We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet remote location”
Review of Paya Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paya Bay Resort
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

If you are looking for a remote location that is nice and quiet, Paya Bay may be for you.
With any resort we feel the staff working there either make it or break it for the guests. We found the staff we met at this small family run resort to be exceptional. Jose, Evelyn, Meerna and Winnie we found all to be very friendly, helpful and enjoyed our conversations with them.
Having sold travel for a couple years I know travelling in October is a gamble with it being hurricane season and all. We have won the gamble the last few years but this year we lost as the weather was not the greatest. You can't let it get you down though and you make the best of what you have or your vacation is ruined.
We found the BUGS [ sand flies] to be horrendous. Talking to different people they are all over the island. My wife had a reaction to them and the bites were very irritating to her. Should you go take "OFF" Benadryl and Lanacaine in case you have a reaction.
Bliss Beach at Paya Bay is very private and a great area should you want no tanlines when they have their c/o weeks. There are many trails on the property and you can get some great views of the sunsets.
The people of the Island are very warm and friendly. We walked 3 km on the main road to the east to Camp Bay and about 4 km to the west and at all times felt safe. People passing you on the road would either say hello or wave or honk from their vehicle. We took some soccer balls, pens, paper, markers, crayons etc and handed them out to the kids. The soccer balls were a huge hit.
One thing that concerns me on the Island is the amount of litter, mainly plastic and glass bottles along with other debris that washes up on shore. I don't think the Honduran people realize how lucky they are to have such beautiful beaches.
For the past 4 years we have generally gone to c/o resorts in the Caribbean and Mexico and there are some we haven't tried. We would like to go back to Paya Bay but it would definitely be a different time of the year. Should you have any questions please feel free to email me.

Room Tip: If you like the waves pounding the rocks all night ask for a cliffside room. If not ask for somethin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2fromthewack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at Paya Bay for the first two nights of our 7 night vacation to Roatan Sept. 24th & 25th. They picked us up at the airport (Jose is awesome), took us to the Super Mercado on the way to the property, and basically provided alot of history and information along the way. As previously stated, the property is in a pretty remote location - don't think you are getting anywhere without a car! It is very beautiful and different than the West End of the Island. We stayed in a cliffside room which is a must if you are here - the room was clean and very comfortable. The grounds are large, and Bliss Beach was very nice. In general, the beaches were not "raked" while we were there which makes the sand fleas pretty unbearable - take lots of deet with you! We only ate in the dining room once - food was very good and reasonably priced. Drinks, on the other hand, we out-rageously priced - stop along the way and bring it with you!! Tom also offered to take us on a sunset cruise one evening to La Sirena - a cool little bar a couple miles away and that was very fun. They also arranged transportation for us and a mangrove tour to "hole in the wall" for the Sunday Lobster/Steak buffet which was OUTSTANDING!! My only minor complaint is what they charged us to pick up to/from the airport ($60) and get us to/from Oak Ridge for the tour ($40) - I felt it was very high for the mileage.

Overall - I don't need to go back - been there, done that, but if you want to experience the East End of the island - Paya bay is worth checking out.

Room Tip: Cliffside is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dworl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We were previewing hotels to bring our groups from the states (www.exploreguatemala.com). Playa Bay was extremely accommodating and the owners/managers were on site at all times attending to guests. The rooms were very nice, and we had one hanging right out over the water - great view and sound of waves at night. The food was fair but the atmosphere was friendly and "family like". The property itself was the most spectacularly situated we have seen in Honduras. With a property this large (I think around 23 acres) it is difficult, at best, to keep it as manicured as some would like, although the walks throughout were beautiful, full of great ocean views, and fun to explore. Also, this is the tropics and it is hard to keep up with maintenance being right on the water - I think they do the best job possible, considering all this. It is a lovely place with lovely owners and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrahamBlaikie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

A family-owned and operated full service resort on the northeast side of Roatan, with several beautiful beaches, snorkeling at several sites accessible from shore or many more by boat, nearby hiking and running trails, kayaking, etc, and a lovely breezy restaurant with excellent food and beverages. Access to Pigeon Caye and other Channel Islands is available by arrangement, as are mangrove swamp explorations by boat. Daily yoga and spa services are also available. Hospitality is as warm as the climate, and special events are available -- including introduction to and entertainment by the Garifuna, among the first occupants of Roatan. Naturists are welcomed during specified weeks and and locales that make their presence not uncomfortable for more conservative guests. We had a wonderful time --rented a car, but did not need it -- and would certainly go again.

Room Tip: Ask directly for the most comfortable room and describe your wishes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lenalidomide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This was our second time at Paya Bay. We planned a second cruise on NCL because the itinerary included Roatan and we wanted to go to Paya Bay again. Then my daughter and her now husband were choosing a Honeymoon and we recommended cruise which included the opportunity to enjoy Paya Bay. They couldn't have been more happier! Said it was the highlight of the entire honeymoon. Jose met them at the ship, as he has met us in the past, took us to the resort where Lurlene and her family and staff treated us like family. We had a lovely room for the day to shower and change, we enjoyed exploring the property, friends that were with us did some snorkeling, we bathed in the sea and sun, had a fabulous lobster lunch then were taken back to the ship part way by motor boar and part by mini van. That way we got to see some additional scenery. We love Paya Bay and will return over and over again

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chicagocamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Thank you Paya Bay for the amazing stay, and for having my bikini top (that I'd left behind) so kindly delivered to the west end of the island (AKR). It was a great surprise and a very big gesture of kindness. I will never forget you or my stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HaydenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My husband and I spent a week here in early June. Paya Bay is a lovely resort, the staff are all, without exception, marvelous people. The food was great. We loved the snorkeling trips with Tommy and the driving trip with Jose, hunting down geocaches. I cannot remember when I enjoyed a vacation so much. We are actively trying to organize a trip with family and friends for next year. My husband and I both miss our morning fruit plate and huge breakfasts at the table by the hummingbird feeder. What a peaceful, beautiful place in the world! Thank you Paya Bay!

Room Tip: All rooms have a terrific view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank djwhatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
21.9 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
20.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
604 reviews
7.9 mi away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandy Bay
214 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
272 reviews
21.7 mi away
Paradise Beach Hotel
Paradise Beach Hotel
#4 of 14 in West Bay
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paya Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Bay Resort

Address: Main Highway, East End, Roatan 00000, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range: £123 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paya Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paya Bay Beach Resort is Roatan's Ultimate Escape. Located on the pristine east end, it is Roatan's premier boutique hotel. Perched atop a bluff with private beaches on each side, Paya Bay features 10 uniquely designed rooms and an amazing restaurant. Paya Bay's on-site dive operation, Dive Roatan, specializes in underwater tours and training for one to ten divers. Paya Bay also offers: flats fishing, boat tours, hiking and of course relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Paya Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Bay Hotel Roatan
Paya Bay Beach Dive Hotel
Paya Bay Beach Dive Resort
Paya Bay Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing