We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachcombers and Sunshine Cafe”
Review of Hobbies Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roatan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hobbies Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Albury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beachcombers and Sunshine Cafe”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We had a fantastic time staying at Beachcombers (Hobbies Hideaway). John and Sue were great hosts, very friendly and catered to all our needs. They have an amazing location in Sandy Bay, overlooking the beach with plenty of activities to keep you active. Free kayaking, snorkling gear etc and a great reef which you can swim to from the pier directly out from the apartment.
The restuarant at Beachcombers (Sunshine Cafe) is also fantastic and serves very tasty and large Tex Mex meals at very affordable prices, and seafood dishes can be made to order .. The 3 lobster tales were great. Kenny and Kathy whom run the resturant are very friendly and happy to make anything you desire.
Its a short taxi to West end and West bay, and we would definately recomend hiring a car for the day to visit the other end of the island which is less developed.
I definately recomending staying with John and Sue at Beachcombers if your looking for a more personal and private vaccation with your own private beach rather than the commercial Hotels found in West Bay ... or even dropping into Sunshine Cafe for a very tasy meal.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deangrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    30
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
92
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

As they were not full I was given the large downstairs apartment. The hosts were friendly, cooked good meals and bar always open. The all you can eat seafood weekly special was great an brought in a fun crowd. Cabs were easy to get if you needed a lift to the more commercial west end. weather did not cooperate as it rained and was chilly every other day but that's mother nature! Hosts even git me in touch with a friend who had horses and as I try and ride on every trip, I looked her up and we along with a native Honduran guy had a great all day ride! I also dove with Lemon Tree divers. Good trip but check your stuff...mine was missing the wet suit! But thankfully water was warm enough. Stay at Hobbie's!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xhileration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My wife and I spent three weeks at hobbies hideaway in march 2011. this was our second time to Roatan. Our first time we stayed in west bay beach. West bay beach is argubly the best beach on the island but we will be returning this march for another stay with John and Sue at Hobbies hide away on sandy beach. Why? Because we really like the location and the hospitality that John and Sue provide. The beach out front of the restaraunt and suites has beatifull nice sand but the water at the edge of beach is full of sea grass. Many people veiw this as a negative but I realize that this is a real possitve because the reaf on this part of the island is alive and well and is continuing to grow. We spent several days not leaving the resort . On a bad day we might of had to share the beach with 3 or 4 others instead many hundred on cruise ship days at west bay beach. The resort is centrally located on the island only a five dollar cab ride to most popular spots on the island or the local bus/van one dollar.The snorkeling out front of the resort is excellent and can be easily swam to from the wonderfull dock out front of the resort.. probably the best snorleing on the entire island is in sandy bay area. A couple to try are hobies cut and wall. Also no trip to Roatan would be complete without checking out spooky channel. this channel is acessable from the beach and is about a kilometer from hobbies. what makes this channel so special is that it is only about 6 to 20 feet wide. the coral on either side basically goes almost to surface of the water but the channel is upto 150 feet deep thus it gets its name spooky because it is. The channel leads you to reef wall which is simply spectacular The suites are very comfortable with full kitchens. There are a couple ofgrocery stores within a ten minute ride. The restaraunt bar out front has a good selection of reasonably priced meals to choose from. The best part of the resort other than the location are the owners John and Sue. They truly treat each guest as a more of friend and a relative then a guest. Please note Roatan is in the caribean so you will find the island has many sand flies and other critters such as newts and gecho's which were here long before us which we must be willing to share paradise with. If you happen to see a gecho in the bar this is a good thing because they eat mosquitoes and sand flies

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Charley37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Dalles, Oregon
Level Contributor
327 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

When you research on Trip Advisor, pick highly rated lodgings, love them, then return to post a review, it's hard to come up with positive things that haven't been said over and over. That's the case right now for me and this review of Hobbies Hideaway. In summary:
:: the beach is beautiful
:: the owners, Sue and John, couldn't be more helpful
:: our apartment was spacious, well appointed, comfortable, and a bit funky (in other words, perfect)
:: the snorkeling was FANTASTIC!

We shopped in Coxen Hole at Plaza Mar and prepared all but a couple of our meals in the apartment kitchen; we ate a dinner and a breakfast at the Sunshine Cafe just outside our door and enjoyed both. My husband fished every day with only minimal success but loved the hunt. I dove 3 times with a neighbor named Holly who is setting up a dive shop next door (wonderful) and snorkeled to my heart's content - I spent more than 4 hours a day in the water. It was an easy and interesting 5 minute swim over turtle grass to the house reef. Although the reef gets a lot of pressure, the fish populations were strong and we saw some really special critters in addition to the usual cast of reef fish; I identified nearly 100 species. Highlights were eagle rays, sting rays, triggerfish, lots of juvenile damsels and butterflies, gorgeous angels, huge barracuda and porcupine fish, and recurring visits with a school of ENORMOUS rainbow parrot fish, 4-5 feet long (see photos).

Sandy Bay is a good base, a bit secluded (in a good way) yet within easy reach of Coxen Hole for banking and groceries and West End andWest Bay (though we didn't set foot in either this trip). I spent one morning hiking in the beautiful Carambola Reserve again this visit.

Hobbies Hideaway is a beautiful, inexpensive, comfortable home away from home with a gorgeous reef an easy swim away - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Spend as much time on the reef as you can - you'll see something new every time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hopefulist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed at Hobbies Hideaway with our 2-year-old for a week, and were very happy with the experience. The best part of this place is the owners and the staff. Everyone was unbelievably attentive, and very friendly. The owners gave us an excellent orientation to Roatan, and were happy to provide us with anything we needed -- all we had to do was ask. There is no request you could make that is too big or too small. For example, when I asked if there was an internet cafe nearby, one of the owners knocked on my door and let me borrow his laptop. He was even kind enough to take us out on his boat to see a free dolphin show!

Hobbies Hideaway is a great bargain -- we basically had our own one-bedroom apartment for the week, and were able to save a ton of money on food by cooking in. When we weren't in the mood to cook, the restaurant was right outside our door and had great food. In case you're wondering, the restaurant being so close wasn't a bother at all -- it closes by 9pm and you can't hear any noise when you're sleeping anyway. But if it does bother you, just tell them to cut the noise, and the restaurant owners will take care of it. You always get your way at this place!

The only thing you don't get at Hobbies Hideaway is a resort environment. There's a small beach and swimming area right there, but you need to take a cab to get to that classic, white sand Caribbean beach with lots of rich people on it (you know, the one on the front of your guide book). This place is relaxing, comfortable, friendly, and simple. And you'll feel like you're in "Cheers" -- everyone knows your name and is happy that you're there. If that's enough for you, I highly recommend Hobbies Hideaway.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kcdclcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed at Hobbie's in mid-May. We had a great time! John and Sue are fantastic hosts, and we highly recommend this place.

Pros:
1) You can easily swim from the beach to the reef for great snorkeling. Snorkel gear is provided.

2) Beach is private so you don't have to deal with crowds of tourists or people trying to sell you stuff.

3) Victor, the bartender/waiter is amazing! He was very attentive and even provided us with some referrals for diving and other excursions on the island.

4) The food at Sunshine Cafe is delicious. There is a large selection, reasonable prices, and big portions.

5) John picked us up from the ferry port. And he took us for a boat tour of the island.

6) A/C works great!

7) There is a pier/dock, which provides shade from the sun and an escape from sand flies.

8) Rooms are spacious, with full kitchen.

9) 5 gallons of purified water provided in room

10) A very relaxed atmosphere!

Cons:
1) A bit of a drive to the hot spots of West Bay/West End, if you are looking for night life. Although cab rides are cheap and easy to catch right outside the entrance on the main road. (About 30 lempira per person, each way)

2) The beach is OK...not the prettiest on the island...but still nice. Worth it for the peace and quiet. Also, tons of sea grass in the water, and it's shallow, so you can't really swim at the beach. You have to go out at the dock.

3) The rooms are right beside the bar, so when you leave your room you are smack in the middle of the cafe. But the bar closes early, and you can't really hear the noise from inside your room.

We are glad we booked at Hobbie's, and would definitely go back for our next trip to Roatan!

Mike and Sharleen

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We spent the first two weeks of May as guests of Sue and John at Hobbies Hideaway in Sandy Bay, Roatan. The facilities and atmosphere are exactly as described in so many of the reviews. The setting is very relaxed and easy going. On the mornings we were not rushing off to go diving, we had a leisure coffee on the beach. Mornings are the best time to go snorkelling on the reef immediately in front of Hobbies. John took the time to take us out and give us a tour of some of his favourite spots on the reef.

Sue provides an unofficial concierge service. She ordered us a rental car, helped up plan an island tour, directed us to the best grocery store and told what the taxi fair should be (occasional you have to negotiate with the taxi drivers). Taxi's were inexpensive and passed by the end of Hobbies laneway at regular intervals. After a day touring the island, diving, or hanging out at West Bay, we'd come back to Hobbies, pick up a couple of cold brews (the local beer is excellent) and head out to the end of the pier where the steady breeze keeps the heat in check and the sand flies at bay.

In the afternoon and evening the activity at the bar and restaurant picks up with a mix of locals and expats. We met some of the regulars, who, like our hosts were great people, generous and fun. Other times, we sat by ourselves at the back of the restaurant, reading, or enjoying a leisure beverage while watching the sunset. John and Sue made a point of ensuring that we treated the restaurant like an extension of the apartment.

There are only two apartments, both off the bar/restaurant facing the beach. The apartments come with a fully equipped kitchen and we made many of our own meals. However, when we needed a break, or wanted something special, Hobbies Sunshine Cafe has great food. They have everything from burgers, to spaghetti, to lobster tails (we had that twice). They served a local Mothers Day supper that was excellent. Prices were very reasonable and portions are large. If you ask, Sue will match your meal with a nice wine.

Free internet allowed us to keep on top of things back home including the election and playoff hockey. John even put the hockey game on the big screen above the bar (This was certainly appreciated as I don't know that John is a big hockey fan).

We had a great vacation at Hobbies and Roatan in general. John and Sue are excellent hosts. I would have no problem recommending this place to others.

Regards,

Steve, Anne, Ben & Dave
Sudbury, Canada

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SudburyReitzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
2.8 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
4.6 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Blue Bahia Resort
Blue Bahia Resort
#5 of 5 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
4.1 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobbies Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobbies Hideaway

Property: Hobbies Hideaway
Address: Main Island road, Sandy Bay | directly on the beach Beach, Roatan 11011, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandy Bay,just off the main road on a secluded beachfront area that is quiet and tranquil. The white sand beach parallels the reef and inside the Roatan Marine preserve . Here is a pristine reef system with a abundance of tropical fish and corals within swimming distance from your accommodations Hobbies Hideaway offers affordable prices and a excellent location. Close to West End for the night life,bars and restaurants yet far enough away not to hear the bands at night. Coxen Hole has the new supermarkets and sovenier shops. Best prices on the island just a taxi ride away. $2.00 a person ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hobbies Hideaway Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing