We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and Belonging” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paya Bay Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Paya Bay Resort
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace and Belonging”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Paya Bay is a hidden gem off the beaten track. Located on the Eastern end of the island, it is away from the busy-ness of West End and the more generic, US-style resorts of West Bay. What really sets Paya Bay apart is the freindliness and happiness of the staff. The owners are Roatan natives, rather than North Americans who have decided to try their hand at making a buck in paradise, and the difference shows. Food is wholesome, and plentiful (we booked an all-inclusive deal), and suitable to all palates, nothing wild or extravagant- so if you are a foodie, don't come expecting to be blown away. The rooms are lovely, with interesting ins and outs. There are some oddities that remind you you are not in the US, but I choose to look at them as unique charm, and not a negative. After all, if you wanted to be in a US resort, you'd have already booked your trip to Disney, right? Geckos chuckle in the evenings, and the view from the rooms overlooking the bays are spectacular, changing throughout the day as the lighting changes. My favorite was to watch thunderstorms come in (we came during the rainy season, which was really wonderful, rain and sun every day was a beautiful combination) from our balcony, or from the beautiful deck out front of the cliff side restaurant/reception area. a hand crafted Yoga studio overlooking the water is nestled in the jungle, and Yoga with Brooke as dusk turned into night was a magical and peaceful experience.
Without a doubt, the crown jewel of Paya Bay are the private beaches and walking paths. Located in the clothing optional area of the resort, their are beautiful alcoves and nature areas scattered about the property, each one more peaceful and beautiful than the last.
My stay there was wonderful, and re-centered me after a hectic week prior. I left the resort relaxed, and happy for my experiences, looking forward to returning in the near future!

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 are built overhanging the bay. Rooms 5-8 are at the top of the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    66
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
248
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frostburg, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

What an unbelievable vacation! My girl friend and I both had a fantastic time here. We stayed in unit #2, which was a cliff-side room with a very private balcony overlooking the ocean. Slept with the balcony door and window open all night - lulled to sleep by the surf. Particularly pleased with the individual attention given to us by Fernando and Brooke, who made us feel more like family than guests. Very private, with 3 beaches to choose from! At times we were the only couple on the beach. Breakfast buffet was always ready for us. Lunch was ordered from a menu with more variety than we expected. And we always had the dinner special, and were never disappointed. Had the option to dine in the spacious and private indoors, or out under the roof, enjoying the sea breeze, which constantly warmed us. Pillow-top bed was very comfortable. Room was basic, with cable TV, which we never watched. Used two cloudy days to take day trips to the island; spent the rest of the time on the beach. Enjoyed a very private au natural environment. Only complaint is we did not have near enough time to take advantage and explore all the available side trips. The management and staff were fantastic- they were always there if needed, but stayed out of the way if they were not needed. What more can I say? Fantastic value for the price - would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-4 on the cliff, face north. Right on the ocean. Other rooms are a bit larger, and face east...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Paya Bay – Feel Good…Be Happy!

This was our second stay (First Stay: November 2012) and hopefully will not be our last! Paya Bay’s laid back approach is all about peace, tranquility and relaxation!

Airport Transportation:
Paya Bay’s driver will be waiting and greet you as you exit customs. From the airport it is a 45 minute to an hour drive to Paya Bay. The first third of the trip is paved winding hilly roads. The last third is on a bumpy dirt road. Ask the driver to stop at the grocery store to pick-up provisions (local beer, rum, snacks, fruit, sunscreen, bug spray or whatever else you may need).

Rooms:
Although the rooms are somewhat dated and simple, it’s all about the views. Cliffside Rooms literally hang over the crashing Caribbean Sea. The views and sound of the waves are totally tranquil and relaxing. The Hill Side rooms are larger with panoramic views of the sea and mountains offering the same tranquility as the Cliffside rooms.

Food:
Breakfast is buffet style (fruit, cereal, muffins/toast, made to order eggs (fried, scrambled, omelets), pancakes, French Toast and local meats/sides.

Lunch is ordered off the Paya Bay menu and offers everything from appetizers, soups, salads, sandwiches, burgers, fish pasta dishes. The onion rings are a must! Other recommendations are the Chicken Wings, Fish Sandwich or Whole Fried Fish.

Afternoon snack is available at 4:00 PM. Limited appetizers from the lunch menu.

Dinner is a single item or theme night buffet. It’s posted at lunch and if not to your liking limited items can always be ordered from the lunch menu.

Activities:
Relax on one of Paya Bay’s three quiet & tranquil beaches. Two snorkel trips are offered daily (9:30 AM & 2:30 PM) with Tom. Take the weekly snorkel trip to Pigeon Caye. Hike with Fernando to the top of Picacho. Take an island tour. Join Brooke for morning & afternoon yoga. Brooke’s seaside massage will de-stress the body & mind. Watch the sunrise & sunset. All are highly recommended! Counting the stars is about the only nightlife!!!!

Overall:
The McNab family (Owners of Paya Bay), their entire staff (Kudos to Brooke, Fernando and Charolette), the Paya Bay Island Dogs (Lucky, Butters, Max, Thelma & Louise) and guests make Paya Bay feel like home. Its uniqueness, island charm, and laidback style is what makes the place so special!

Recommendations Outside of Paya Bay:
Take an island tour and visit the West End. Stop at the Roatan Rum Cake Factory for awsome rum cakes, rum blends & hot sauces.

Room Tip: Cliffside Room #4 - Perfect views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ItisBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

My sister and I almost stayed here. I wanted to review it because of Michelle, one of the staff members.

After deciding we wanted to stay in West End, I asked Michelle if we could still do something for the local children. They mentioned that on the their website. She was so nice and helpful.

When we got there, she even asked us if we needed a table to hand out our gift bags. We just kept them in the trunk of the driver's car and passed them out from there. We only had 100 bags, but the kids were so happy. Each bag contained of a bar of soap, toothpaste, a toothbrush, 2 pens, 2 pencils, a sharpener, a fun eraser, a tiny bouncy ball, and stickers. The kids were beautiful and all smiles.

Thanks to Michelle, it is one of our best memories of Roatan.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalGirlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

The staff at Paya couldn't do enough for it's guests. A week wasn't enough, so next year I've booked two weeks. Thomas took us on snorkeling trips every day. I took some great underwater shots of star fish, eel, rays, and lots of corals and fish. This was a naturist week, so some snorkelers went au natural. The meals were prepared very well and I had the best lobster dinner in years. I received a few bites from the local sand flies. Forgot to put the repellent on. Also found skin so soft works well.

Room Tip: The rooms at Cliffside are super. Great view and the ocean waves splashing below your balcony help...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SDiver2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central America
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

This resort is STUNNING with some of the most amazing views I have seen and lots of things to do! We stayed for only a night as it was somewhat pricey but do not regret experience!

Only downside was a couple of hidden charges which, when you're already paying a lot, slightly dampen the experience, but otherwise fantastic resort in remote location! Perfect get away!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebeca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I just returned from Roatan this morning, Nov 25th 2013, and we had the most amazing time there! We booked the yoga+snorkeling package and were very happy with both! Brooke the yoga instructor was just incredible! She introduced us to different pose variations and meditations which both me and my husband enjoyed.

I would highly recommend to go on the Pigeon Cay excursion, it's a very small island with beautiful water, and we saw giant sting rays when we were there. We also went scuba diving and it was very convenient only 5 min away - and we saw about 30 dolphins on our way back that swam and palyed right next to our boat! It was spectacular!

Snorkeling was awesome, lots of fish and great coral!!!

The staff and very accommodating, and we enjoyed the naturist week while we were there. The food variety was great and service amazing! I highly recommend going there if you would like to get away from everyday life and stay in a paradise for a week or longer: http://www.payabay.com/resort-roatan/leisure-activities/pigeon-cay/

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
21.9 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
19.0 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
12.4 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
21.7 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paya Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Bay Resort

Property: Paya Bay Resort
Address: Main Highway, East End, Roatan 00000, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Paya Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paya Bay Beach Resort is Roatan's Ultimate Escape. Located on the pristine east end, it is Roatan's premier boutique hotel. Perched atop a bluff with private beaches on each side, Paya Bay features 10 uniquely designed rooms and an amazing restaurant. Paya Bay's on-site dive operation, Dive Roatan, specializes in underwater tours and training for one to ten divers. Paya Bay also offers: flats fishing, boat tours, hiking and of course relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Paya Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Bay Hotel Roatan
Paya Bay Beach Dive Hotel
Paya Bay Beach Dive Resort
Paya Bay Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing