We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learned how to drum!”
Review of Steel Pan Alley

Steel Pan Alley
Ranked #35 of 74 things to do in Roatan
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer a totally unprecedented opportunity to truly feel and live the Caribbean musical experience.Within the space of one ninety-minute course any guest, regardless of previous musical experience or education, will learn to play the Trinidad steel drums and sound like a professional.We promise zero-to-music in one session!
King City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Learned how to drum!”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The 4 of us went to steel pan alley and learned how to beat on steel drums. Although it was hot, and I am practically tone deaf, we all succeded to play 3 songs with the help of the instructor, a former music teacher from the states who now devotes her time in teaching the kids of Roatan to fulfill their musical whims!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ibuycdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morehead, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun and refreshing”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Friends bought my husband and I this activity for our Roatan honeymoon, and we really enjoyed it. As promised, the instructor and students will teach you to play a few songs by the end of your lesson, and in between you will learn more about the pans from the quirky, good-hearted, and expert teacher. She is a character. Loved her straight forward commentary about the island's politics when asked. The students helped out, and were fun to joke with and learn from. I totally recommend this, and suggest that you get good directions for yourself, your cab driver, or have the instructor meet you/pick you up.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cmwrig04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wedding Serenade”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Steel Pan Alley serenaded us at our daughter's wedding. Great job kids ... keep up the good work!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sand369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A highlight of the trip!”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My husband stumbled upon this place while planning our adventures while on Roatan. While it was a bit hard to find, once we were there, Deborah and her students Moses, David, and (another little dude who I can't remember his name) were wonderful! Deborah has used her teacher's retirement savings to open up this place for kids to come and learn the steel drums, hoping to give the a future and keep them in school and out of trouble. To help with opperational costs, she charges tourists $30 for an hour and a half lesson. By God, you will learn how to play a few songs and you will sound great!! We were amazed that we played Mambo #5 and a song by Bob Marley. My 12 year old and 10 year old, had a blast and so did we. It was definitely worth the drive and would highly recommend it to anyone on Roatan.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinMaMa38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“best thing on our trip”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Everyone should do this. Such a nice escape from the typical beach excursion. Deb picked us up right at the pier from our cruise ship. We had 5 people - age 9 to 80 - and ALL loved it. You learn by doing - not reading music - so no experience necessary. If you have played any type of mallet instrument for any moderate amount, let her know and she might let you play "lead" depending on what song she picks. Much easier then I thought it would be. And she'll take video or pictures while you play - just ask. Her students are so polite. Wear sneakers - if it rains, it can be muddy where you park. And ask Deb in advance about transportation. If she's available, she can drop you at the beach instead of back at the port. I would probably do this class again on a future cruise. It was that fun. You can buy tshirts or CD's at the end - very inexpensive, and no pressure to buy. Very nice hostess - felt like I was visiting a friend.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank samflorida34683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steel Pan Alley also viewed

 
Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to Steel Pan Alley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing