We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”
Review of Paya Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Paya Bay Resort
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Sadly, reviewers cannot give half stars - we would actually given Paya Bay 4 1/2 stars. The only hitch, but one that set the tone of the stay was a failure for the hotel shuttle to pick us up at the airport. When we tried to call the hotel they had the wrong phone number on our email confirmation as well as the tourist brochures at the airport. We finally decided to take a cab - fares ranged from $40 - $55. We found a nice driver who let us stop at a grocery store for liquor and snacks. It would have been nice had Paya Bay offered to pick up or split the cab - they didn't. Other than that, all else was great. We had a nice room overlooking the sea cliff - great views, breeze and sounds. The food was very good - better than what we had in town. The entire staff was excellent. The snorkeling trips were great and a cold beer at sunset was the perfect way to end the day. I like the fact that they have a beach for every taste - clothed, topless or nude - no one cramps anyone else's style - and you cannot see one beach to the next. Do not come here if you are looking for nightlife as this is not the place. If you want to relax and make new friends, by all means this is your spot. We would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the sea cliff - the other lodging building is nicknamed the "frat house." C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    67
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
25
260
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

My wife and I recently took advantage of Paya Bay's "two for one" special. Our stay was full of likes & dislikes!

Likes:

Paya Bay is on the remote East End of Roatan away from the built-up areas of the island. The property is very natural and almost appears untouched. The Cliffside Rooms (I highly recommend Room #4) hang over the crashing sea. Although the room was somewhat dated the constant breezes, sounds of waves crashing and magnificent views (sea, sunrise/sunset & star) were beyond magnificent.

The size of the property made it feel like you had the entire place to yourself. Natural trails/pathways led to Bliss Beach, Buccaneer Landing, endless views and nooks & crannies.

During our stay there were only approximately ten other guests. Some kept to themselves but most enjoyed the company of each other on the beach, while snorkeling, taking island tours and during meals. Either way you never felt over crowed or left out. During the final nights guests shared their photos via a makeshift (white bed sheet hanging on the dining room wall) slide presentation. The experience led to a bond and discussions involving future travels. Sunday evening’s wine and cheese was a nice touch and a great way to meet other guest.

Paya Bay offers two free snorkeling trips per day (9:30 AM & 2:30 PM). Tom is a great guide and character making each trip an exciting experience. We have traveled & snorkeled the Caribbean but the reef off Roatan is tops. I highly recommend taking the optional day trip to Pigeon Cay.

Onion Rings – Simply the best. Sounds a bit out of place but Paya Bay’s onion rings are out of this world!!!!


Dislikes:

Food was a major disappointment. Breakfast - Fine with a wide variety but service was slow. Lunch – Wide variety but often overcooked and salty. Service was slow. Dinner – Two specials every night. Some nights dinner was served buffet or family style. If you did not like what was being served you had the option of ordering off the menu but it appeared as if the staff did not encourage this option. Like other meals dinner service was slow and often over cooked and salty. On many occasions (breakfast, lunch & dinner) many items on the menu were not available. After our stay we learned that that regular cook was on vacation and her sister, who is not a cook, was filling in. Hopefully this explained why the food was so disappointing.

Alcohol Drinks – Expensive and week. Luckily Paya Bay did not mind if you BYOB. Before arriving at Paya Bay ask your driver (Jose) to stop at the supermarket. Buy some wine, beer & rum and mix your own drinks.

Bugs – Not holding Paya Bay at fault. Bugs (Sand Fleas - “No-See-Ums” & Mosquitoes) of Roatan are vicious and pack a wicked bite. Always wear lots of bug spray, sun screen and buy “No-See-Um” soap from the local soap shop. Avoid wearing perfume or using sweet smelling soaps/shampoo.


Overall:

Overall we enjoyed our stay at Paya Bay. If Paya Bay offered the “two for one special” again and our newly found friends were planning to return we too would return. I would give Paya Bay’s atmosphere 4-stars but Food only 1-star. If the food was better I would return without a doubt and give Paya Bay an overall rating of 4-stars!

Room Tip: For the best views I recommend requesting Cliffside Room #4 or any other Cliffside Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ItisBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roatanguy, General Manager at Paya Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us here at Paya Bay Resort. The issues raised by this client are being investigated and steps will be taken to rectify procedures as necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

My wife and I just came back from an eight day stay at Paya Bay, from November 10th to the 18th, taking advantage of their two for one off season special. There were many things we liked and some things we did not like.

What we liked:

Number one was our fellow guests: We met the most delightful people! We immediately became a close-knit circle and their presence made our stay really memorable. We really hope to keep in touch with them. We also like the overall friendliness of the staff. The resort was absolutely stunning in its natural beauty and we fell asleep every night to the sounds of the waves. I also immensely enjoyed the twice daily snorkeling trips. We could never decide which we liked more: the soft sands of Bliss beach or the tranquility of Buccaneers cove. Even though we did not do yoga the view from the Yoga pavilion was breathtaking and we enjoyed the reception for the new guests. The beach towels were of very high quality: large and super absorbent (not your typical resort towel). Finally we enjoyed the clothing-optional freedom without the Hedonism-type vulgarity and unsavory feeling you get in some resorts.

What we did not like:

Number one was the food. It was mediocre at best (with the exception of one night when they served a more local cuisine). The fish was usually overcooked and most meals were very salty. The breakfast and lunch menu get old very quickly. The cheeseburgers were surprisingly good, as well as the onion rings. The alcoholic drinks where expensive and weak. We also did not appreciate the children (who were not guests) running around the dining room and patio while we were trying to relax. Nor did my wife appreciate the children present during both of her massage sessions (so much for a relaxing massage!). The cleaning of the room left a lot to be desired: on the second night of our stay we killed a large cockroach in the bathroom (which is normal in a tropical environment) but its corpse stayed on the bathroom floor for the duration of our stay and it is probably still there! Also, many times they forgot to provide us with shampoo. Finally, a word of caution: on their web page they say “and for our Naturist Good Energy Experience the Pigeon Cay trip is clothing optional!”; this might be difficult because it is not a private cay and there may be other tourists around, who may not appreciate the nudity (and may have cameras).

In summary if another two for one special is offered during the dry season we would strongly consider going back (and we would definitely go back if our newfound friends also join us) :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EkiAndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roatanguy, General Manager at Paya Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us here at Paya Bay Resort. The issues raised by this client are being investigated and steps will be taken to rectify procedures as necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed here in a cliff room one night of our trip to Roatan. Thursday nights the Garifuna perform, it was entertaining and fun. The breezes here seemed to be the best on the island, great views as well.

Room Tip: Stay on a Thursday night, also ask for a cliff room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhondaHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

To begin with, let me say that Paya Bay is probably one of the prettiest resorts on the island and offers many options for all types of people. We went to Roatan to look for property and knew that spending the whole week there would be wasteful this time, so decided to just book one night as we didnt want to miss the experience of staying there. We drove up there on Sunday and booked for Thursday at the recommendation of the proprietor Lurlene, as there were dancers coming then. (We were going to book for Wedsnesday night). We were showed by Marie the room we were going to get, Room 1....right over the ocean...beautiful room with a balcony over the sea. THE reason we wanted to book there in the first place. We were so excited as it was also Naturist week and we wanted to share that experience as well. We left our names and local phone number as requested.
On Thursday we drove up (gravel road into the area BTW) and checked in. Was given a welcome drink which was a nice touch BUT when we were taken to our room...it was NOT what we booked. It did not have the same view, same atmosphere, same balcony etc...it just was inferior to what we RESERVED. We went back to the desk and told them we were not happy with the switch and wanted our reservation honored. We were told that a HONDURAN couple walked in the day before and was given our reserved room, "so sorry.".
WELL.....we were so disappointed and quite upset with their cavalier attitude, I stated that any room on that line was not acceptable (they offered a room further down next to the local help quarters and with an obstucted view of the sea. I said that those rooms should not cost the same but was told "well they are all the same price"....I was quite upset that they did not offer any discount for the inferior room as they clearly admitted to making the mistake of giving the room away to someone else. They did not offer for us to stay the day at least to use the facilities, nor even a discount on dinner that we would be buying...nothing to make up for the mistake manangement made. It was just an "oh well" take it or leave it......so we left it .
Do not book rooms 5-8 at least...the only rooms to book are 1-4....and even if they confirm a room, be ready for the Im sorry at check in..........was it a case of mismanagement or just taking care of their own.....I dont know....but if this is the way tourists are dealt with there, I do not recommend you to stay there as its way out on its own and you definitely need a car to get off the premises to anywhere else.

We were so very disappointed in Paya Bay management.

Room Tip: only rooms 1-4
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GUNN704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roatanguy, General Manager at Paya Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us here at Paya Bay Resort. The issues raised by this client are being investigated and steps will be taken to rectify procedures as necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

The previous 2 reviews are 'right on'---a great resort with clean rooms, awesome views, excellant food, reasonably priced drinks, CO areas, and snorkel trips to the nearby reef! A few ideas that might help you plan your trip there:

--If you want to save a few bucks, have the driver stop at a grocery store after they pick you up at the airport. He won't mind a bit. We bought beer, wine, cheeze, some extra sunscreen. We didn't buy enough beer and yes, it's cheaper at the store than at the resort.

--Take bug spray and use it. Products with Deet work best but harms the fish so if you're going to snorkel, etc, use something without Deet

--There is some discrepancy on a couple of things. First, soft drinks are included at the resort for the all inclusive option, so no need to buy soft drinks. In the rooms are large refrigerators and they don't mind you using them for your beer, wine, etc. also, --While they DO offer to take you out for snorkeling up to twice a day--9:30 and 2:30 while we were there--the trip to Pigeon Cay is NOT included. I think I'm right in saying that it costs $300 a boat load or $75 per person. Even if you have 6 people, I think it would have been $75 each to do it---still worth the money in my opinion even tho we didn't get to go. We didn't go because either the weather wasn't good enough or we had no one to split the cost of the $300.


--Especially if you go during the rainy season, take books to read. They have some books and a large selection of DVDs, but bring your own if you have some you especially want to read or watch. We spent THREE DAYS TOTALLY INSIDE DUE TO RAIN. No problem, but we expected this might happen and brought things to help pass the time. They do have sat. TV but only couple stations in English

--The Yoga pavillion is awesome as will be the beach bar/palapa on Bliss beach once finished. If you like excersize, it's a great place to do it and you can take foot atire to run the beach trails which I was smart enough to begin doing only the last day.

--If you want to try a clothing optional area, this is a good place as there are enough areas to be in that you can be by yourself at least during their low season. I know they fill up and can handle up to 50 people or so, so if privacy is an issue, check with them. While we were there, we had no more than 6 other people staying at the resort. The owners are quite happy to assist you in whatever way to make your stay enjoyable. Great place to vacation!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craigintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

What a wonderful week! We traveled with another couple and really enjoyed the stay. We did go in the off season to get a really great rate (half price) and the days are not always sunny. But, it did not prevent us from doing about anything we wanted. The staff is fabulous, so friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent... and you must try the Monkey La La. The ladies fell in love with this. Charlotte even allowed us to watch her make one so we could try them at home. Mirna was our waitress until the evening and then Evelyn stepped in. We would have liked to take them home with us! Tom and any of the family did everything to make the stay everything we wanted. DaVinci designed the website and is also re-designing the grounds and he has such great ideas. They are rebuilding the Tiki hut down on Bliss Beach and it will be great. It should be finished soon since a crew was working on it. We can't wait to go back and have a drink there looking out over the ocean... plus it will be great place to hide in a splash and dash rain shower.

The rooms were kept really clean. A good test is to walk around barefooted and then step into a wet shower... there were never any dirty foot prints... a first for us at any beach resort. We like the beach view rooms but the cliff rooms were also great. We considered changing but like the larger bathroom in our room.

We definitely will go back. BTW, if you like to dive this is a great place for divers. We don't dive but other new friends we met did almost every day. The snorkeling is great and they take you out (for free) twice a day to the reef for this. You could swim out or take a kayak out but we did not try that due to the waves while we were there.

Their website is very accurate... another plus since often you find the place is different than what you see on the web.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Beach view rooms and they are large and great. The Cliff Rooms are smaller but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlboarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
21.9 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
7.9 mi away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
340 reviews
12.4 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Clarion Suites Roatan at Pineapple Villas
21.8 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
21.7 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paya Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Bay Resort

Property: Paya Bay Resort
Address: Main Highway, East End, Roatan 00000, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Paya Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paya Bay Beach Resort is Roatan's Ultimate Escape. Located on the pristine east end, it is Roatan's premier boutique hotel. Perched atop a bluff with private beaches on each side, Paya Bay features 10 uniquely designed rooms and an amazing restaurant. Paya Bay's on-site dive operation, Dive Roatan, specializes in underwater tours and training for one to ten divers. Paya Bay also offers: flats fishing, boat tours, hiking and of course relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Paya Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Bay Hotel Roatan
Paya Bay Beach Dive Hotel
Paya Bay Beach Dive Resort
Paya Bay Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing