We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel”
Review of Paya Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Paya Bay Resort
Ranked #16 of 42 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2006

We stayed at Paya Bay the week of August 19th to the 26th. We did an all-inclusive dive package. The only thing not included was the liquor.

My husband and I enjoyed our stay, we had a cliff room and the view was beautiful. The rooms are plain with unfinished wood floors, no carpets except in the bathroom. We had a small refrig stocked with bottled water. Our room was a corner room so we had an additional window facing the West towards the private beach. The balcony was a bit smaller than the photo online shows, which was a bit of a disappointment. But the room was clean and comfortable overall.

We were one of 3 couples staying that week at the property. Since you are in the middle of nowhere it was great to have met some wonderful people from Texas, Lori and Noland. We had blast with them and made some great friends.

The food was excellent. Madeline our cook for the week went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed and her cooking was outstanding! She surprised us with many hors d'oeuvres in the afternoons and excellent meals. She even made us Mango Jam to take home! I also smuggled in some hot pepper seeds, which she carefully wrapped in plastic and a paper towel! She was wonderful. Elsa and Tom the wait staff were also wonderful and showed us much hospitality. Can't say enough about the staff at the hotel.

The diving was pretty good. Being at the East End of the island and on the Northside, the water was usually rough, epecially in the afternoons when the wind picked up. This limited our ability to go to several divesites. The boat captain Richard, Madelines husband, was wonderul to us. He was very helpful and always made sure we had everything we needed. Justin the divemaster was also wonderful. He is from the Milwaukee area, the same as us. We had many wonderful dives. The reefs are pretty healthy except for the brown algea this time of year, due to the warmer waters.

Everyone at the resort went out of their way to make our stay a good one. We would come back again. Thanks everybody.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MONICAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2006

We made a great choice when we decided to stay at Paya Bay Resort. The rooms were clean with a/c and private balconies. We stayed in a cliff room and there were no bugs (beside the occasional moth or fly that got in) and the view was phenomenal.

The food and service at the restaurant is incredible! We looked forward to eating each day because everything was always so delicious! I always tried the special and it was always good. The food was a lot better than I thought it could be on such a secluded part of the island. Drinks aren't included in the package. Beers and sodas were very reasonably priced at around $2 so it didn't end up being an issue. They ran a tab and we paid at the end of the week.

The dive group is small and PBR takes you to places where there are no other dive boats and the reef looks pristine. The dive masters and boat crew are very friendly and took us on some phenomenal dives. The dive masters were good at pointing out interesting things to the small group.

We spent one day driving around the island. The West End is pretty neat and it's cool to drive around the island. There really is too much on the island besides the resorts. We got some souvenirs in the west end and lunch. The west bay beach is GORGEOUS! There's also great snorkeling there.

I can't say enough good about the vacation. Hanging out on the back deck with the other divers and a Salva Vida in my hand is a memory that I will never forget. It was pure relaxation.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank karahner920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2006

My wife and myself chose Paya Bay Resort because it was a little off the beaten track. There were only 7 other people staying at the resort while we were there in late June, and it was a very friendly atmosphere. We were very pleased with our stay. It was the most relaxing dive vacation we have ever taken. The staff of Paya Bay is friendly & attentive. The rooms are well kept. The food is good. The diving is easy, with great structure and coral at every site. What more can you ask for? My wife and myself were the only divers on a couple trips, and the most we ever had was 6 divers. Your gear is taken care of, so all you have to do is show up at the boat.

Just a couple cautions. If you are going to spend time on one of the 2 private beaches, or hang around down by the boat, you have to put on insect repellent to discourage the "no see ums". Other than that, insects are not much of a problem. I must admit you will have to look eleswhere for nightlife and shopping. I would not recommend renting a car , but you can make arrangements with the resort to tour the West End on the days you don't dive.

All in all, if you want to have fun and get away from it all this is the place for you.

6  Thank Trave1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, California
17
Reviewed 13 June 2006

We were a party of 3 scuba divers looking for an all inclusive dive package, lodging, meals and diving.We had a wonderful time at this simple, clean, lovely resort run by a wonderful family. We were picked up at the airport and taken to the Resort by the daughter of the owners and their grandaughter, met by the husband and wife/owners, and served meals by their son. We were warmly recieved and felt like family. Justin, the dive shop owner met us and was ready with all the forms, equipment, schedules and information that very same evening. About the lodging, our rooms were on the cliff, built out over the Carribean! A wonderful view from our small balcony. It was airconditioned (for comfort at night) though it wasn't necessary during the day, as a lovely breeze filled the room. The meals were generous and Charles the chef made every effort to please us; of course, seafood abounded! We pushed a little though to get, "the local food", "comida tipica" and were delighted, as were they at being able to share it! The diving was great, this is a less crowded part of the Island and as a result, fewer divers, healthier corals and sponges. As with many Islands, you need a repellent for the "no-see-ums", don't forget it! This is a secluded spot on the Island and there is no "night life", so if your looking for parties, stay with the crowds on the West end. But for diving, dining, and pure relaxation, this is it! It was a great price for lodging, meals and 3 dives a day.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2006

From its spectacular siting, to its warm and friendly staff, Paya Bay is an ultimate get away to a small piece of pardise. Some great meals, a wonderfull deck for sunsets and stars. Top notch diving and snorkeling. Bone and permit fishing. Side trips to the marevlous Jade Beach and Pidgeon Key are easily arranged barbeques. Good water , good breezes and good times. We have returned their 6 times --after visiting a dozen different places through out western Carribbian, this is our favorite. Its remoteness from the crowed and hectic West End of Roatan make it an adventure getaway.

6  Thank jsamuelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto
19
Reviewed 24 May 2006

We stayed at Paya Bay for a week in April, and were very pleased. The food was great, the service relaxed and friendly, and the staff wonderful. We were able to try two different rooms, both beautiful but with different views. The cliff rooms are very dramatic, right on the water, but get quite hot during the day and require the AC running most of the time (worked well). It's out of the way and for us, that was a great thing. The dive staff were all wonderful, and the wildlife fantastic. If you're looking for a quiet break with great diving, this is the spot.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2006

We spent a week at Paya Bay Resort at the end of March. It is a beautiful quiet resort on the remote north east end of Roatan. The only resort in that area. Rooms are very adequate. Ours was right on the ocean front with A/C and ceiling fan, small fridge,private bath and small porch. The rooms cool down well in the evening and we only needed to use the AC once. The restaurant is very nice and the food was excellent. Beer is ice cold. Coffee is available all day from the time the restaurant opens in the morning and I must say that the Honduran coffee is the best I've tasted. Staff was very helpful and friendly. There are two beautiful beaches. We preferred the small west beach which we had to ourselves most of the time. Excellent swimming. The diving operation is very well run. The grounds are very scenic with lots of flowers and plants. The resort is spotless.
Although it is at the far end of Roatan, the trip from the airport took only 45 minutes by car and the drive is very scenic. At some points along the road you are several hundred feet up and can see both the north and south shorlines several miles away and far below. The resort arranged the shuttle transportation from and to the airport. No waiting. Our ride was there waiting for us when we arrived.
I heard a lot about sand flies before our trip. I was on the beach every day, did not use any repellent and did not get bit once. My wife brought repellent and used it and of course did not get bitten either. They appear to be less of a problem on this part of the island.
A previous review stated there were no beach lounges. The resort has built their own lounges(wood) and they now have them for use on the beaches. Highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a great diving vacation or a peaceful week of sunbathing, swimming, snorkling.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank tedjp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
21.9 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
19.0 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandy Bay
214 reviews
19.0 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 9 in West End
603 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
267 reviews
7.9 mi away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paya Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Bay Resort

Address: Main Highway, East End, Roatan 00000, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range: £104 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paya Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paya Bay Beach Resort is Roatan's Ultimate Escape. Located on the pristine east end, it is Roatan's premier boutique hotel. Perched atop a bluff with private beaches on each side, Paya Bay features 10 uniquely designed rooms and an amazing restaurant. Paya Bay's on-site dive operation, Dive Roatan, specializes in underwater tours and training for one to ten divers. Paya Bay also offers: flats fishing, boat tours, hiking and of course relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Paya Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Bay Hotel Roatan
Paya Bay Beach Dive Hotel
Paya Bay Beach Dive Resort
Paya Bay Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing