We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Beach Roatan

Palm Beach Roatan
Ranked #42 of 73 things to do in Roatan
Attraction details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Bad:
You have to pay $5 to get into the beach, then walk a long distance to get to the location. The beach is very shallow and full of grass. Not good for snorkeling. Reef is not close to the beach it is several hundred yards away. Drinks are the most expensive on the island. The shore is full of sharp coral and shells.

The Good:
There is a new pavilion and bar with live music. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Plenty of shade from cabanas and the sandy beach away from the shore is groomed and pleasant.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank IslandBound2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    9
    1
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Violence in Roatan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Us cruisers LIVE in a wonderful world in which of course never think that something so terrible is going to happen...but if that's the case why go on a cruise ship??? Every port if call is full of robbers, every port of call has violence and I'm sure is not as safe as they make it to be in the brouchures. Do your homework, track the business. Every business has a bad day. Possibly that day was Christophers, but based on their reviews, this company goes far beyond everyone's expectatives. They rank 5 stars among many cruisers. Everyone that has gone and used them speak wonders, so are we really gonna penalized the company for having one issue after 15 yrs in the business?...I'm worried but having the owner called me personally to assure me what the security on port is doing, what is his company doing to protect their cruisers, gives me somehow a peace of mind. We live in US when sometimes going to the movies has ended up with many of us killed, i live on Miami, considered the #2 most violent city in the states. Again do the homework, hope for another "bad" day not to happen and try to enjoy. and I'm really sorry for the family that went thru this horrible experience. Blessings to all.

Helpful?
8 Thank yami r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
233 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Seclusion and excellence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I found this beach via Tripadvisor when looking for a non-commercialized beach on Roatan and found this little piece of paradise! Juan our driver took us here and we had it to ourselves! The guys walked over to the little island and snorkeled. They jumped off the pier and we watched a local climb a tree and get us coconuts, open them for us to drink the fresh water out and then enjoy the meat of the coconut! Fabulous! They are expanding their bar area so there were workers there but they did not bother us one bit. It was so beautiful there.
Would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to get off the beaten track and have a little quiet time. And get Juan to drive you around to sight see, he was wonderful! The only tiny little draw back…sand flies…they bite, leave a red mark and were gone the next day…I used bug spray but I think not the right kind..need more of a mosquito type spray. If you are in the water most of the time, then you do not have to worry about them. And they do not itch…good thing too.
Check this place out!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgal1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We got robbed at gun and knife point there!!! Gun to my 15 year old sons head...knife to 16 year old son! They took everythin”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Pretty beach. Totally not safe! ! We were taken there by on an excursion that we booked through shore excursions.com. The local provider was Christopher tours. After eco tour and zip lining at South Side....which was awesome, we were taken to Palm Beach. There was only one other family there which see seemed strange. We left after about an hours because we were earen up with bug bites. On the drive way out of the resort 2 men shot out the tire of our cab. They held a gun to my sons head and a knife to my other sons throat. They took everything we had... .money, debit card ,3 cell phones ,2 cameras and our clothes. Don't go!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
16 Thank MicheleMayeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoVA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Getaway from the tourists!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Thanks to previous reviewers, we found this gem...a complete hideaway from the tourists and crowds. We arranged transportation ahead of time through excursionsroatan.com...totally worth the $25pp...the driver tells you a little about the island, its history, people and culture. He will do whatever you want (though offer some advice). We just wanted to go to the scenic overlooks and the beach club...no shopping. Our driver tried to talk us into going to West Bay, complaining about beach flies at Palm Beach. We are glad we stuck to our guns. Cesar was a consummate host, serving us great food and beverage...and lending us bug spray. It ended up being fine...I did not go in the water and had no bites...our 7yo did play in the sand at the water line and got bit, but they weren't itchy, so she wasn't bothered.

Otherwise, the beach was huge, and we practically had the place to ourselves. The little island was an easy swim over...though it is too rocky to walk on without water shoes/socks (which we didn't have). Husband and daughter had fun jumping off the long pier, too. Everything was clean -- beach, pier, water, restaurant, bathrooms... We have absolutely NO complaints and would definitely come here again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank numberonueve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palm Beach Roatan also viewed

 

Been to Palm Beach Roatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing