We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Retreat and Great Value”
Stunning Brisa del Mar Villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning Brisa del Mar Villa
The pool and ocean view Trifold doors open to the pool deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Stunning Brisa del Mar Villa
The pool and ocean view
Trifold doors open to the pool deck
Comfortable living room
Dining area and kitchen
Lots of style
Gourmet Kitchen
Master suite #1 with  view and deck
Master suite #1 hammock and deck
Bathroom in master suite #1
Master suite #2
Master suite furnishings
Bathroom master suite #2
Lots of artwork through out
Lush tropical gardens with water features
Unique Balinese carvings
Authentic Honduran wood burning oven.
Full service spa on site
Boat available for charter on site
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Roatan, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FreckledB...
Concord
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Retreat and Great Value”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We (4 adults) stayed at Brisa in March 2015. The place is stunningly beautiful. We loved the Balinese style open air living. We did not have any problems with heat or bugs. There is a moderate breeze (hence Brisa) that cools and keeps bugs away. We never used bug spray but did use the bed netting at night, tucked tightly to secure it from the breeze.The pool is beautiful and refreshing. The reef is teaming with life and a great snorkel (best early in the morning). We never encountered the other renters onsite unless we were in a common area. Privacy is not an issue.

We loved the place so much that we left infrequently. When we eventually ventured out, we took Phil's advice on local restaurants & beaches. We were not disappointed. Having the vehicle at our disposal was key. Cal's for lunch is a must! Locals on the island are very friendly and warm. We felt completely safe.

The Villa is as advertised with many conveniences at no extra cost making this stay a great value: snorkel gear, kayaks, a 4-wheel drive vehicle, bottled water & ice, laundry, WiFi, and others. Transport to/from the airport was extremely easy thanks our driver provided by the Villa. Having talented cooks, housekeeping and security was also a big plus. Meals are very affordable and delicious; we did not cook dinner our entire stay! We did buy some lobster from a local fisherman right off the dock and grilled them up for lunch. Don't miss pizza night! We enjoyed socializing with other renters and the pizza was some of the best we've eaten.

We adored the "Vacation Pets" who were VERY clean and well behaved. They do not stick around so they are not bothersome if you don't like pets. We loved them and couldn't get them to hang around long enough!

There was music playing nearby in the evening (only the weekends) which was a bit of bummer but it is no fault of the owner. We got over that quickly.

We couldn't say enough about the staff! Pearl & Rosa, you kept us well fed! The ribs & shrimp marsala were our favorites. Phil thanks for the recommendation and patience when we messed up the internet :-) Bruce & Niki - thanks for sharing your beautiful place. We have many pieces of your art to remind us daily of our trip. Many islands to see, but we know we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, Value, People
Liked least: Music on weekends
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmz63
Yellowknife, Canada
1 review
“Beautiful home, scenic location”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Pros: Beautiful, clean home. Friendly, attentive staff. Transportation to and from airport. Vehicle provided. Clean linens. Scenic location. Safe, secure feeling. Kayaks provided.

Cons: Do not use laundry service, we had hundreds of dollars worth of clothing completely ruined. Spa was very strange - one manicure was in a lawn chair outside with bugs, the other was laying down in spa room but painful and polish was an absolute mess that had to be removed immediately. Cold shower in one of the rooms. Pool was too cold to use but it may have been the time of year. As it is an open concept structure, including washrooms, you would want to be close to the people you are sharing the house with. There is a catering service and pizza night but you must travel to town to purchase the necessary food. We would gladly have paid more to have the food provided. Provided vehicle broke down and headlights didn't work.

We made the mistake of tipping the staff we dealt with but at the end of our stay were given envelopes to tip staff we didn't know we were supposed to tip. Wish we had been made aware of this upon arrival.

No fault of the owners of the house, but the bugs were horrific. They were so bad it really affected our entire vacation. We have been home for a week and are still scratching and covered in sores.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house worked very well for two couples
Liked least: Laundry service, spa, bugs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam B
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Slice of Heaven!”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Staying here was definitely one of our best travel experiences! The villa is beautiful, has pretty much everything you need, looks like new, and is spotless. The owner's and their son Phillip, who manage the property, clearly want their guests to enjoy their stay. They asked for our feedback on the activities we did and were very helpful in trying to locate my husband's suitcase that was lost on our flight. Plus, for our anniversary our villa was decorated w/ a flower pathway through the villa to a flower strewn bed, w/ candles, and chilled champagne! We hired Rosa to cook two meals, hired their boat charter to snorkel jade beach, used the provided car to explore the nearby towns, and enjoyed the pizza night with the owners and other guests; all of which I would recommend! I also had a nice massage and definitely the best facial I've ever had in the on-site spa (my skin still feels better even three weeks later!). Plus, we loved having our own private pool and place to sun! Finally, what we did the most was snorkel the reef between the docks and kayak out to the bigger reef close by. This place is definitely a hidden gem!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairviews
Swansea, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very unique experience”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed our short stay here, but became kind of bored. Location is secluded and a bit of a drive to find a restaurant or anything else. So glad we had the vehicle to use. The home is well made and the pictures are exactly what it looks like. The pool is great! The kitchen had everything you could need. The showers were pretty cool made from stones with unique lighting. The direct tv was nice. The beds were fine and you definitely had to use the mosquito netting! We were eaten alive. Bites everywhere even using all the spray they provided. The view was nice, but really no beach to speak of. I guess we could have jumped in from the dock, but we didn't. There were kayaks but that looked like a lot of work.
I am not squeamish over lizards, but they were climbing all over the walls. Cats and dogs randomly walked in and out of the house. We didn't mind, except the one wet dog that was stinky wanted to lay in the living room floor. The cat killed a mouse and a lizard and left remains for us. Kind of grossed me out but was funny at the same time! Had Rosa cook one dinner for us. The beef kabobs. The food was excellent! We had to go buy it all though and pay her the$30 plus tip. Food there is very expensive at the grocery store. We bought lobsters from a guy in a little boat one day for 40$ we got like 9 tails. Cooked them ourselves. We had no issues with the house even when it rained very hard. The staff was wonderful! The only thing that bothered me was we were told to fill the vehicle up and keep it full. It was not full when we got it. We spent an extra $50 to fill it first when we got it. We did tell the owners about this, but they do not give receipts at the gas station. Then they kindly asked for a 10+% of your total stay for a tip at the end. The owners did have their driver take us all the way to west bay instead of just to the airport because of the gas issue. We very much enjoyed the property, but 4 days was 1 too many for me because I was bored just laying around.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TorontoPj...
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First Class experience at Brisa Del Mar.”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We are just back from 11 days of heaven at Brisa.
The house is beautifully appointed in a fabulous, secluded location.
We cannot say enough about the staff - they take care of your every need.
Cooking by Rosa & Pearl is sublime. Bruce & Nicky are gracious hosts.
Dove for a week with Tropical Island Divers who also were great.
Again many thanks,
Phil & Patti

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRWest-tr...
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would rather keep this place a secret”
Reviewed 23 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is the kind of place that you don't want to rave too much about for fear of maxed out booking and increased rates. Nevertheless, we feel it deserves the credit.

Brisa was our first venture into the vacation rental space, having stuck to resorts in our previous travels. We left feeling like vacation rentals were the way to go, but would hazard a guess that this was not your typical rental.

Booking was easy and without issue. All of our questions were answered thoroughly and promptly.

We were picked up by the stand-in property manager in the vehicle that was to be ours for the week. He walked us through all of the standard things we needed to know about island and where to go on the island for necessities. He took us to Eldon's market for initial supplies on the way the the villa. Later in the week we tried Hiper Mercado and found Eldon's far superior in selection and quality.

On arrival the villa was all that we expected. It is simply beautiful. Gorgeous view, great pool, spacious bedrooms, and well equipped kitchen. The only criticism we had on the villa amenities was the barbecue. We would have preferred to grill most meals, but the BBQ was difficult to start and had hard to control heat. That being said, the minute we struggled with it, one of the staff appeared to help.

We began to joke that the minute you thought about something, a staff member would mysteriously appear to take care of it. The staff took note of your natural schedule and took care of what they needed to with minimal intrusion. It was almost unnerving.

Despite some potholes and winding roads, we did not find driving on the island difficult. The pre-paid cell phone that is included in the rental also provided an extra sense of security.

With respect to bugs we did not have the same experience as the previous reviewer. That being said we had read their review prior to going and brought a some ant traps that we placed around the kitchen. Also we ran into an American in the grocery store who highly recommended we buy mosquito coils. With both measures and a reasonable coat of bug spray at dusk, we were completely unaffected by bugs. For me in particular this was significant as I am normally eaten alive ( our last trip to Mexico I came back looking like I had chicken pox).

We did not have Rosa in to cook any meals, but we did do a pizza night with Rosa and Jessica. It was the best pizza we've ever had. If you go you MUST do this. We also highly recommend going to Cal's Cantina - great food.

I've saved our most favorite part of Brisa to the end.....the pets. Two of the dogs (Shaya and Tasha) adopted us for the week. As crazy as it may sound they had a big part in making our vacation what it was. They were great company and entertainment. We played coconut fetch, lounged on the deck and settled in during the evenings to watch a movie.

Brisa was the perfect place to slow down, relax and reenergize. Gorgeous.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Pool, breeze, built-in pets
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herchenx
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Incredible place, expect bugs and lizards”
Reviewed 11 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This place is beautiful. The privacy, infinity pool, property, amenities, location, cost, security, staff, everything is great.

This particular villa is definitely not a hotel though. The dozens of geckos that inhabit the inside of the house will chirp and sing all night (they are louder than you would expect)

There were hundreds of very large ants every night in our bedroom. The staff took little action in spite of several calls. This was one of the disappointments with the place. Our friends did not have the large ants in the other suite, it was limited to the eastern half of the house.

In spite of the heebie-geebies, the ants were not on us while we slept and after thoroughly dousing the edges of the bed with bug spray nothing came in the mosquito netting.

There were also very tiny ants all over the kitchen, and one very large, very fast cockroach that lived under the fridge and would shoot out to the door and back periodically.

There are dogs and cats that come into the house. They are friendly but several times one of the labs smelled horribly and we shooshed him away.

The space is very open. If you travel with friends you will hear each other use the restroom, flush and any other noises that come from the bedroom or bathroom will travel around the house at night.

The kitchen is nicely furnished and functional.

We had Rosa cook dinner two nights and she is an incredible cook.

Generally I think they could charge a couple hundred more per week and provide better meal planning instead of insisting you go buy it yourself and that would go a long way. This was another pain point with us. We ended up shopping for food almost every day and would have liked to not do this. They leave it to you to know what you should buy and how much, in spite of being able to provide a list of ingredients.

I would suggest the Hiper Mercado in French Harbor to do your shopping. The property owner took us to some other sketchier store and said it was the best on the island, but the Hiper Mercado was much nicer and had more items.

We hired the driver quite a bit and that was well worth it. You get someone to accompany you during the day if he drives you to the west end and he can make suggestions and let you know if prices are fair on things. Our driver, Derek, really was great. We felt like we learned a lot more about how to get around by having spent time with him.

The reef just off the dock is nice to snorkel, although the current is very strong there and you will have to work to stay over the coral. We tried using the kayaks and snorkeling off them, but the current caused so much trouble we ended up losing grear, paddles, etc. and would have been better off just fighting the current and leaving the kayaks.

You hear a lot of music from Punta Gorda up the coast and night and in the morning. It is recorded "DJ" music, sometimes just drums though, but was loud enough it woke us and kept us up a few times.

The security is good and always around if you need anything. It is a little disconcerting having these guys with guns right around the house, but they were very friendly, never intrusive, and always very helpful.

Having the car was really nice, the first few days we had the driver take us around, but we ended up driving ourselves mid week and in spite of some close calls the driving was find and we felt safe out on our own.

Some nights the breeze was nice, but others the wind was too strong and we had to close all the doors and louvers. Then it would get too hot, then we would use the fan which was loud but kept us cool.

One night it got too cool and we were all chilly. They didn't have blankets beyond the thin sheets on the bed so we cuddled and shivered through the night.

Everything is cash on the property, but the only ATMs are very far away, so bring plenty of cash. There aren't safes, but there are locking cabinets in the rooms. We didn't have anything go missing.

Laundry and cleaning was nice but the clothes are not "spring fresh" when you get them back. They are washed but the smell may or may not be fresh.

We had all the privacy we needed, although people will come around the back of the house to turn off the pool pump and lights, so if you want absolute privacy you will need to learn when to be out and when to expect company.

We settled in and in spite of a number of things we didn't expect we loosened up and really enjoyed the house. It is very beautiful but hopefully this review helps set some correct expectations.

We loved it and would go back in a second.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, staff, view
Liked least: bugs, dogs, cats, bugs, lizards, one cold night, bugs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing