it was for our use.

The other swimming area near the main shopping plaza looked nicer and was free as we paid US$56.25 for 2 adults off the Oceania cruise ship Riviera to take a van ride to Pirates Bay. After a cramped and very full ride in a mini van I would have gladly strolled over to the gorgeous free beach from the ship. Most people don't know free swimming is on offer until they get to the destination and they don't tell you on the cruise ships as they are trying to sell their optional tours. I was very annoyed about this lack of information from the cruise company.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank tripping-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    3
    0
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellvue, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Warm water - Quite - few people - Great drinks”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Visited Las Palmas Beach on 1-16-13 as a $20.00 tour from RC cruise ship. One other couple in the van with us. Every one else wanted to go to the West side of Roatan. The beach was very clean and the water nice and warm with white soft sandy bottom. No shells. The beach had numerous lounge chairs and several Palapas. There are lots of Palm trees. There were also tables and chairs on the beach for dining or whatever. The bar is within 20 strides of the beach but they will bring you drinks which are well made and reasonably priced. There is an open air, but covered, dining area on the beach as well. You can get an open air massage for $25.00 for 30 minutes. Do it. No vendors on the beach. There is a pier with a pirate ship to explore a short distance and out of site of the beach. It was closed during my stay at the beach. There are multiple little sales tables set up on the way to the beach with many unique gifts and items to purchase at what I know is a better price than in town. The vendors are polite and not in your face at all. You are offered multiple taste samples of a variety of coffee's. The food is BBQ'd on the beach, well prepared, pleasing to the eye, reasonably priced and quite enjoyable. The bathrooms were clean and well maintained and can be used for a changing room. Very nice beach experience. Oh, the best part? Only saw a hand full of people the entire morning, most of whom were just walking by. What a treat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Poudre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Jamaica
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Roatan”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Roatan was a beautiful port of call during our cruise vacation. Warm friendly people, good food , simple fun filled attractions reasonably priced, clean and relaxed atmosphere; This is a gem. A must see for cruising in the western Caribbean.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stopped in Roatan during a cruise. The island is small, but absolutely beautiful, with wonderful hikes, gorgeous beaches, and crystal-clear water. I highly recommend hiking the island to its highest point - the view from up top is breathtaking!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank PuertoRussian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron ohio
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Los palmos, roatan - Amazing beach”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Roatan was a port that our ship stopped at. For $15 A person, you can take a bus ride round trips and can spend a day in heaven. It is a beautiful beach with some shopping outside. Also, you get a towel and very nice beach charis. Drinks and food were very good and very reosanably priced. beach has wireless connection and not crowded at all. Check it on utube. Lovely day. Great drinks. Highly recommend.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank sousoucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roatan Pirates Bay also viewed

Roatan, Bay Islands
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to Roatan Pirates Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing