We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden roatan beach”
Review of Hobbies Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roatan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hobbies Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden roatan beach”
Reviewed 21 October 2007

We are avid divers and love to fish. We researched Roatan as it had both to offer. We searched the internet and found what we thought would be a great vacation area. Hobbies Hideaway. We were pleasantly surprised by Sue and her husband John. Both were very informative about the different dive areas. They directed us to all the dive operators and really helped us explore the beautiful island. Our room turned out to be a beautiful apartment. Looking out at the beach and reef was very relaxing. We did serveral dives in the town of West End. John provided us with snorkeling equipment. and we were really surpised at the amount of Marine life just a short swim from the beach front. I will recommend Hobbies Hideaway to all. We had a great time. Nicole Rivero, Murfreesboro, Tenn.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkiroxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    30
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
93
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2007

If you like to vacation at a place like you are staying at a good neighbor’s home, Hobbies Hide-Away is the place. John/Sue are very hospitable.

As a native South Floridian and spending over 30 years fishing/diving the Keys, it is great to come to a similar place minus the commercialization.

I spent most mornings and evenings stalking-catching bonefish in the back yard. Most afternoons were spent skin diving. Skin diving is sufficient, even if you dive north of the reef where it drops off rapidly (25’-? Blue H20). To dive the wrecks you will want to go with scuba. If you are serious about underH20 photography I will suggest going with scuba. I had a tough time shooting even in 8’ of H20. I had one hand on my Nikonos the other on rocks to steady myself and holding my breath.

Accommodations’ were great. The place is fairly new, extremely clean and the AC blows cold!! With efficiency apartments and a bar/restaurant (food was great) on the premises, West End is not a necessity-but West End is nice for a change.

I am looking forward walking the flats for the elusive Silver Ghost (Bonefish) again. And since the Grady-White is in the H20 now, I’ve got to go trolling next time.

Things to bring: Fly rod or light spinner, land and sea camera-plenty of film or memory cards, skin dive equipment or rent from John/Sue and the typical tropical necessities.

Only negative is the sand fleas. Just make sure you have your bug spray. John/Sue always have some on hand just in case.

John/Sue can take care of most of your needs-internet, wash/dry, etc. I highly recommend Hobbies Hide-Away!!!!!!

I'll be back for my third visit soon,
Tony

  • Liked — Down Home Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Sand Fleas
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CUDA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york, ny
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2007

I was looking for a place off the beaten path where I could relax and unwind... what I found was a home away from home.

The property is very laid back and everyone was so friendly by the time I left I felt like family! Evenings were be spent stargazing on the dock, hanging out at the bar/restaurant laughing with Sue, Chris and Kathy, or out in West End (even though it's only about a 2$ cab ride, see if Sue can call Denny the cab driver for ya).

At night a local crowd at the bar usually trickles in later in the week, but everyday was quiet. If you find yourself looking for something to do ask John to snorkel with you out to the reef and show you around. You can also help Hondo (the dog) search around for land crabs, or try Pura Vida dive shop in West End… although a short swim off the property’s dock out to the reef lets you experience a ton of sea life.

My room was equipped with a/c, a full size kitchen, microwave and toaster, and John was kind enough to take me along on his trips to Coxen Hole where I was able to buy groceries for the month. Try out the crock-pot too, pour some BBQ sauce over a salted, peppered pork loin, add a little vinegar and go diving for the day. 10 hours later, viola, BBQ Pork sandwiches. If you’re not up for preparing food, try Kathy’s fish special or the conch fritters and top if off with a Monkey LaLa made by Chris (the world’s sweetest bartender… except when he calls me ‘Mam’).

The only negative: bring bug spray and don’t put your towel in the sand (but that’s true for the whole island). Other than that if you are looking for an inexpensive place to relax and enjoy friendly company.... this is certainly the spot. I will be back, and soon!! Thank you John, Sue, Kathy and Chris!

  • Liked — The friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — The sea grass in the beach out front
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank justarandomthought
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orlando, florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2007

We stayed at Hobbies Hideaway June 9th-16th, 2007. Look closely for the hotel's sign on the fence by the road, our cabbie drove right by it (at breakneck speed) and it took us 45 minutes to find Hobbies. Once there, we got a nice hello from John (Hobbie) and his wife Sue and were shown to our room, which turned out to be a small apartment (big kitchen, eating area, bedroom, large bathroom w/shower). Our room was 3 feet (literally) from the bar/restuarant. No problem with that, if the bar got a little "rowdy" and we wanted to sleep, we shut our bedroom door and could not hear a thing. If you are looking for a high end, luxery type of place, than you need to look elsewhere. This was a basic accomidation but for the "low" season price of only $30 dollars a day (yes, thirty dollars!), you cannot go wrong staying here. Be sure to have the coconut shrimp, the shrimp in this area are HUGE and this entree could easily serve two people. We went to the grocery store in French Harbour and stocked up on rum & soda and breakfast type stuff (the apartment has a full size fridge). We found the prices for food and drink to be quite inexpensive. Beware that Roatan is extremely buggy, lots of mosquitoes, flies, no-see-ums, bring plenty of bug spray with DEET. We had a nice week at Hobbies and recommend it to anyone on a budget.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank S&SRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
2.8 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
6.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.8 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
607 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 8 in West End
593 reviews
4.1 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobbies Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobbies Hideaway

Property: Hobbies Hideaway
Address: Main Island road, Sandy Bay | directly on the beach Beach, Roatan 11011, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandy Bay,just off the main road on a secluded beachfront area that is quiet and tranquil. The white sand beach parallels the reef and inside the Roatan Marine preserve . Here is a pristine reef system with a abundance of tropical fish and corals within swimming distance from your accommodations Hobbies Hideaway offers affordable prices and a excellent location. Close to West End for the night life,bars and restaurants yet far enough away not to hear the bands at night. Coxen Hole has the new supermarkets and sovenier shops. Best prices on the island just a taxi ride away. $2.00 a person ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hobbies Hideaway Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing