We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must for your bucket list!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolphin Encounter

Dolphin Encounter
Ranked #18 of 72 things to do in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A must for your bucket list!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

By far the CHEAPEST dolphin excursion I have found (someone else wrote a review that it was expensive, really, $109???) It's VERY cheap !!! They spend about 10 quick minutes taking fantastic photos of you and the dolphin which you can buy for about $55. Worth it.... the pictures were GREAT and they took about 12. If you factor in the cheap cost of the excursion itself, the cost of the pictures still make it inexpensive. So anyway, you learn lots of fun facts while standing is waist high crystal clear water. The dolphin is passed by you many times for petting. You even get to run your fingers over their teeth. The dolphin then shows off some fancy moves for you and does a few tricks. It was an incredible day. The bay where the encounter is located is beautiful. They have free lockers that the LOCK your things in. I can't imagine giving it less than 5 stars. P.S. Our dolphins name was Maury, she and her entire dolphin family all live there and seem very happy

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank tamrabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    28
    14
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good show”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is the premier dolphin research center in the world. All proceeds go to research. You can just watch, or you can swim with them. Great folks. They are located in Anthony's Key dive resort.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ednenid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good for Kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Went to dolphin encounter while in Honduras. There was a bit of a wait before taking a boat ride to the island. They have lockers for your belongings and allow you to take photos at the end. Nice facility. The picture packages were over price. We didn't have any kids on the trip and just wanted one photo. Can't do it. Had to buy two. Marketing at its best. Staff were all great and friendly. Nice facility. Great for kids. We had other families with us on the trip and the kids enjoyed it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DCARDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We signed up for swimming with dolphins as well as the encounter but the waves and weather didn't cooperate so had to stick with encounter only. Amazing experience. Well organized and educational. I'm generally not a big fan of caging animals just so that we humans can exploit them, but these dolphins were as well treated as they could have been. They had far more room than I've seen at other dolphin encounter places and seemed engaged and "happy." A once in a lifetime experience.

Helpful?
Thank Paulagrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was well organized and a great way to interact with dolphins in their environment. The trainers were very knowledgeable. You got to spend a lot of time in the beautiful water with the dolphins.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CHH4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Encounter also viewed

 

Been to Dolphin Encounter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing