We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impeccable, soulful and amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paya Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Paya Bay Resort
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Impeccable, soulful and amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Paya Bay, hands down, ranks amongst the most relaxing, soulful and fun getaways we have ever been on. The grounds are impeccably maintained, and vast: there are hiding places and paths everywhere to just wander and discover and think (or not). The service was exquisite, starting with DaVinci (one of the owners, check out his blog), Jose the driver extraordinaire, Charlotte and Eric at the restaurant, the chefs, boat and snorkel leader Tom, and so many others; getting to know these wonderful people was an added treat.

Highly suggest the rooms located on the cliff, with the waves crashing below as you sleep. Morning coffee on a private deck (bring a French press), well appointed with a lovely bathroom, fridge, etc. The sunshine is dreamy, and there are many places to find it (or find shade) and take a plunge.

Chose a naturism week, but that is at select times (check the calendar); even then it really is whatever comfort level one might have. Terrific guests (only 24 max). The food was succulent and lush like the island itself; even better, the standard menu and daily specials were healthy, not to mention the yoga on a high cliff overlooking the clear blue expanse. We are not divers, but those who were seemed quite pleased as well.

While many day trips are offered and we expected to leave the resort to go explore, we instead found ourselves having one of the best vacations of our lives at the resort, steeped in more tranquility than we thought possible. – aaron and charité

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank meanderingherenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    66
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
248
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We echo everything said by CalgaryMark42. In fact we were his neighbors in cliff side room # 2. Enjoyed our week thoroughly. Paya Bay's best asset are their people. Friendliness and service was outstanding. Food was very good and plentiful. The location of Paya Bay was perfect for what we were looking for. We wanted a relaxing vacation, and got exactly that. We will be back.

Room Tip: The cliff side rooms offer a fantastic view. They may be smaller than the other rooms, but are perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary AB
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

A week in March, an escape from a long Canadian winter, during the equinox and progression from full moon to waning gibbous. This was a mystical naturist week - not much mystical; two tours off property were cancelled due to insufficient people wanting to go. The Garafuna culture night was too dark, too noisy for me - others loved it. I went for the remoteness from everywhere and an opportunity to do without the rest of the world (no TV, radio, news - my choice) for a week, to get sunshine and swim and read. I certainly got all that!

The welcome and friendliness of all the staff, from email exchanges with Michelle and including the resident family dogs, was outstanding. The overall acceptance of naturism was great, a welcome contrast to most of North America.

The food (nearly always the meal of the day for me) was more than adequate, I hardly needed to go to the table d'hote menu. There were times when it was evident we were in the Caribbean time zone and some meals took a long time to arrive - but always worth the wait.

My room - Cliffside #1 - I rate the best in the place for a single or a couple. The view over the reef, the privacy of the (small) balcony and especially the continuous sound of the waves breaking on the shore was what I was looking for. So restful, even during the rain and wind on one day and night.

Bliss Beach and the Black Iguana bar were the centre of inactivity. Recent storm damage to Buccaneer, Lagoon Aqua and Secret Cove, leaving structures damaged, beaches and pathways washed away, made the west side of the resort challenging. When they are fixed, this would be wonderful - even so, the scramble over the rocks was fascinating, challenging, but not for the fragile. This meant about a third of the area was out of regular service. A sunset cruise to nearby La Sirena bar and grill for a drink and dinner, returning under the stars, was a magical way to end the week.

Walking the accessible areas was peaceful, restful, relaxing and the secret sitting places in the woods were beautiful - but I stayed on the beach, most of the time. Yoga with Brooke in the wall-less, breezy Ananda pavilion was a fabulous experience. A beach massage by Blanca is a world-class experience. The day-long boat trip to Pigeon Cay (24km/15 miles) each way was a great introduction to the islands, but a bit bumpy on my day there. Not a problem!

The companionship of the fellow guests was excellent - we were almost family by the end of the week (Thanks, guys!)

What needs to change? Little things, like non-functioning light bulbs, sink stoppers that leak more than hold water, but most essentially - fix the storm damaged paths and western beaches.

Would I go back? When can we leave!

Room Tip: If you like the sound of the sea, see if you can reserve cliffside rooms 1 to 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryMark42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Great location. Clean and private quarters and amenities. Food was simple yet incredibly fresh, e.g. freshly caught snapper, shrimp, etc. Also their vegetables can mostly from their own garden or local vendors and were delicious. They make their own juices there (watermelon, pineapple, etc) and they are delicious and very healthy. The folks at Paya Bay say they'll treat you like family and they do and did. Thanks to Davinci, Jose's, Marcie, Omar, Eric, Fernando and Brooke for making us feel right at home. The resort is a preserve to the extent the spiny tail Iguana is protected there. Thus we got to see them daily...from the king-daddy big one to ones of lesser size. They'd come on the deck and we'd feed them lettuce. The beaches at Paya Bay are stunningly gorgeous. Bliss Beach being particularly stunning due to its isolation carved into a cove. I think Paya Bay is a screaming deal if you get the food package along with accomodations and we'll be back again and soon. Jim & Kat

Room Tip: get bungalow 1, 2, 3 or 4. They're perched out right over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimsbowies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

If you are looking for a real get away, private, clean, reasonable amenities, good value, this may be the place. I live on Roatan. Came here for a vacation from the vacation. Mercifully, my cell phone didn't get service here. So off the grid for a few days. Service great, staff friendly, food good. But the attraction here is the isolation and the private beach--Bliss they call it. And it was.......If you like to lounge in a Palapa reading your beach novel, umbrella drink periodically in hand, and a dip in the turquoise waters once or twice a hour...or maybe a kayak interlude.......and rinse off in the stone fresh water pool----hmmmm. The "gym" is a bit of of joke but we got plenty of exercise hiking and swimming and kayaking.

Room Tip: The rooms on the cliff side were taken when we were there. I had no problem with the "garden vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pnc47292019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife & I just returned from a week a Paya Bay.
Beautiful location away from everything, food & service top notch.
Especially enjoyed Yoga with Brooke at the amazing hill top pavilion.
We stayed in a hillside room with a balcony - great view, breezes & nicely appointed spacious room.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoPjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

This was our second stay at Paya Beach and as great as it was the first time, the second time was even better. First, the natural beauty is unstoppable. The resort is small, scrupulously clean and as friendly as can be. It is quiet - there are no wild bar nights, but there is plenty of fun. The lovely private beach, the plunge pool, the hilltop yoga pavilion, the gorgeous landscaping, and the delicious food all contribute to a perfect vacation. If you have a desire to do more than lie on the beach, there is kite-surfing, snorkeling, and hiking from the resort or you can easily arrange to dive, ride horses, shop in town, or find other Roatan activities away from the resort. The cost is very reasonable and the accommodations are very comfortable. The staff simply cannot do enough to make your stay more pleasant and enjoyable.
The new Black Iguana bar is sure to make the list of "Best bars in the Caribbean". All in all, I wish I were going back today.

Room Tip: Cliff rooms over an unbelievable vista and cool breezes at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
21.9 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
19.0 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
12.4 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 7 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
21.7 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paya Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Bay Resort

Property: Paya Bay Resort
Address: Main Highway, East End, Roatan 00000, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Paya Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paya Bay Beach Resort is Roatan's Ultimate Escape. Located on the pristine east end, it is Roatan's premier boutique hotel. Perched atop a bluff with private beaches on each side, Paya Bay features 10 uniquely designed rooms and an amazing restaurant. Paya Bay's on-site dive operation, Dive Roatan, specializes in underwater tours and training for one to ten divers. Paya Bay also offers: flats fishing, boat tours, hiking and of course relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Paya Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Bay Hotel Roatan
Paya Bay Beach Dive Hotel
Paya Bay Beach Dive Resort
Paya Bay Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing