We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!!”
Review of Mango Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mango Creek Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Mango Creek is a truly amazing place and a great adventure starting with BJ's Bar in Oak Ridge where we waited to be picked up. We had a few beers and a great time there visiting with the ex pats and locals and BJ herself. We traveled by boat to the lodge, colorful cabanas over the water with lovely wooden interiors and furniture. Beautiful setting , beautiful property , lovely people who own it. We did not come to fish, although they do a lot of that there, but we did snorkle and one day went to Pigeon Cay for swimming and snorkling with lunch prepared and served on the beach by Dalia the most amazing cook. Seriously, some of the best food we experienced on the island. French toast made with bread she had made the night before, coconut shrimp with the coconut fresh off the tree, I could go on and on about the food it was that good. Terry and Patrice are great hosts and such interesting people. They really make you feel like part of the family. The few days we spent there were so relaxing. Eastern Roatan is so beautiful. If you get the chance don't miss Mango creek. Well worth it .

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara94941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Mango Creek Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

This place is amazing! We visited in the middle of january and the weather was perfect. Terry picks you up at the airport personally. You then have a scenic drive to the town of Oakridge where you can grab a beer at BJ's for your boat ride to Mango Creek. As you arrive via boat at MC all your troubles seem to disappear instantly. This place takes your breath away. The pictures online do not do it justice. As we walked into our over-the-water bungalow all we could do was shake our heads and keep say "amazing". The bungalow was handcrafted, clean, nicely decorated, and comfortable. The view from the deck is simply increadible. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are prepared with local fresh food. Guest staying at MC eat together which really turned out to be cool. We met some fascinating people from all over the world. MC has ample supplies of beer, wine and mixed drinks. For fun we went spin fishing with Michael. We caught a lot of fish including barracuda, tuna, mackerel and needlefish. It is obvious Michael is passionate about fishing and making sure we have have a good time (which we did). Definitely see Pigeon Beach for some snorkeling..its outstanding. Also, make time to take out the kayaks and do some snorkeling on your own. Our last day was spent on a private beach (just the two of us) snorkeling, swimming, hanging out and drinking beer. Prior to heading out on the kayaks we told Terry we would not be back for lunch. To our surpirse he had a boat deliver lunch to us! The amount of care Terry and Patrice put into their guests, environment and treatment of their staff (and families) is truly rare. There is no place in the world that would treat you better. From the staff to the scenic view (day and night), this place is worth every dollar. We have a rule to never visit the same place twice - to many places to see in the world. However, since visiting MC we decided this rule does not apply to them... We actually HAVE to go back to!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the over-the-water bungalows.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nelken1542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

"Mi casa es su casa." This phrase cannot ring any truer than at Mango Creek Lodge. Owners, Terry & Patrice, make you feel like part of the family as soon as you get picked up by boat to head over to Mango Creek Lodge. Their eco-friendly lodge sits on 26 acres of land - full of exotic fruit trees and flowers, which Terry will personally lead you through and educate you on everything. The cabanas were designed by Terry himself, and built with the help of locals to maximize ventilation for Roatan's climate. They are thoughtfully designed with beautifully carved wooden doors and decorated in laminated furniture all of which was made locally. All linens were clean and beds comfortable.
Terry and Patrice employ an extended Roatan family, all of whom are friendly and overly accomodating. Michael took my husband and I over to the mangroves one day for some kayaking. Joevy boated us to the west end of the island for another tour. We had the privilege (all included) of taking Hobie kayaks out at ANY time: Lime Key has one of the best reefs we've been to and it was only 5 min away! We snorkeled over to Calf and Cow - 2 small islands surrounded by more beautiful reefs. Terry and Patrice welcomed us everyday for a mid-afternoon boat trip where we would all get into their boat along with their 2 dogs and head out to one of many small islands for a guided snorkle trip - it was such a treat!
My husband and I paid for a full-day's fishing trip with Michael, who went out early fly fishing with my husband, came back for breakfast and to pick me up, fished for a few hours before heading over to Pigeon Cay for lunch, and then fished for as long as the sun would let us. We caught 9 different species of fish - 9! (bonefish, snook, tarpon, Spanish mackeral, bluefin tuna, red snapper, barracuda, triggerfish, horse eyed jack). Where else can you do that?!?!
Trust me - you will eat better at Mango Creek than you will in your own home. The fruit is fresh, the vegetables are wonderfully seasoned, and the meats/fish are of the highest quality! Their cook, Dahlia, has many helpers to make your vacation's menu delicious. The fridge is always packed with sodas, beers, wines, and vanilla-flavored ice tea or lemonade. All of the male employees are more than happy to accomodate your request for a fresh coconut.
Although they employ excellent staff, Terry and Patrice are always around and accessible for questions or just to talk. They stayed up late one night teaching my husband and I how to play Frackle, a game they used to play on their sailboat. We were lucky to be there when Patrice's sister, Kathy, also came for a week's visit. Kathy is down-to-earth with great people skills and made us feel very much at home. She was happy to share her sister with us despite only seeing her a couple times every year.
So book a flight; fly to Roatan, and stay Mango Creek Lodge. Just go!

Room Tip: Overwater cabanas are such a unique way to spend you vacation.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexandraP908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I spent a day fly fishing with the guides out of the lodge. They were kind enough to let my girlfriend spend the day at the lodge while I was out on the boat. The guides were very knowledgeable and knew how to fly fish, many of the guides on the island are excellent fisherman but do not have fly fishing experience. My guide Michael put me on hundreds of bonefish. The catch rate was low mostly due to the weather (30 mph winds and on/off rain) putting the bite off. They picked us up in Port Royal, stopped at the lodge for breakfast and off for a long day of fishing. The limited experience I had with the food was excellent, fresh fruit and the best coconut French toast I’ve ever had. My girlfriend went on for days on how comfortable she felt spending the day at the lodge. They have single room cabanas that are set on stilts over the water. Terry and Patrice are some of the kindest people I’ve met and have the great stories to tell about their travels around the world. They have kayaks that can be taken out to the nearby reefs for arguably the best snorkeling on the island. We will be staying here for an extended time next time we come to Roatan.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenais3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Wife and I taxied to Oakridge and were met by our guide, Captain Kessel, for 3 days in March. Very good fishing...Very Good. Guides are first class. Fishery is exceptional. Mango Creek is a bit of a trek, but well worth the effort. Pristine at that end of Roatan. We've travelled the Caribbean fishing and diving for 30 years. Mango Creek is small and lovely. Owners, staff, location, fishing, are like it was back in the day. Surrounding towns on the waterfront, the mountains coming up to the edge of the sea, the color and structure of the water, reefs, soft and hard corals and flats are all outstanding. We loved it all, and will be back to stay at Mango Creek next time....hopefully, soon!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at Mango Creek Lodge for a week in February and had a wonderful time! We took the kayaks out several times, there are great places to kayak around the lodge and we also went to the mangroves. We also did quite a bit of snorkeling, again there are some nice spots very near the lodge. However, the snorkeling is awesome off of Pigeon Cay and the beach is wonderful too! My husband spent a day fishing with one of the guides and caught several fish, one big Jack. Just being out in the boat was fun, getting to take a look at the islands. The staff at Mango Creek was very welcoming and helpful, and the food was delicious. The cabanas are great. Being able to listen to the waves while drifting off to sleep is the perfect end to the day.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The fishing is very, very good here! I have never seen so many tailing bones and permit in my life. The guide Perry, is quite skilled at coaching you to best present the fly. The people at Mango Creek Lodge are very friendly and helpful. And, the food is excellent. Would recommnend Mango Creek to all.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
21.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
12.0 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
610 reviews
18.7 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#1 of 9 in West End
598 reviews
7.4 mi away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
346 reviews
20.0 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Creek Lodge

Address: N/a | Port Royal, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Roatan
Price Range: £249 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Creek Lodge is the premier eco resort of Roatan. Located in secluded Port Royal, Mango Creek Lodge offers superb saltwater fly-fishing, angling, diving, snorkeling, hiking and kayaking in Roatan’s East End. Our over-the-water cabanas offer guests a private piece of paradise. Each cabana is furnished with a queen sized and single bed and opens up onto a private dock overlooking the Caribbean. We offer all inclusive packages and nightly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mango Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Creek Hotel Roatan
Mango Creek Lodge Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing