We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food...”
Review of The Turtle Shack

The Turtle Shack
Ranked #151 of 212 Restaurants in Roatan
Price range: US$7 - US$8
Description: The Turtle Shack is located in Calabash Bight, Roatan Island or "Out East" as some say. It is in a nice quiet area of the old Roatan community that has changed little in the past few hundred years. We have a wonderful view and an enjoyable atmosphere surrounded by the Caribbean Sea and the Bight (Bay) itself with Mangroves, birds, iguanas and our Furry Friends four Spanish Water Dogs. Just off the dock you can see the many sea creatures one of which are Queen Conch. The dining area is screened in for your comfort and there is an open deck to take in the view. The boat trip from Oak Ridge where our parking at Jesse's is a treat in itself. Come enjoy the good food, Micro Brewed Pale Ale (think Newcastle) and a Pineapple wine made on premises along with a Mango Tango wine cooler for those with a taste for sweeter wine.The parking is 20 Lempiras, the boat transport is 120 Lempiras per person or a group rate of 240 Lempiras for three or more (exchange rate app. 19 Lempiras to 1 USD).
Restaurant details
Description: The Turtle Shack is located in Calabash Bight, Roatan Island or "Out East" as some say. It is in a nice quiet area of the old Roatan community that has changed little in the past few hundred years. We have a wonderful view and an enjoyable atmosphere surrounded by the Caribbean Sea and the Bight (Bay) itself with Mangroves, birds, iguanas and our Furry Friends four Spanish Water Dogs. Just off the dock you can see the many sea creatures one of which are Queen Conch. The dining area is screened in for your comfort and there is an open deck to take in the view. The boat trip from Oak Ridge where our parking at Jesse's is a treat in itself. Come enjoy the good food, Micro Brewed Pale Ale (think Newcastle) and a Pineapple wine made on premises along with a Mango Tango wine cooler for those with a taste for sweeter wine.The parking is 20 Lempiras, the boat transport is 120 Lempiras per person or a group rate of 240 Lempiras for three or more (exchange rate app. 19 Lempiras to 1 USD).
New Palestine, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food...”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

The food was pub style, very good & reasonable priced.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank df12153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Mark and Lori run an excellent restaurant providing excellent food for a good price. Mark can provide you with some of his locally brewed beer or a lass of pineapple wine...TASTY!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kwajalein Island, Marshall Islands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch spot”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

What a lovely place! We enjoyed the whole experience. The boat ride over there was beautiful, motoring through the mangroves. The food was superb. The view from the restaurant was gorgeous. The owners were so welcoming.... but most of all I loved the homemade beer and wines. Just fantastic all around. Turtle grass is a must-try if you head to the eastern end for any reason.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kwajalein92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enchanting Views, Friendly Hosts & Great food at a reasonable price..”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Four of us set out on our lunch journey to Turtle Shack. We hopped in the car, and drove out to Oak Ridge, and we were met at the dock promptly by Jimmy, a boat taxi driver, and had a nice boat ride to Turtle Shack. The boat ride was 240 limp(US$12) for four of us round trip. If you call Turtle Shack, they will set this up for you. Once again we were met at the dock by Mark & Lori. We Had beers and wine. The beer was nice and cold, an excellent darker type brew and a welcome respite after the boat ride! The girls had homemade Mango & Pineapple wine, made right at Turtle Shack by Mark! The special of the day was fajita's, which we all had. There was steak, chicken or a combo, and we all had the Combo! They were OUTSTANDING! Food was great, and the portions large. Beer and wine was 40-60 limps (US$ 2-3), and the fajitas were 150 limps (US$8). Overall WELL worth the price and a nice experience. I would definitely go again, as well as take friends out there! On top of the great food, the boat ride there was picturesque, and a great way to spend the afternoon. Can't wait to come back again

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HandRIslandAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roatan, Honduras
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short Adventure Ride, Great Food and Make New Friends”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Enjoy a little adventure and sightseeing with your lunch plans - bring your camera. Take Jimmy's boat taxi across Oak Ridge Bight & Fiddlers Bight, seeing over the water houses and shops with pull-up boat parking. Pass through little Mangrove tunnels to each of the Bights to arrive at Calabash Bight.

The Turtle Shack has screened in seating overlooking the Bight. Be sure to "Table Hop" and say hello to everyone there! Order your special of the day, sit back chat & enjoy a few beers or try the Homemade Pineapple or Mango Wines. The food is excellent and cooked just right. New specials each week. Have been out 2-3 times and is a perfect get-away for a great afternoon.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RoatanMizLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Turtle Shack also viewed

 

Been to The Turtle Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing