We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I could have stayed here all day! Beautiful, relaxing and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Little French Key

Little French Key
Ranked #2 of 72 things to do in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Welcome to our Private Island Retreat......Best Moments....Both eco friendly and mystical, this place is built with kindness to the environment and people in mind, Little French Key is where you get back to your essence. Roatan is an uncommon place to rejuvenate physically, mentally and spiritually. .Join us for some of the best moments of your life.....
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I could have stayed here all day! Beautiful, relaxing and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I researched Little French Key on Trip Advisor before I set sail on my Royal Caribbean cruise from May 12-17, 2014. This place is amazing! It's beautiful, relaxing and fun. When we were there is wasn't crowded at all, most likely because we didn't go through Royal Caribbean's shore excursions, we made the reservations ourselves-I recommend you do too. We met a few very friendly and helpful vacationers too; Joe and Amanda. My mother, two sisters and I made the reservations for Little French Key online while we were on our vacation. We paid for our $98 package when we arrived there. It included transportation to and from the port, the guided snorkel boat tour, flippers, mask and mouthpiece, and a tour of their zoo that housed a rescued jaguar that you can pet and hold, spider monkeys, parrots, and dogs. We had a fabulous big lunch of curried chicken, grilled lobster, grilled shrimp, rice and beans, chopped vegetable salad, cabbage slaw, and filet mignon pieces all while looking out over the dreamy ocean. Our package included two drinks of any kind-we had the Monkey Lala, a sweet cream of coconut based concoction, that is really yummy and really fattening with very little alcohol in it. I wish we had had more time at this venue. We had a shuttle waiting for us at the port but it was difficult finding our driver. You have to walk past all of the vendors within the port that are trying to vie for your attention and your business. Then once you're out of the port, you still have to figure out who your driver is, and again there are more vendors trying to vie for your attention and business and offer you a taxi or a glass bottomed boat adventure. There was also a camouflaged officer holding a long rifle. I wasn't expecting that but my sister said I need to get out more. There was a platform that you could jump off of into the water below that was fun. The coral is so close to you when you are snorkeling. It's about 2-3 feet away from you in certain parts. The snorkel boat driver stayed with my mom the whole time she snorkeled and put her in a floating donut so she could stay afloat. I saw the most beautiful fish while snorkeling. It was a small, royal blue fish, and it looked like it had flashing white stars all over its body. You could drink and or eat in the shallow water area too. There were lounge chairs and a couple of tables to eat at. One side of the island had lots of hammocks. They looked so relaxing but we didn't have enough time to enjoy them. They also offered massages for an additional charge. A woman on our snorkel boat said that the massage was amazing and that it was $30 for 30 minutes. My mom had a great time here celebrating her 85th birthday and Mother's day. She especially enjoyed meeting the wife and husband who own Little French Key, and because my mother and the wife found out that they are both from the same country. They had a lot to talk about and the shuttle almost left without her. Just kidding. I would recommend this place to anyone, any age, I would love to take my kids here! I miss it already!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank micassileo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Little French Key, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this great five stars review. We are very glad that you enjoyed what we have to offer here in Paradise! It is truly the enjoyment of our dear visiting guests such as yourself that makes what we do all so worthwhile.....May G-d Bless you and your family

Management Team at Frenchy's 44 and Little French Key
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,041
    283
    92
    40
    23
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value. Beautiful surroundings. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I bought the $98 package which included a guided tour of the zoo, lunch, guided snorkel trip, use of non motorized water equipment, and 2 drinks. While we did not get a guided tour of the zoo and the jaguar was incapacitated which was a big let down ( wish they would have advertised that jaguar activities were extra and updates on if he is available) I was happily surprised by everything else. Our snorkel experience was top notch, in which we saw 3 lobsters and squid, and we also got to try paddle boarding which although tiring was a blast. If you want to get your money's worth out of this place you definitely can.

Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie0brien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Little French Key, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for posting this positive review....Our animals here in Little French Key are mostly rescued animals and we do take care of them...their well being and safety and safety of our guests is paramount for us in any decision that is made concerning the animals..they are live animals with needs, desires, care and attention that can not always predetermined or advertised....we are very sorry if you felt let down that is not our intention....looking forward to your return visit..G-d Bless

Management Team at Little French Key and Frenchy's 44
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Resort That I Will Revisit and I'm From California!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I and another couple visited little French key on April 30th 2014. We were on a cruise and booked the excursion outside of the cruise ships excursions. Much cheaper that way. We paid $88 per person which included transportation to and from the port, lunch which was wonderful, two alcoholic beverages, and all non motorized rentals at the resort. There are lockers, bathrooms, and dressing rooms if you need them. The lunch was great and the drinks were nice and strong. They have kayaks, paddleboards, and snorkeling equipment, all of which are included in the $88 admission fee. Lounge chairs are also available at no extra charge. What makes this place nice is the fact that the owner only allows a small amount of people at his resort at a time. We were in Honduras with 3 other ships yet I didn't feel crowded at the resort whatsoever. It is a beautiful place. It also had a zoo at the resort and it is also free with the fee of $88. I would not hesitate to come back here if I get anywhere close to Honduras in the future. I even got the opportunity to swim with a Jaguar. It was one of the rescued animals in the zoo. There is an extra fee for that though. I've been to several places in the Western, Eastern, and Southern Caribbean and this resort will stand up to any of them. I can't say enough nice things about this place. Everyone in our party felt the same way. We met and talked to four other couples that day and we all felt the same way about Little French Key. Absolutely a fantastic way to spend the day and all of us would definitely come back. By the way, you can stay as long as you like. They will take you back when you are ready to go back to the port. We stayed from approximately 10 in the morning till 3 in the afternoon.
Thank you to the owner Frenchy, for having us. We love your private paradise.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregory48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Little French Key, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this great five stars review. We are very glad that you enjoyed what we have to offer here in Paradise! It is truly the enjoyment of our dear visiting guests such as yourself that makes what we do all so worthwhile.....May G-d Bless you and your family

Management Team at Frenchy's 44 and Little French Key
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely a blast and beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Loved, loved, loved this little island! Absolutely beautiful island, beach and property! Very well managed. Very relaxing and quiet. The tour guides Julio and Lester were really awesome. Very friendly, inviting, hospitable and eager to tell us about the island and his culture. Would definitely recommend and will be back again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank L and B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Little French Key, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this great five stars review. We are very glad that you enjoyed what we have to offer here in Paradise! It is truly the enjoyment of our dear visiting guests such as yourself that makes what we do all so worthwhile.....May G-d Bless you and your family

Management Team at Frenchy's 44 and Little French Key
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Are you kidding me!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Look at my posts... I Snorkel consistently in the islands. This place is paradise!! The young man took us out is incredible. Takes you too the shelf of the reef with a drop off that cant be missed. Might be one of the most beautiful places I have ever snorkeled. He will also take you a different spot in the afternoon to give you a different flavor. Anyway you look at it this place is surrounded by one of the most beautiful reefs you have ever seen!! The private island is nice with snacks, drinks etc... but I spent the majority of my time snorkeling. Do not miss this if you are a snorkeler on a cruise ship!! Also looked kid friendly with a 2 story jump.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlefrenchkey, Owner at Little French Key, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this great five stars review. We are very glad that you enjoyed what we have to offer here in Paradise! It is truly the enjoyment of our dear visiting guests such as yourself that makes what we do all so worthwhile.....May G-d Bless you and your family

Management Team at Frenchy's 44 and Little French Key
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little French Key also viewed

 

Been to Little French Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing