We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Hobbies Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roatan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hobbies Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
El Progreso, Guatemala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We had a great time at Hobbie’s Hideaway! The beach is practically private, the reef is beautiful and we had a nice day of snorkeling there. The service that John and Sue provide was excellent. He met us at the dock and took us to the hotel. He took us shopping and even provided us a cell phone during our stay there. We enjoyed the rooms which were clean and well kept. We really enjoyed the hospitality because we didn’t feel like their intention was to get our money (which it did seem to be with many others we came in contact with on the island). We felt that the service they gave was because they care about people and were genuinely interested in our comfort and enjoyment during our stay. I can honestly say that if ever we return to the island we will stay again at Hobbie’s Hideaway. Great place and great people! Thank-you so much.

Ed and Myrna Gunn
Guatemala

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank editorapidito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    30
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
93
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Progreso, Guatemala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We had a great time at Hobbie’s Hideaway! The beach is practically private, the reef is beautiful and we had a nice day of snorkeling there. The service that John and Sue provide was excellent. He met us at the dock and took us to the hotel. He took us shopping and even provided us a cell phone during our stay there. We enjoyed the rooms which were clean and well kept. We really enjoyed the hospitality because we didn’t feel like their intention was to get our money (which it did seem to be with many others we came in contact with on the island). We felt that the service they gave was because they care about people and were genuinely interested in our comfort and enjoyment during our stay. I can honestly say that if ever we return to the island we will stay again at Hobbie’s Hideaway. Great place and great people! Thank-you so much.

Ed and Myrna Gunn
Guatemala

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank editorapidito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We stayed at Hobbies for a week and it was wonderful. Owner, John, met us at the airport and directed us to transportation. Our room was very clean, comfortable beds & chairs with A/C that worked, full kitchen, TV, internet, cell phone. One of the best part for us was when you opened your front door you steped right into the Sunshire Cafe and just a few steps further the beach. John and/or Sue, the owners/managers where always around to attend to our needs, give local advice, or just chit chat. Making this the friendless place we have ever stayed. We ate at the Sunshire Cafe many times, always had great food, good serviec at a very resonable price. We rented a car part of our stay and cab service is just a call away. Snorkling is just off the end or their pier. Sunsets where beautiful from the beach or the Sunshine. We did not see any personal safety issues in Roatan.
Highly Recommended!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2011

My wife & I stayed at Hobbies Hideaway for three nights, and hated that we had to come back to the states, and back to work! John & Sue (owners) are two of the best. They have created a little speck of paradise right on a beautiful, peaceful beach. The food at Sunshine Cafe - awesome! Their chefs, Jose & Inez, do a great job. Plus the servings are so big you can barely eat it all. Fresh seafood galore, and much more. Coldest beer on the island, and be careful with the rum & cokes, they will kick your butt! The perfect 'beach bum' type bar! John picked us up at the ferry & delivered us to the airport when we departed. He wanted to give us a tour of the island but was gone on business the days we were there. We really enjoyed the afternoon crowd of locals & expats that show up at the bar for happy hour and the most beatiful sunset ever. Lots of fun. The room was not fancy, but neither are we. It was comfortable & clean, plus a full kitchen if you want to fix your own meals (but why would you want to?) Great reef to snorkel, and we spent one whole day in hammocks on the pier drinking cold Imperials. Check it out, and tell John that Gordie sent you!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathysClown34618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

My wife and I were spending 2 weeks at an AI near La Ceiba and decided we wanted to spend a weekend away from the resort and we chose Hobbies Hideaway and we are so happy we did.
We booked online from home and the communication was excellent. They use Paypal when reserving and paying for the room, a feature we loved.
We took the ferry from La Ceiba which cost 55.00 USD return and took about 1.5 hrs to complete it's journey.
John met us at the ferry (an arrangement made before hand) and took us on a 15min ride and we were there.
We were introduced to Sue and were shown to our room promptly, the rooms are located just off of the Sunshine Cafe.
The room has a kitchenette and livingroom in a open concept. The bedroom has a full closet and dresser for storage and a double bed. The bathroom is quite large and plenty of clean towels are provided. Since drinking the tap water is not advised, Hobbie's provides purified water and ice. Since this hotel is located right on the beach, Hobbie's provide water basins to rinse your feet or you will have sand in your room.
The food was great and cooked to order and always hot. They have a pretty large menu and are open for lunch and dinner, hours of operation are noon to 9 or 10pm.
Since the rooms are located just off the bar and restaurant you can hear the bar's guests if you retire early but once in the bedroom no noise can be heard at all and the bar closes early anyways.
The beach is long and quiet. Even though the beach is public you get the feeling of privacy and seclusion, nobody around at all.
The hotel is located right in front of the flats and the fishing is excellent. Flat fishing tours which cost big money come here and fish. I caught a few Rockfish but the local fishing with me was a fishing machine, he caught everything from Horse-eyed Jack to Octupus, thanks for the lessons Derek.
The best memory we have though is about our hosts John and Sue. They were so attentive and knowlegable about the area. They provide such a relaxing atmosphere.
We hope to return soon but spend a little longer with these great people and at such a beautiful location.
Thanks for the great getaway John and Sue.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottawa Golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Sitting here with John, Sue, and a beautiful setting sun. This place has the bar and restaurant right on beach. The fish sandwhich is to die for and fajitas are top-notch. The service is fabulous and we have felt at home since we arrived here a week ago. A must see on your travel itinerary to sunny roatan.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adilello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2011

I had a phenominal stay at Hobbies. The owners, John and Sue, took care of me so well that I never wanted to leave! And when my Continental flight got cancelled due to mechanical problems they gladly took me back in for a night.

The restaurant has incredible food at great prices and the beach is literally right there!

With regards to comments others have made: The two apartments they have are off the restaurant/bar, however they close down around 9pm and I was never bothered by anyone or any noise. You can choose to cook all of your own meals and never speak to a soul if you like OR if you need anything, anything - just ask they want you to enjoy your stay with them AND they want you to enjoy your visit to Roatan. Wireless internet is available, you can rent a Hondurian cell phone so you can call the states cheap, did I mention the food is great, the beach is less than 30 feet away, and the staff is friendly and helpful! It is not a 5 star hotel - it is a relaxing laid back place to go on vacation to relax . . . to just enjoy yourself and do as you please when and wherever you like with the safety and security of people who know the island.

Thank you John, Sue, and Inez - I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
2.8 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
6.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
4.6 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 7 in West End
586 reviews
2.7 mi away
Blue Bahia Resort
Blue Bahia Resort
#5 of 5 in Sandy Bay
209 reviews
4.1 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobbies Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobbies Hideaway

Property: Hobbies Hideaway
Address: Main Island road, Sandy Bay | directly on the beach Beach, Roatan 11011, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandy Bay,just off the main road on a secluded beachfront area that is quiet and tranquil. The white sand beach parallels the reef and inside the Roatan Marine preserve . Here is a pristine reef system with a abundance of tropical fish and corals within swimming distance from your accommodations Hobbies Hideaway offers affordable prices and a excellent location. Close to West End for the night life,bars and restaurants yet far enough away not to hear the bands at night. Coxen Hole has the new supermarkets and sovenier shops. Best prices on the island just a taxi ride away. $2.00 a person ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hobbies Hideaway Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing