We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near the ocean Villas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pristine Bay Resort
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Near the ocean Villas”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A beautiful residential complex, not a standard hotel but vacation rental villas. It has a welcoming lobby with an impressive beach view. Rooms are very comfortable, nicely decorated with top of the line appliances. The villa I stayed in had a private pool, along with a sun deck perfect for small private parties. Once in the complex you are far away from both the town center and the nightlife spots. No bars or restaurants nearby, only those provided by the hotel. However, it is a great option for the perfect beach vacations.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FerdyBerganza_jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest_Relations_Mgr1, Guest Relations Manager at Pristine Bay Resort, responded to this review, 18 December 2014
Thanks for sharing your travel experience at Pristine Bay Resort with others here on Trip Advisor.

You’re absolutely correct – we’re no standard hotel with an amazingly wide variety of residential products, which includes luxury residences and charming villas with unobstructed views of the ocean, mountains, and golf course. And with 4 wonderful restaurants to choose from, we’ve got everything it takes for, as you mentioned, a “perfect beach vacation.”

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    40
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
90
60
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

we had no intention of buying anything when we came to stay for 3 days.
very impressed with everything; we were not new to Roatan or luxury carribean resorts having just stayed at Turks & Caicos the month before and Anthony's Key before.
Only two relatively minor complaints: 1. those darn "no-see-ums" which seem to come out in the late afternoon and are especially bad on the golf course; they weren't terrible, just annoying; DEET doesn't work, need Avon skin so soft or coconut oil and long sleeved shirts and pants. 2. Occassionally in the middle of the night there was a brief power outage; I think the island has a power problem but then Pristine Bay has its own backup power plant that kicks in, not a big deal unless you are a night owl on the computer.
And everything else was spectacular; diving with Mike is like having a privatre dive trip, he does not load up the boat and runs a very professional operation; just hope he brings in Nitrox which I was told they are planning to do. The golf is 5 star no question. And my sister in law who is an avid tennis player loved the tennis courts there, again, no long waits. Staff was fantastic all around. Over breakfast I was gazing down at the beach and after 30 minutes or so I had to ask the waitress what that guy was doing out in the water, looked like he was working. She said, "oh, he is cleaning the beach, we get some dust drifting over from the construction sites, seohe is vacuuming the sand" This place really lives up to its name; could not find a spec of litter anywhere. You really feel like you are totally a part of the natural environment while enjoying all of the amenities of a 5 star resort. I love this so much more than any luxury resort I've stayed. So we decided to buy a villa, we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: we stayed near the beach house and the golf course so we could just walk everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PristineBay, General Manager at Pristine Bay Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Ross!! WELCOME!!!!!! We are delighted to have you as a permanent guest!
Regarding those "no-see-ums"... Some say God put them in the island to bite us so we know this place is not a dream! Seriously, we do everything in our power to control by fumigating the beach. Note we provide repellent to our guests at the beach and also in the pool area.
Regarding the electricity problems, we know it happens sometimes due to the fact that we are an island but as you have mentioned we have our own generator to be able to still provide electricity inside our property.
Thank you so much for bringing up our dive master Mike. He is absolutely great and it is an honor for us to count with him as part of our team! Really THANK YOU for bringing him up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Its one of the best places you can stay at in Roatan if you want luxury and comfort. The Place is gorgeous, the only down side is that if you do not have a vehicule to move around the island then this place is not for you because it in a secluded property near french harbour. The condo was beautiful and it had its own private drop off pool. Very nice! The Golf course was awesome too. Its still needs a little work but its getting there. This place also has a restaurant in the main building that is amazing. The food was delicious and service on point. We had a flat tire and the staff helped us change the tire. Apart from your private pool you can also visit the main pool near their beach area. This pool is gorgeous and really big. For those of you who like to workout while traveling, this place does not have a good gym. It only had a couple of treadmills and resistance training tools. Its better of just swimming and jogging around the property than going to that gym. Oh BTW, we were given a golf cart to move around the property. I think that was kind of neat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PristineBay, General Manager at Pristine Bay Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Jerry,
We are so glad we were able to please you during your stay with us!
We thank you most of all for your comments about our staff as it is our main goal to have people with the right attitude to make everyone feel at home and cared.
Regarding the location, we try to be as clear as possible in our website and in every brochure we promote ourselves that our main product is to offer privacy, luxury and a peaceful environment. We know transportation is a must if you plan to do activities outside our resort, so this is why we work with a trustful car rental company.
For internal transportation, we provide transfer service to all of our guest. We also offer golf carts to easily move inside the resort.
We appreciate your kind words and we can´t wait to have you again! THANK YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Pristine Bay with my wife and kids and was very happy with our vacation. I was able to play gold at the Black Pearl, while my wife and kids enjoyed some of their water activities. I was warned about two issues on the island:

1. Security
2. Service

I must say that we never felt threatend during our entire stay. We took an island tour and it was excellent (highly recommended).

As for the service aspect of our vacation, all I can do is congratulate the entire staff at Pristine Bay for their attention to detail and for treating us like family.


Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lsanders76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PristineBay, General Manager at Pristine Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Lsanders76,
Family vacation is one of the best purpose to stay with us and we are happy we managed to have every member of your love ones happy!
We thank you for your comments about our staff. It is our wish to constantly continue to improve as we believe the best place to stay away from home, is were you feel at home with a different view.
Please let us know when will you be visiting us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We went for a wedding and the staff earned a masters on Slowiness. Them being inefficient and slow can really get to your nerves. Was there before all the guests arrived and even with only 6 customers at the restaurant they were extra slow. The views are great, food was good ( I recommend tuna tartare) although if you go to have lunch before 3 you might not find the sushi chef yet. The villas are great and comfortable. If you plan on going to the supermarket ( just around the corner outside pristine) be prepared to be overcharged by the authorized taxis of pristine bay. Good place to have a getaway!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PristineBay, Gerente at Pristine Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Ana F,
Thank you so much for your kind review.
Please allow me to first of all apologize for the delay in your meal and also to explain the reason why you had to wait to be served moments before the weeding.
Note we have a limited amount of staff that it is qualified to work with us and we rather keep it that what as it is our policy not hire extra staff without being sure they have the service level and professionalism we demand.
You are absolutely right we were slow in the restaurant right before the wedding but I need you to please understand we need to be focus and centralize most of team in the event, specially when 99% of our guest were attending the event. Nevertheless we know it is not accepted to have our guests wait to be serve at our restaurants so we have took the decision to limit the menu with only items that can be prepare with little time but still be fresh and up to the standards.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon! And once again thank you for allowing us to improve every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My family traveled to Pristine Bay Dec 22-29, 2013. We stayed in a 4 bedroom beautiful home! We had 6 adults and 4 kids and the house was more than big enough. The staff was very responsive to all of our needs even if they happened in the middle of the night! The pool is beautiful. Our group golfed every day. The course was in great shape and never had problems getting a tee time. We also went scuba diving every morning. Mike from the dive shop was easy to work with, he also helped coordinate off property activites such as zip lining and shuttle transfers. We will be back in 2014 and stay at Pristine Bay!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PristineBay, General Manager at Pristine Bay Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Kristen,
Thank you so much for your review!!!
Have you visited us again? Please let us know your dates and we will do the rest. Note we will have a summer camp for kids starting on June 16th so in case you can visit in June, it will be a great opportunity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I'm sitting in Pristine Bay now, writing this review. There's much to like in Pristine Bay, but overall, the resort needs to work out a number of kinks in its operations and details.

First, the bad so we can end on a good note:

1. The pillows and bedding smell of mildew. In three of the rooms in the two villas my family and I stayed in, the smell was overpowering. If you're sensitive to mildew and mold, bring your own pillow (you can wash the sheets in the villa's washer&drier after you go to a local grocery store and buy your own detergent).

2. The internet speed is modem level - expect to pay to upgrade to higher speed internet access, and even then, you may find that speed degrades during the course of the day. Streaming videos and using Netflix will be spotty.

3. The last 4 days we were there (out of 10 days total), the entire resort was on generator power - a portable surge suppressor is a must to avoid damaging your electronics with the constant sags and surges in power from the generator.

4. If your villa has a pool, expect it to be cleaned once every 3 or 4 days - by day 3, the water will feel greasy as I don't think they use that much chlorine.

5. Water damage is beginning to be obvious in both the villas and the main lodge (e.g., the beach house). We're here at the end of the rainy season, and after it finishes raining, you can hear the water dripping down inside the walls in the villa and in the main building, in the lobby, if you look up at the top of the walls/ceiling joints, you can see all the wet spots. I don't foresee the mildew problem getting better unless all the roofs are redone across the villa.

6. Many of the staircases are without railings or only partial railings; some of the steps are non-standard height, and for some of the sunken floors, there is no visual clue that floor is sunken - more than once we had older than 55 family members fall or tumble.

7. The resort is rather isolated (even though its in the middle of the island). Everything is a good 30+ minute drive away.

8. The three restaurants on site are weak, with similar menus and not really that much to distinguish them. Most of the food is trying to be something it's not. Only breakfast is excellent, with the "Honduran Tipico" breakfast being a standout.

9. Finally, be aware that the resort is very, very, very hilly, with steep inclines. If you're out of shape, you'll be calling for a golf cart to go anywhere. (They used to offer all villas a golf cart, but they've been having maintenance issues for several months.)

On the positive side:

1. The service is very good. If you've been to a high-end resort in Japan, you know what outstanding service is, so this is not that, but it is very, very good. We found everyone - from golf cart drivers to waitresses to front desk staff to the maids to be completely helpful and pleasant.

2. The setting is wonderful. There are few things better than waking up to watch the ocean (although you won't hear the small waves for the sound of the huge generator...).

3. Aside from golf, tennis, several swimming pools, and a small, shallow "wading" beach, the activities are located outside the resort - and the staff is super helpful about making reservations for you, getting car or van service, and so on. Don't waste your time trying to do things yourself; figure out what you want to do/see and then work with the staff to help coordinate everything.

4. The villas are big, with plenty of space to spread out. Even with 15 people spread over two villas, I never felt crowded.

5. The villas are well equipped with front-loading washer & drier, refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, and marble countertops. Every room (or sleeping area) has its own thermostat for the A/C, making life comfortable.

As a result, IMHO, these benefits tend to help cancel out some of the negatives, and so I give Pristine Bay a 3 out of 5.

Would I stay here again? No. Not unless someone else was picking up the tab. For my money, there is better out there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Callias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PristineBay, General Manager at Pristine Bay Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Callias,
Thank you for your constructive reviews and for providing us with such valuable information that allows us to improve our service and the small details that have big importance.
Before I start answering your comments let me inform you I am the new hotel manager since 2 months ago. I also want to say THANK YOU for taking the time to share your experience with us as it has been very useful.
These are the actions we have to took in answer to your comments point by point:

1.Since 2 months ago, we have a weekly meeting with the managers of each department and the feedback we received from our check out clients is a main subject to treat. We give extremely high priority to this valuable information as it allows us to improve from the constructive comments and to encourage our team to keep doing what clients like about our service.

2.Internet Service. Please have in consideration Roatan is an island so the speed of internet is not like in the main land. We do our best and we pay extra to the data company to have the faster possible but still we have to adapt to the fact we are located on an island.

3. We have our own generator and there is nothing we can do when the power goes down in the island as this is a public service. The best solution is to have our own generator which is the same we use for our offices and so far there has not been any damages in any of our equipment.

4. We have a maintenance manager that takes care of the pools. We have a very strict process with the pools maintenance and the chemicals we use to treat them. We have rarely received a complain about the water being greasy but we have add this details to the “be careful” list for the pools supervisor.

5. please note we check each villa from top to bottom in different periods of the year as we face weather changes that might affect the house in some aspects. In this specific case, it was a construction problem but it was managed and solved by our team immediately. Kindly have in consideration due to weather conditions we are vulnerable to face this issues but we are welled prepared to do everything in or power to avoid cases like this from happening.

6. Note each house has its owner and each house respect the regulations we require but we cannot force the owner of the house to treat its house as it was a hotel room. Please do not misunderstand me as you can be sure we revise every detail to make sure the house has all the safety requirements accomplished.

7. Note we are clear in our website and in every brochure we promote ourselves that our main product is to offer privacy, luxury and peaceful environment. Nevertheless for people looking to have a more active vacation, we have an activity desk located right next to the front desk. Also take note our staff is naturally from the island so they are fully informed about all the activities you can enjoy inside the resort and outside too.
Being able to assist all our clients to make their stay the best possible, is basically our main purpose and we are aware it can only be accomplished with people with the correct attitude and knowledge.

8. It is true it is quite challenging to please everybody with the food and menus but our F&B manager is constantly trying to improve our menus and the quality in all of our 3 restaurants. As a matter of fact one of our restaurants is consider one of the best for sushi and it is also famous for its amazing views. We thank your positive comment about the breakfast.

9. Note regardless of the availability of golf carts to rent we always provide transfer service internally in one of the 5 six-seaters we have assigned exclusively to pick up our guests wherever they are at the moment they ask in their own house.

** For the rest of the positive comments, I thank you in the name of all our ladies and gentleman that work in Pristine Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
2.7 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
607 reviews
10.7 mi away
Xbalanque Resort
Xbalanque Resort
#7 of 14 in West Bay
145 reviews
11.5 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
8.3 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
210 reviews
3.6 mi away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pristine Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pristine Bay Resort

Property: Pristine Bay Resort
Address: French Harbor, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Roatan
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pristine Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pristine Bay Resort is a 405-acre luxury golf resort on the island of Roatan, located in the Western Caribbean. Available accommodations include 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom private villas. All are exquisitely furnished and uniquely equipped with full kitchens, laundry, living and dining areas, plus a private pool and patio. Choose from spectacular ocean views, golf course views, or both! Pristine Bay Resort also offers you the best facilities on the island, which include our Beach Club with gym, tennis courts and infinity pools overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Onsite dining options include Aqua and Flava, as well as the Sky Lounge with spectacular views over the North and South Shores of Roatan. The centerpiece of the resort is undoubtedly the 18-hole championship golf course, The Black Pearl, designed by famous golf player and architect, Pete Dye. Roatan's finest diving is also available with Black Pearl Divers & Aquatic Center, located onsite at Pristine Bay Resort. Experience incredible diving, PADI training, and many other tours and activities. Stay at Pristine Bay Resort for the ultimate in luxury and an unforgettable experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pristine Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pristine Bay Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing