We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I can't wait to return!”
Review of Mango Creek Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mango Creek Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ardsley, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I can't wait to return!”
Reviewed 11 January 2011

If you know how to have fun and appreciate natural beauty and unparalleled hospitality, you might love Mango Creek Lodge as much as we did. This is truly an eco-resort, complete with their own wind generator and composting toilets....which my family views as positives....but for those of you whose dream vacation is a Westin Hotel....maybe you should go elsewhere. This is a place for someone looking for something so much more and better. We've traveled extensively in the USVI and Central America and this place is a keeper.

While a previous reviewer dished out disparaging remarks about the owners, Terry and Patrice are genuinely the warmest, most fun and hospitable hosts I could imagine. We were fast friends. We happily shared our meals with them (our choice)....and would've been disappointed if we didn't. The dining hall / common area is very comfortable....full of games....there's a big screen tv with an endless variety of movie dvds.

Patrice and Terry arrange for you to go snorkeling every afternoon, if you'd like to....with many pristine reefs to choose from. They outfit you with wetsuits and snorkel gear....really nice stuff. Elsewhere, outings like this would be considered "excursions" and would cost....but it's just part of the daily routine. While there were swells during part of the week we were there, Patrice and Terry were excited when the weather calmed and they were able to arrange for us to go to Pidgeon Cay....an empty, beautiful, itty bitty island 18 miles away with superb snorkeling, for a full day with a delicious packed picnic lunch.

While it's true that MCL specializes in fishing....we were not from the fisherman. Another family there at the same time were veteran fly fishermen.....out by 6AM, back by 6PM.
Still....we managed to make alot of fun. They have fabulous catamarans and beautiful kayaks that can be pedaled or paddled. Our son got SCUBA certified by Lief...a local divemaster who was superb....and we did a fair amount of relaxing. It can be tough to decide between the hammock and the chair swing...but that's the toughest decision you'll have to make during your stay.

Oh...and about the food. True, there are no menus....and a tremendous amount of food is constantly being prepared for you....whether you're hungry or not----but that's not a bad thing. We had our share of dietary preferences and allergies....and all were accommodated. The food was delicious....and we appreciate good food.

And....after a rough day of sailing and snorkeling and swinging on the hammock....there's always before dinner cocktail hour(s). The bar is free and open....and, it's true, you have to prepare your own drinks....but we were perfectly delighted with the arrangement.
Usually I'm ready to go home by the end of vacation....but not this time. I wish we could've stayed longer, and am still reminiscing about the fabulous time we had. We will definitely be returning....and we look forward to sharing more great times with Terry and Patrice.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hil-from-ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    12
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
76
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ardsley, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2011

A very small resort only accessible by the Owner's boat. The cabanas built on stilts over the calm water are dream- like. My wife and I stayed in one cabana our teenage kids shared the other. The units are very large and have a bathroom with shower.The snorkeling is great. colorful coral, no bleaching, clear water ,colorful fish, rays, lobsters eels.Small sailboats and foot powered ocean kayaks available for our use.A picnic trip to a tiny perfect cay 18 miles away was the highlight. The staff was wonderful and patient as we tried live bait fishing with great success.The food was great and plentiful no charge for cocktails before dinner. We like the Owners Terry and Patrice best.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_from_NY55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We spent 9 days at MCL and can't rave enough about the location, stunning scenery, snorkelling and scuba diving. We booked on eco-packages and added 6 scuba dives and 2 fishing trips after we arrived.

We were at MCL as part of our honeymoon and spent most of our time relaxing, taking out the kayaks and scuba diving with the Padi Instructor called Leif who was excellent. All the equipment snorkelling and kayaking equipment was freely available whenever we wanted it and of top quality. We really liked the relaxed dining and bar arrangements and Daliah and Bridgeth, the cooks russled up some excellent food including a wide variety of veggie options. (I'm vegetarian)

There were a couple of aspect that weren't as we'd expected and if they're important to you, you might like to know in advance, they chiefly relate to general organisation and may have been addressed since we visited...

MCL is foremostly a fishing lodge, the additional of scuba is recent and we experienced some teething problems with the logistics of sending out fishing and scuba groups simultaneously e.g. on several occassions we had to delay due to the lack of a boat/driver. Secondly, the lodge was fully booked for part of our stay which seems to be rare and both the owners and staff seemed overstretched under those circumstances. Co-ordinating a large number of activities for various groups repeatedly ended in confusion and as time went on this was a mounting source of frustration.

In spite of these frutrations we did have a very good time. Terry and Patrice genuinely seemed to be doing their best to make us welcome and MCL does offer personal touches that large resorts can't compete with. Every day Patrice would offer to take us snorkelling and show us the best spots and we had the opportunity to help with the Lodge's conche preservation project which was great fun.

As honeymooners everyone understood that we wanted the trip to be extra-special so on our last evening Patrice set up a private dining table on the roof of the boathouse and had a special starlit dinner.

Overall we would recommend Mango Creek Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayleyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2010

A friend and myself visited MCL for fishing destination, arriving Saturday pm and departing following Thursday midday. We fished Sunday thru Wednesday with excellent guide, Perry, in weather conditions that were less than favorable. Perry still managed to locate numerous bonefish, enabling our less than professional fishing skill levels numerous opportunities to hook up. I found MCL to be very interesting and enjoyable, loaded with developed natural beauty and numerous activities available for non-fisher folks. This place is not the Ritz Carlton, and I don't believe it is meant to be, but the facilities were well maintained, clean and comfortable. It is extremely well done as a remote, off the beaten path, destination. The food is not gourmet, but certainly exceeds normal lodge fare, prepared and served by friendly staff that exhibit genuine concern about the comfort and enjoyment of their guests. The atmosphere is laid back and very friendly.
I was very impressed with the attention paid to environmental concerns. We plan on returning.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrymcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2010

Spent a week at this "eco-lodge" snorkeling, kayaking and sailing to our hearts content. What a beautiful place! The cabana's over the water are charming - spent many blissful hours on our private waterfront porch, reading and enjoying the tropical breezes. Patrice and Terry, the owners/managers and their staff offered just the right amount of attention and allowances for our privacy. I wanted to pack up the cook and bring her home with us - she turned even the most seemingly ordinary ingredients into a feast. Fresh seafood, tropical fruits in abundance. Maybe the family style dining isn't for everyone, but we loved the camraderie that developed with the owners and other guests over the week. It is isolated - this is no Club Med so wouldn't recommend it if nightlife is your thing. My favorite evening memory was standing on the boathouse rooftop patio after an outstanding dinner with my honey and looking up at the most incredible sky full of stars. Very romantic! We didn't fish but the guests who did came in everyday with smiles and fish tales. Our favorite thing was to take the kayaks out to the reef and go snorkling where no one else was! No cattle boats of clumsy tourists to muck up the water here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coralreefers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honduras
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2010

My husband and I spent 2 nights at MCL and regretted every penny. I will say this: Terry and Patrice, the owners, are very kind and friendly people. That is the one thing the place has going for itself.

Because we lived on the island of Roatan at the time, the owners gave us the “local” rate, which was $75 per person per night. For the 2 of us to stay there, that’s $150 per night, and even though it was discounted for prices like that we were obviously expecting a certain quality of service.

First of all, meals: although Terry told us while we were staying there that they “don’t skimp on meals”, and that this fact makes the price worth is, that just is not the case. True, portions are large. However, there are no meal options, no menu, and you do not decide when you’d like to eat. Our plates were set out whether we were at the table or even in the dining room or not. Our first meal was a glorified mac and cheese with ham in it; while I was mid-bite Patrice, who was talking about the potluck they’d had with the neighbors for Christmas, proudly announced, “That’s leftover Christmas ham you’re eating!” !! Most of the meals were casserole-type dishes or stir-fry over rice; we were served the same meal twice in the 2 nights that we stayed there. Our first morning we were served very good pineapple pancakes, HOWEVER, our second morning there, my husband had just stepped out onto our deck and I was still in bed when Patrice literally yelled across the small bay—I guess it would have been too inconvenient to send staff or walk to our door herself—anyway she yelled to us that if we wanted anything for breakfast later than 8am it would have to be cold cereal! Cold cereal, for $150 a night? Also, don’t expect any type of ambiance in the dining department—unless you consider a huge mess “ambiance”. For one thing we were expected to take meals with the owners—not just at the same time, but at the same table. They made it clear that they expected us to sit with them, which definitely detracted from the romantic getaway we were hoping for! When we did finally work up the courage to express a desire to sit separately they looked hurt, they kept trying to hold conversations with us anyway—again, we really liked how friendly they were, but we just wanted a little privacy for sweet newlywed talk!—and we had to whisper to keep from being heard. Aside from the lack of privacy, the dining room had a “camp” feel to it, nothing at all what you’d expect for the prices you’ll pay here, and it was very messy: clear Tupperware boxes stacked everyway, containers of partially-used Christmas decorations out and opened, stacks of various sundry, etc. There was only music when my husband turned it on. During meals we had to get up for our own drinks or drink refills (powdered beverages, except fresh juice with breakfast), even going back into the kitchen for a cup of coffee or glass of water. Our second morning there we asked for a second cup of coffee, and Terry said that they’d have to make a fresh pot, but for $150/night we felt entitled to a second cup; I’m not sure if he added a scoop of coffee grinds to what was already in the filter or not, either way it was obvious that he only ran more water through the already-used-grinds, and it tasted so terrible that we couldn’t drink it anyway.

As for accommodations: unless you intend to spend all day every day either snorkeling, kayaking—the scenery is beautiful—, or fishing (which costs extra), expect to be very bored. There is no pool or spa (although the cook supposedly gives very good massages, but at a price higher than what was posted online),and there is nothing to do in the room, not even a TV/DVD player, although they have DVDs available to watch in the dining hall (don’t expect any privacy, the owners were watching a movie on that TV our second night there). Board games are also offered in the dining hall. The hammocks on the decks are riddled with sand flies, so the mental image I had of taking a nice long nap swinging in the hammock never materialized; Terry and Patrice said they don’t spray out of concern for the environment, but there are organic pesticides available. Also, our first night there the bed had many bugs on it, several on the pillows—not bed bugs, just bugs that fly around outdoors.

Although the room is adequate, the bathroom has a composting toilet. This is a separate discussion altogether. First of all, you have to stand on a step to mount the massive throne. The step is narrow, so my husband did have a little trouble with #1, since he couldn’t get his feet far enough apart on the tiny step. Secondly, you’re supposed to pour a scoop of the peet into the pot after use. The stuff is messy and gets all over the seat, when I brushed it off of course it got on the floor, on the bathmat, etc. Yuck. Thirdly, big surprise, now the bathroom smells like #1, #2, AND dirt. Awesome. They told us not to turn the handle that empties the barrel holding the toilet’s contents, that “housekeeping” would do that. Housekeeping didn’t, so we did, and after turning the handle a ton of mosquitoes flew out of our toilet right into our screened room, so even though it stopped smelling our room was then full of toilet mosquitoes!

Our first night and morning there we had no hot water in, apparently there was a problem with the solar water heater. We mentioned it at breakfast, and afterward went back to our room for married couple R&R, and Terry chose that moment to come check on the water heater—I understand he didn’t want to do it while we were out of our room at breakfast, since he was having breakfast at the same time as us, but could he have possibly waited until we were out snorkeling or kayaking? On his way to check the water heater he tracked mud all over our room since it had been raining. When we got to dinner that night I finally asked if Patrice could possibly send someone to clean our room; whoever went to “clean” our room pulled up the covers on the bed and changed the bag in the trashcan: no fresh towels (even though the bathmat was covered in peet), and they didn’t sweep or turn the toilet handle. Twice my husband had to go to another cabana to find more toilet paper for us; that’s what Patrice told us to do if we ran out.

Internet is not available in the cabanas or dining hall. Terry said he was working on installing some sort of network, but it was not available when we were there. To use internet, we had to hike up to “the lodge”. Do not be deceived: what they call “the lodge” is actually their private home, although they were staying in one of the cabanas while we were there to keep an eye on the boathouse. At “the lodge”, we could use internet in “the office”—Terry’s private office, which happens to be a hugely cluttered mess.

If you are in a financial position to pay ridiculously high prices and don’t mind being treated like jr. high summer campers, then this place is for you. Between the bugs, the deplorable excuse for “service”, the lack of privacy or ambiance, the boredom, and the uncomfortable accommodations, this is not at all the luxury resort you will be charged for. I highly recommend Paya Bay; although we’ve never stayed the night there, we were treated very well during our day trip there, the grounds are lovely, the prices are better, the food is great, the accommodations look comfortable, and the service is terrific.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank walk500more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Dalles, Oregon
Level Contributor
327 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2009

Mango Creek Lodge attracted our attention as a flyfishing destination. My husband enjoyed a day of guided fishing with their excellent guide, Perry, and fished on his own for several more days, mostly for bonefish. Our over-the-water cabin was beautiful with lots of wood carvings, a beautiful bathroom, and a comfortable bed. The food was very good; we ate all of our meals with the owners and managers in the main lodge. They arranged a day of diving for me with nearby Reef Resort; the highlights there were seeing my 1st seahorse and their wonderful divemaster, David.

All inclusive isn't our favorite style of travel but we were very impressed with every feature of this place.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopefulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
21.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
12.0 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
18.8 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.6 mi away
Paya Bay Resort
Paya Bay Resort
#17 of 41 in Roatan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
21.2 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Creek Lodge

Property: Mango Creek Lodge
Address: N/A | Port Royal, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Creek Lodge is the premier eco resort of Roatan. Located in secluded Port Royal, Mango Creek Lodge offers superb saltwater fly-fishing, angling, diving, snorkeling, hiking and kayaking in Roatan’s East End. Our over-the-water cabanas offer guests a private piece of paradise. Each cabana is furnished with a queen sized and single bed and opens up onto a private dock overlooking the Caribbean. We offer all inclusive packages and nightly rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mango Creek Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Creek Hotel Roatan
Mango Creek Lodge Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing