We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal and Excellent Location”

Grand Roatan Beach Club
Ranked #29 of 74 things to do in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Meal and Excellent Location”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stopped in for lunch while out walking the beach. The service was great and the food was among the best we had on the island. My wife and girls had the Lobster Burgers which turned out to be large chucks of lobster served burger style. I had the Garifuna Culture Soup which was a tasty soup chock full of Conch, Shrimp, Fish, and one good sized whole lobster tail. Total bill for 4 with Beers, Sodas, Food, and Tip was around $80. Definitely money well spent. As for the location, it would be tough to find a more beautiful beach to eat lunch and snorkle.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    13
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

While walking the beach we stopped to talk with Herbie the security gaurd who was extremely kind and very knowledgeable with the area. Since the property is relatively new we were invited to stay on the beach and use chairs and umbrellas provided we patronized the bar which we were happy to do. Lunch was fabulous and the service provided by "Tashie" our bartender was friendly and entertaining. We were escorted to Erika by Herbie for a tour of the property later in the day and the place looked amazing. As we were already booked at another location for the duration of our stay we suggested some travelers that were meeting us later in the week adjust their itinerary and stay here. They were extremely happy with the accomodations.
We came back to enjoy an awesome dinner the following night with Fabricio our server who did a wonderful job keeping drinks fresh. Food was excellent and presentation was fabulous.
Looking forward to a stay here in the future.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Needs Work”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful property and location but needs work on how they present themselves. The staff was friendly and tried hard to provide quality service. First- the TV volume was competing with the music. Second- an item that we ordered was forgotten. Third- out of fish taco's but had fried fish sticks. Fourth- seemed like the staff was being trained and was out of sync. We just expected that with this lovely facility and location things should have been better.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely place but count your change $”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stumbled upon Grand Roatan while walking West Bay beach and immediately loved the staff, the beach and the snorkeling. Of our 14 day trip to Roatan, in week 1 we spent 3 separate days here and a few hundred dollars. We loved Ezra, he completely understood service and really went above and beyond. We had a lot of local beer, sea bass (ask for the jalepeno sauce on the side), burgers, shrimp tacos, and the fish sandwich on our various visits. On some days you could use the chairs (depending on capacity at the resort) and on others, we sat in the palapa bar area.
We loved the lit up onyx bar at night and decided to stop in New Years Eve to have a drink. Unfortunately, on this evening, we were intentionally shorted changed when paying. After confronting the young male bartender re: the change he said “Oh, I thought you were having more drinks” and when we said “NO, we asked for the bill to pay and paid which means we’re done” he begrudgingly gave us our $4 back. Ironically, that same evening they had a wonderful singer, Angela, for entertainment and we had given her a $5 tip --so it wasn’t about the $4. I was so upset at the dishonesty (knowing we’d come here on multiple occasions and had a great experience) that I spoke with the female Manager on duty. My husband and I both felt the young bartender had intentionally tried to cheat us and we’d not experienced that in Roatan at all so we were both very upset and went home for the evening not celebrating New Years on the beach. Although I really wanted to go back and discuss the incident with Ezra (because he was not working the night of New Years and I felt he should know what happened), I just couldn’t get over the intentional theft so we did not visit Grand Roatan again. I hope the employee was reprimanded or no longer working for Grand Roatan but my advice when visiting here, always count your change and get a copy of your bill. Although a very nice resort, employees ripping off customers will sour the experience immensely.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank vacationloverOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Grand???”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

stopped over for a visit as its in a cool location. snack we ordered was very average and took quite some time. looks beutiful but you walk away scratching your head.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank russ c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grand Roatan Beach Club also viewed

Roatan, Bay Islands
 

Been to Grand Roatan Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing