We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home in tropical paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Georphi's Tropical Hideaway
Ranked #10 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home away from home in tropical paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

If you are looking for a wonderful, cozy, convenient and friendly place, this is it. Family owned for generations, located right on the beach in West End. Diver friendly, with a restaurant on the premises. Rosalie and Michelle are the nicest people. You will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michal3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    16
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
27
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

What a truly wonderfull place this is ! Set in the jungle right opposite a beach.Three generations attend to your daily needs and requirements.The youngest,Shayla goes out of her way to make sure you are having a pleasent stay.She`s informative,smart and very funny ! the family pets ( three dogs and two parrots are also on hand to admire and play with ! I had a dorm room and my hammock was right outside for me to chilax on.Food was tasty and served in super fast time.They told me about the dive sites and the do`s and don``ts about onward travel in Honduras ! I hope to return someday !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justinmarley_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We arrived at roatan with no accomodation booked. We looked almost every place for 2 hours and everywhere was expensive. We found georphis and it was great. Got a cabin for $25(they have 2 rooms on each side and share the bathroom and kitchen as well as the front area with table and a hamac. Very clean,just across the beach where you can go for a swim to start the day!
Rosalie is so nice and funny, we had a great time there. It is true that they are having problems with the place next door because of the noise ( not while we were there tough) but they are working on it,and I am sure they'll sort it out!
Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maruq2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level Contributor
809 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I loved this little place: its lush landscaping, cabins, hostel, etc. It is an oasis with nice, friendly owners and *staff. It is a great location, across from the beach.

Rosalie, the primary owner, was so friendly and helpful. Michelle, her daughter, is a such a positive, friendly, helpful person. Her husband, Derek, is also very nice and friendly and a hard worker keeping the grounds clean. *However, Michelle's daughter, Shayla (?) is another story. She never cracked a smile; was obviously inconvenienced because she had to check me into my room; and "barked out" orders during this process. Whoa, she is such an opposite to the rest of the family owners! She is not a good first impression.

I had a $35 a night clean, nicely decorated cabin. I loved the small porch and the hammock. I had hot water and a fridge.

Now, for the bad news: This quiet little place is next to the restaurant and NIGHT TIME DISCO/CLUB El Boskue. Even with earplugs (or ear buds in), a loud fan on me and a sleeping pill, I had three horrible nights of trying to get to sleep. The noise of its patrons, loud booming bass, and music sounded like it was in my room - until AT LEAST 1 OR 2 IN THE MORNING! The owners are very aware of this nightly situation and are working with the mayor and police regarding "noise control." This situation should not be happening to this place and its nice owners.

I still recommend staying here for the location and value, just do NOT stay in a cabin on the left hand side of the property. (For example, cabin 3).

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin or room on the RIGHT SIDE of the property (as you enter). Do not stay on the LEFT S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
succasunna
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

The cabins r basic and what u would expect for the money. Location is good and u even get a covered porch with hammock to kick back and relax on. That is if your completely deaf. I don't even know where to start. How about the 8 dirty dogs that never stop barking. I was even privileged enough to get to watch the owner shave the dogs in the dinning area. We all have heard the expression the rooster crowd at dawn but how about every 10 sec from 5:00am till 2:30 pm. That's right! I said ten seconds! Or if your lucky the gigantic parrot they own may b in a squaky mood, you'd think Godzilla was outside your door. Or maybe they'll still b building next door running saws, routers, and banging hammers from sun up till sun down. If these things weren't going on there was alway plenty more. They'll make the excuse that that's island life but the truth is that there a bunch of dirty inconsiderate people with no values, and if they want to cater to animals instead of people than there business will go right down the toilet.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sal t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the chalet - it wasn't the cheapest, but truly amazing. Huge, nicely furnished, big terrace, great bathrooms... For a group of 6 it was amazing, we could happily stay there for much longer. Staff is super fun and helpful, wifi is very good. Sincerely recommended!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasia_mip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebeltoft, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Me and my boyfriend really enjoyed staying at this place!
Very nice people running the place. If you mention anything they will do their best to fix it for you (we didn't had hot water the first day, which we should have had).
The only problem about this place is their neighbour, El Boske, who runs a big disco... But hopefully it will be better in the near future. Feel so sorry about how these people 'destroy' this nice place by playing so high music...
Having said that we still think it was one of the best places we have stayed so far. Please go there! (Bonus-Info: they have the best and biggest smoothies I've seen so far in my life, try them!!)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ida H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
0.5 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sueno Del Mar Resort
Sueno Del Mar Resort
#6 of 7 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.9 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Splash Inn Dive Resort
Splash Inn Dive Resort
#2 of 7 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georphi's Tropical Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georphi's Tropical Hideaway

Property: Georphi's Tropical Hideaway
Address: West End, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Georphi's Tropical Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georphi's Tropical Hideaway Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing