We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Relaxing Place Ever!”
Review of Paya Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paya Bay Resort
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Most Relaxing Place Ever!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I just returned from Roatan this morning, Nov 25th 2013, and we had the most amazing time there! We booked the yoga+snorkeling package and were very happy with both! Brooke the yoga instructor was just incredible! She introduced us to different pose variations and meditations which both me and my husband enjoyed.

I would highly recommend to go on the Pigeon Cay excursion, it's a very small island with beautiful water, and we saw giant sting rays when we were there. We also went scuba diving and it was very convenient only 5 min away - and we saw about 30 dolphins on our way back that swam and palyed right next to our boat! It was spectacular!

Snorkeling was awesome, lots of fish and great coral!!!

The staff and very accommodating, and we enjoyed the naturist week while we were there. The food variety was great and service amazing! I highly recommend going there if you would like to get away from everyday life and stay in a paradise for a week or longer: http://www.payabay.com/resort-roatan/leisure-activities/pigeon-cay/

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    67
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
25
260
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We recently visited Paya Bay Resort in Roatan, Honduras for a week vacation in November. It was a variation for us as we usually travel to Orient Beach in St. Martin at that time of year. The trip from the airport was long and the road was bumpy, so we knew we would be in a remote location. This is something of an eco-resort and the owners are doing a wonderful job making renovations that do not disturb the natural beauty of the property. There are walking trails throughout and a multiple beaches to visit. The room was quaint and simply decorated. If you are looking for a plush modern hotel room, this is not the place for you. Our room was on the cliffs and looked out over the sea which was lapping up on the rocks below. The view was stunning. It was quite relaxing and we enjoyed relaxing on the balcony.

Some promised amenities were not available such as wifi in the room and morning yoga classes. Our electricity went out twice, the water went out once. We had a very big storm and our room leaked. When we told the staff they readily moved us into a larger room on the hill where we enjoyed a different but beautiful view. The food was good but certainly not gourmet, except for the Key Lime Pie, which was the most delicious pie I have ever had.

The best thing about Paya Bay was the staff who were the nicest group of people we have met in our travels. They were always kind and accomodating and open to share their own experiences of living on the island. The owner, Lurlene is a savvy business woman who is also extremely kind. She graciously shared her interesting life story with us which lead to her family's ownership of the property and development of the resort. Many family members work on the resort.

This is a rustic, calming, quiet place tucked away in a naturally beautiful location. It is a place to get away from a hectic lifestyle. They have some planned activities such as snorkeling or a boat ride over to an island town, but other then that it is a quiet place with few enough quests to feel like you are are on your own island.

Room Tip: We loved our view in Room #3 on the Cliff and Room #7 on the Hill was a bit bigger and had a nicer b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fannychup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I'm a pushover for tropical locales, great landscaping, gorgeous water, good snorkeling, great food and nice, genuinely helpful staff, and Paya Bay has them all. My wife and I (as others who have provided reviews) visited on a one-day pass while on a Carnival cruise that included Roatan. And, now I'd like to go back and stay a week or more. Why? Because of the above factors. But, there are some negatives. In the first instance, it would be really hard to find if you weren't in the Paya Bay-vehicle (The resort is on the rural, East End of the island). Add to that the fact that the last 10 km or so of roadway is difficult to traverse (but no worse than most secondary, unpaved roads in Central America). And, two other negatives: it's pricey "in season," and the rooms - while spotlessly clean - are a bit on the almost-rustic side if you're used to a Four Seasons-level resort. In my view, though, the positives far outweigh the negatives, and they offer 2-for-1 pricing some of the time in "low season" (like now).

But, finally, remember you're in Latin America and everything operates differently. True story: as my wife and I and another couple were being driven down the one-lane road out of the property, we came upon two loads of sand and rocks dumped on the low-level bridge over a stream. No one at the resort knew it was there. It was impossible to proceed; it was a 40-minute or so ride to the cruise ship terminal, and our cruise ship left in two hours. I was nearly panicked but the driver (Carl Bennett) calmly went looking for someone he knew with a back hoe. Fifteen minutes later the machine appears, levels out the road and we're on our way.
In retrospect, it was a highlight of the entire cruise but not especially fun while it was happening.

Room Tip: There are only a handful of rooms ... none bad as best I can tell. My sense is the "best"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Playaman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I got married at Paya Bay Resort in July and are truely amazed by this beautiful hotel! We enjoyed ourselves so much during our stay. We had never been to Paya Bay before, but our expectations were so much exceeded. It was an unforgettable experience for me and my whole family!

The hotel had organised our pick up at the ferry, we got a cocktail and felt welcome and taken care of from the moment we checked in. Is it the open restaurant deck with its spectacular views, the beautiful Bliss beach or all the hidden places all over the quite big resort area, where you can observe this special place or take time for yourselve, we felt like in the most beautiful hotel we had ever been in! The attention at the hotel was very warm and personal. This is how we felt in our room also. We absolutely loved it. There is no better place to wake up, relax or take a shower than room nr. 8!

The hotel offers everything you could need on a getaway like this. The room and resort area were always clean. Staff was always nice and helpful.

Regarding the wedding organisation, Michelle did a really great job! We were in contact with her for almost a year, she took care of everything and it all turned out to be perfect for us! The rain on our wedding day didnt stop the Paya Bay team to create a beautiful scene on the beach with a lot of privacy, dinner was delicious and we had a great party on the restaurant deck!

Paya Bay was the perfect place for us to get married! We hope to celebrate a lot of anniverseries there.

Christine & Douglas

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystainsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I spent Labor Day Week at Paya Bay, as we were specifically seeking some quiet time together in a Caribbean resort that supported naturism. We knew very little about the resort other than what had been written but decided to go for it, anyway--especially as we booked a 'two-for-the-price-of-one' rate labeled as a naturist week.

Yes. Paya Bay is on a windy, (scary!) road. And yes, it's about as far east of the airport as you can get and is virtually isolated. And yes, there is little nightlife. Suited us just fine! At no time were there more than 10 other guests, all of whom were friendly and warm but non-intrusive. We spent many pleasant meals with folks from all over the US of all ages, ethnicities and lifestyles.

The food was plentiful (conch ceviche to die for!) and cooked creatively. Sometimes they ran out of a particular item, but who doesn't do that home? The breakfasts were enormous, the free smoothies an excellent accompaniment, and the table service was more than accommodating. For those of you who can't unplug even when you're on vacation, there is an excellent free wireless connection in the dining vicinity. And what could be better than enjoying your meals with a full Caribbean vista on three sides?

We stayed in one of the high, ocean-facing villas (cliffside) and the views were spectacular. I was initially very nervous as to whether sleeping in such a hot climate would be uncomfortable, but our room had an excellent air conditioning unit and a ceiling fan that did a fabulous job keeping us cool and comfortable throughout the night. Housekeeping staff was very pleasant, unobtrusive and brought us the few items we needed throughout the week. The villas are very rustic with wood floors and stone bathroom floors--probably not quite what you're used to, but kept clean. Lots of hot water for showers and a very strong free wireless connection--we were actually able to Skype from our room back to the States. TV is satellite, mostly in Spanish, but who's there to watch TV? I'm an avid reader, and was impressed by the breadth and variety of books in their 'library', which is on one side of the dining room.

But enough said about that. The real star here is the beach. There were days when we stayed in the warm, blue Caribbean water for 6 hours at a time. We snorkeled, floated, kayaked cavorted and enjoyed the wonderfully refreshing plunge pool at Bliss Beach--all in a very comfortable and accepting naturalist environment. Note that Bliss Beach is completely naturalist only during designated weeks. There is a smaller very private swimming cove that is naturalist any time of year. Hubby booked a 1-hour massage on the beach for one afternoon and raved about it. What's not to love?

Thomas took us out snorkeling on one day (included in the package price) and was very helpful when I was having trouble with my breathing tube, and we went on the full-day excursion to Pigeon Cay, a spectacular hour-long boat ride through the mangrove grove to a quiet, relatively deserted island where you can sun, snorkel and swim. The staff sets up lunch for you and it's a lovely day. Ask them to bring some beach chairs along with them on the boat, as there really is no place to sit comfortably otherwise.

The staff at Paya Bay was phenomenal. They go out of their way to be friendly, helpful and unobtrusive. As a family-run endeavor, you become part of their family for the time you're there.

We're city folk, have traveled quite a bit and have come to expect a certain comfort level in the places we stay. However, we know beauty and nature when we see it, which more than compensated for the rusticness of the villa. Our advice? Drop the attitude, folks, and enjoy Paya Bay for what it is--restful, beautiful, peaceful, private and quiet. It's not a 5-star east-end resort with lots going on. If the soaps and toiletries aren't of a designer nature, who cares? If the kitchen runs out of bananas, order pineapple! Just go where the week (and your body clock) takes you. We came back rested (having slept an average of 10 hours per night; unlike home!), tanned, and completely rejuvenated.

A word about bugs and sunburn--on windy days, you are likely to be attacked by the tiny "no-see-um bugs." We had both DEET and permethrin with us, and can't say that either of them really did the trick. You likely will get bitten and you're likely to itch. We found that oral antihistamines like loratidine worked well to keep the itching down as well as benadryl-type sprays. And bring a waterproof sunscreen--lots of it. No matter how much you've been in the sun prior to your arrival, the Caribbean sun is strong. You'll be in and out of the water so you'll need to reapply often. We went through 3-12 oz tubes of sunscreen while we were there.

We had a wonderful week. We probably won't go back every year, because there are so many places in the world to visit, but we will definitely return. I encourage those of you who are adventuresome, relatively laid back and can go with the flow to give Paya Bay a try. I hope you love it as much as we did.

A note to the management: Might you consider putting higher-watt bulbs in the bathroom fixtures?? :) And for readers, Paya Bay would be basically unnavigable for anyone who is physically challenged or who needs an assistive device for walking.

Room Tip: The hillside rooms have bigger, more updated bathrooms and good water views. But the cliffside room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JILL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roatan, Honduras
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

enchanted.....hypnotized and captured...this is why I keep going back. I have stayed with my partner, been with friends and just myself......Paya Bay is the only place that truly shares Roatan's Magic!

amazing rooms over looking the azure waters that surround Roatan, take a meander through the lucy tropical vegetation on one of the Hotels fantastic trails.

you will discover a paradise just for you....relax and enjoy every second...

leave expectations with the high volume all inclusive raging resorts, escape from the craziness and you'll be amazed at Roatan's beauty here at Paya Bay Resort...ENJOY!

Room Tip: Cliff/ocean view rooms are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
syracuse, ny
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Find another hotel ANYWHERE on tripadvisor that gets a bad review and management doesn't even have to respond.....the league of "fans" who regularly visit the hotel (like my wife and I and the folks in the reviews below) take care of it for them. I love it. That sums up paya bay. We've gone 6 years in a row. Never had a problem or bad experience and when we decided to have our commitment ceremony there in March, they took great care of us.

I'm happy and grateful I found paya bay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank timmerw35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
21.9 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
7.9 mi away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
344 reviews
12.4 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
21.8 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
21.7 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paya Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Bay Resort

Property: Paya Bay Resort
Address: Main Highway, East End, Roatan 00000, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Paya Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paya Bay Beach Resort is Roatan's Ultimate Escape. Located on the pristine east end, it is Roatan's premier boutique hotel. Perched atop a bluff with private beaches on each side, Paya Bay features 10 uniquely designed rooms and an amazing restaurant. Paya Bay's on-site dive operation, Dive Roatan, specializes in underwater tours and training for one to ten divers. Paya Bay also offers: flats fishing, boat tours, hiking and of course relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Paya Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Bay Hotel Roatan
Paya Bay Beach Dive Hotel
Paya Bay Beach Dive Resort
Paya Bay Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing