We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the atmosphere and beauty of Paya Bay”
Review of Paya Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paya Bay Resort
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2007

My family and I stayed for 2wks and i can tell you that the time there was way above our expectations. We have a 10 month, 2, 14 and 17 yrs old and the family run operation went out of their way to make our stay comfortable as well as taking care of any extra requests we made of them. We had so many different levels of needs/wants regarding our kids.
Lurlene, Mervin, (the Mom and Pop owners) and Tom, Sharlene, and Davinci (their adult children) kept them all busy and happy. From snokeling to the breathtaking scuba diving to just swimming on one of the two beaches on the property everyone had fun. We went into town a couple of times and did some of the things that the family suggested, like the zip line down island and we went to Gumba Limba Park. This level of customer service is hard to find these days and this family vacation will be remembered for a long time to come.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank MsPriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
There are newer reviews for Paya Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2007

wife and I spent one week at Payabay. Snorkeling and diving in the top 10% around the world. Also the location on the East end of the North shore and views are great. We stayed in one of the rooms right on a cliff almost overtop the water. More hummingbirds than we imagined exist just outside the dining room. We enjoyed the isolation and remoteness of the place away from hub bub of West Bay and West End Roatan. But the remoteness may not be for everyone. Not the place to go for nightlife unless you bring it yourself (there was a dive club there our week that entertained themselves pretty well) We took one day to see the rest of the island. The operation is family run by Mom Lurlene McNab and her adult children Davinci, Sharlene & Tom. Tom took us out to the nearby reef for snorkeling. The facilities are not "new" . Give the management an "a" for effort but a way to go meet our expectations for places with similar rates. Food OK but buffet style. We lost power for hours at a time and once for 24 hours. That was a night not soon to be forgotten without AC. They say their backup generator is in the shop soon to be ready to kick in when the loc

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GTWassociates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2007

Are you looking for paradise on earth? Do you need to get away from it all and recharge your battery? Is there someone special in your life with whom you want to get away, relax, and renew? Paya Bay is the perfect destination. My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary at Paya Bay and it was beyond perfect. The tropical breeze washed away all our cares. The Caribbean sun cleansed our souls. The beaches are great. The snorkeling was a blast. The staff was helpful and friendly without ever being intrusive. The food was to die for -- if you love seafood this is your destination. The accomodations are simply wonderful. This is the genuine island experience, not corporate America transplanted into a remote destination, and, we felt, the price is very reasonable. Our week on Paya Bay is one we will remember forever. We can't stop talking about it. We give it a two thumbs up -- way up!

Stayed: June 2007
Thank kbrooksw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2007

Paya Bay is a wonderful option for a relaxing vacation ...especially if diving and/or snorkeling is an important vacation activity. My wife and I knew up front that we were going to a small resort located in a fairly undeveloped part of the island. For some folks that would be a recipe for boredom but for us it was perfect. The McNabb family, who own and operate the resort, do an outstanding job of attending to the needs of the guests. Being a small resort, it cannot provide the level of amenities found at larger hotels but by the same token the larger resorts cannot compete with the level of personal attention that the McNabbs gave to us. I felt a genuine effort was made by all family members (and many of the staff) to get to know us and authentically be interested in how we were enjoying our vacation....this personal touch was most welcome. The resort itself is clean, comfortable and picturesque. It has a great location (that is, if you enjoy relative solitude and the beauty of the surrounding countryside). Again, if you require non-stop activities or access to immediate shopping, this is not a good choice. But if you like nice beaches, terrific access to a healthy reef system, and the opportunity to chill out, it is a superb vacation option. Development on Roatan will undoubtedly change the character of the island considerably over the next 10-20 years. One can only hope that this little vacation oasis remains mainly undisturbed. Signed- Libby and Tony from Greensboro, NC.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greensboro007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2007

Outstanding,

If you are looking for an out of the way place without the crowds, loud music, and bright lights this is the place. Expecetional rooms with all the nice touches, great food, and a location to die for. Just returned from a 10th Anniversery trip with my wife from a week long visit. This family run resort is spacious, clean, friendly, and accomidating. It seems that everyone goes to Roatan for the diving and you always read about the west end and the big resorts.......no comparison. The east end diving is superior in all respects. We dove all week and never saw another boat. Dive sites were unique and varied, the staff was professional and knowledgeable, and groups were small and personable. Access to remote dive locations rarely visited are only a request away (Morat Wall is a must). Food included lobster, conch, fresh fish, pork, chicken and lots of salad and vegetables.... if you want anything special just ask up front. The resort is located on its own 23 acres with two private beaches, private snorkel boat (no cost), onsite dive operation, and much more. Explore the longest beach in Roatan just a mile down the coast or site on the deck and have a drink or two. The McNab family have a long history on Roatain and are outstanding hosts that can arrange anything. Don't miss this special place.

Best Regards,

Derek Lerma
Ojai, CA

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DerekOjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2007

The property and location are nice- over all our stay was good. But issues we ran into.

1. Missing jewelry from the room- it has been on the night stand, but disappeared, two days later it was located, but there was some questions.
2. Hotel staff are friendly- but it is island time.
3. Dive staff- I wasn't terribly impressed with how dives were handled, they were not flexible on the diving.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Anonymous_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2007

My husband and I were looking for a quiet relaxing vacation, and we certainly found it at Paya Bay. We have been to Roatan twice previously on dive vacations, but this trip we wanted to stay above water, and selected Paya Bay because of its advertised beaches.

The location is spectacular. Yes, it's on the far end of the island at the end of a dusty, dirt road (about 45 minutes from the airport). A taxi driver happily whisked us to Paya Bay (the resort paid the taxi). We didn't budge for the entire vacation.

Lurleen and her daughter Sharlene greeted us warmly with hugs. We were given a choice of rooms (we opted for a Cliff Room, and were not sorry). We listened to the crashing waves, and sat on our balcony overlooking the water. No, the rooms are not glitzy, rather rustic, but immaculately kept, and we loved them. There were charming touches like fresh flowers, beach towels. Our mini-fridge was filled daily with bottled water. There is a coffee pot in the room, and we made Honduran coffee every morning, sipping on our balcony. There were several short power outages during our stay, once while we were dining, but hurricane lamps were whisked out, and we soon forgot about it. It was very hot during our trip, and we turned on the air conditioning for several days, and it was quite functional. Overhead fans were fine for the other days. The showers were fine (remember this isn't the USA, but a place where water is precious).

There are two beaches; there is no such thing as a private beach in Roatan, but Paya Bay owns all the access to Lil Beach, so in effect is private. On several days, we had it completely to ourselves! We sat under coconut trees, basked in the 82 degree waters. Once, while snorkeling off the beach, a Honduran sailed by in his fishing boat, exclaiming hellos, and telling us that we had found a great place for lobster and grouper. One day a group of school children materialized, and we chatted while they swam.

Roatan is not a wealthy island. But the people are genuinely warm, loving, welcoming. I can't think of a friendlier place in the Caribbean. The grounds are lovely, beautiful paths, plants, flowers. The grounds crew and gardeners were busy creating little nooks, including a sunset pavilion, that I hope will be completed when we return. There are hammocks and Adirondack chairs scattered around.

Charles, the chef, is fantastic. We had the most wonderful Key Lime Pie for dessert every day. He invited a guest into his kitchen, Corina from Canada (she and her young son Eric were getting scuba certification), and he showed her how to make these great pies. She's emailing me the recipe, too. We had wonderful lobster, redfish, coconut shrimp, grouper. The food was all around wonderful. Often accompanied by native red beans and rice.

We did venture out on the boat twice to snorkel, and several times off the beach. The reefs are in nice shape, and we're planning a return trip to dive. From what we could tell, the dive operation is well-thought-out, and expertly run. The dive facilities looked top-notch, and the boats were in good shape. Chuck, the instructor, seemed to be a good instructor, based on what the other guests told us.

The guests are multinational: we visited around Easter, and there were Honduran families, a couple from Spain, mother/son from Canada, a bloke from England on holiday. A nice break from US dive bums.

Thursday is Massage Day--Bert is fantastic--he fixed a bum shoulder that has confounded doctors, chiropractors, physical therapists and other massage therapists for over a year! Thank you, Bert!

Tom was often our bartender, fetching us drinks and making concoctions. The wait staff, all in all, were nice, nice people. Often warning me HOT!!! when I liberally doused my eggs with tabasco.

The hummingbirds! They are fantastic, dozens zipping around. We'd sit at our breakfast table, watching them congregate around the sugar feeder. Also, the resort dog, Togo, was my special pal.

Definitely take insect protection (although they do sell it there). The no-see-ums can be ferocious. We were glad we brought a beach blanket, because the beach chairs were rather unforgiving.

This is NOT your place if you require entertainment. If you want great diving, or a quiet relaxing vacation with great food, look no further.

Bobbie and John, New Jersey

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bobbie_and_John_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
21.9 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
7.9 mi away
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
Parrot Tree Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in First Bight
346 reviews
12.4 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#1 of 9 in West End
598 reviews
21.8 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
21.7 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paya Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paya Bay Resort

Address: Main Highway, East End, Roatan 00000, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
Price Range: £89 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Paya Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paya Bay Beach Resort is Roatan's Ultimate Escape. Located on the pristine east end, it is Roatan's premier boutique hotel. Perched atop a bluff with private beaches on each side, Paya Bay features 10 uniquely designed rooms and an amazing restaurant. Paya Bay's on-site dive operation, Dive Roatan, specializes in underwater tours and training for one to ten divers. Paya Bay also offers: flats fishing, boat tours, hiking and of course relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Paya Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paya Bay Hotel Roatan
Paya Bay Beach Dive Hotel
Paya Bay Beach Dive Resort
Paya Bay Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing