We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You should stay here”
Review of Hobbies Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roatan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hobbies Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You should stay here”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The groomsmen in my wedding took me to Roatan for my bachelor party. We (five total) stayed at Hobbies Hideaway for a week. It was a truly amazing trip. Hobbies has everything you could ask for in a place to stay, from the huge patio equipped with your own bar to a beautiful dock where you can do cannonballs under the milky way. While we had a pretty wild and rambunctious trip there were others staying right next store to us and they had no complaints of noise or anything like that. John and Sue were excellent hosts and accommodated us beautifully from the first day to the last, including transportation to and from the airport, a fishing trip, and a delicious dinner on the last night. We spent 90% of our trip out doors but the apartment inside was complete with everything we needed to get by. I would strongly recommend Hobbies Hideaway as a great place to stay for anyone one from couples to families and even a group of friends looking to have a wild time. Oh and did I mention you can swim from the dock to the second largest corral reef in the world? Not a bad way to pass your downtime. Thanks to John and Sue for a great trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    30
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
93
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My brother is getting married, so the groomsmen told him to take off for 7 days in August 2013 and be ready for adventure. We managed to keep the destination secret until we got him to the airport. We were all blown away by Hobbies Hideaway, as much as the groom to be!

John picked us up at the airport, took us into town, made us a banging farewell dinner on our last day, took us deep sea fishing, gave us recipes for all the fish we caught on his pier, let us take out kayaks and snorkeling equipment to the second biggest coral reef in the world, and provided great company and stories along with his wife, Susan, and their other guests.

The taxis were available at the end of the driveway all day and night. Everyone we met bent over backwards to accommodate us and be our hookups for the week. We did a canopy zip line into a wildlife reserve, We held macaws and played with monkeys. We did some deep sea night and day fishing. We killed it with back flips off of every two story dock we could find!

We are young guys looking to party and adventure, and we found both, It will be a bachelor party for the history books! #wolfpack #thehangoverpart4 #justinandtiff2013

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DireWolf484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I stayed at Hobbies along with 2 of my girlfriends this summer, we were not disappointed! I had read reviews before we got there so I had heard about John and Sue's hospitality- they more than exceeded what I had read. They picked us up from the airport, took us to grocery stores, arranged snorkeling, and made the most fantastic fish fry lunch. I wish I could've stayed longer as John's knowledge of Roatan is unbeatable (as others have mentioned).
If you are looking for a relaxed place to stay this is it. You have a full apartment and kitchen and the water is right outside your front door.
The house is a short walk from the road where cabs are available whenever you need them (simply walk up to the road and they'll be right there).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jocelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Everything is pretty close to perfect here - location, apartment, things to do, or not do if you feel that way inclined, and most importantly, 2 hosts that go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure you have a wonderful holiday. Can't recommend it enough. Don't bother looking anywhere else; you will save your self a lot of hassle and money, and you will not be disappointed. Perfect choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBogJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This was our first visit to Roatan. A best friend retired to Roatan and arranged for us to stay at Hobbies. John and Sue are the best! They go out of their way to make sure you have a great stay. As the other posts say, John knows everything about the island and will help you do whatever you desire. We snorkeled from off the pier and also took a boat tour with John. He took us to four different sites and it was wonderful. Ron a local captain that goes out with John was also wonderful. He and John swam with us to point at the best areas at each site and looked after us. Definitely a highlight of the week. The apartments have everything you need, you are right on the beach and it is quiet with a gorgeous view. What more can you ask for. Thank You John and Sue for a Great Vacation and introduction to Roatan.
Laura, Bob and Brandon

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethany12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitou Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2013

John was the most helpful person that I have ever rented from. He knows the ins and outs of the entire island. There are tourist prices and local prices everywhere on the island and he can advise on where to get groceries, fresh sea food, cheap beer and any other service. He is very gracious with his property, boat and his own private open air spacious bar. The location is the absolute best for snorkeling and diving and he knows the reef in his area better than anyone. His beach area is very private and safe. The apartment was inexpensive clean, comfortable and air conditioned.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

If you're looking for a safe, economical and quiet place to enjoy some of the best beach snorkeling in the Carribbean, it would be hard to beat Hobbies Hideway on the eastern end of Sandy Bay, Roatan. If you are looking for a party scene or to be pampered, you should stick with West Bay. Hobbies' outdoor amenities included a private beach, big grill, and two story dock at your doorstep, with complimentary kayaks, paddleboats, and snorkel gear supplied for our 9-night stay. Hobbies was far enough from West End/West Bay to get away from the crowds but close enough to have easy access to the reef, good roads, and safe/dependable transportation. No offense to the cruise ship guests but at Hobbies you dont have to deal with the 8,000 -20,000 cruise ship guests that bombard the island one to three days a week. We did not rent a car and had no trouble with catching taxi's from the main road. Hobbie was also nice enough to let us know when he was going to Coxen Hole for some shopping. The apartment is clean and functional with a back porch that is like no other with hand made mahogany chairs, a bar, and plenty of room to invite the neighbors over for a drink.

We went deep sea fishing early in the trip and caught mahi, tuna, and barracuda. The fillets easily paid for the 4 hour trip and kept our family of four in fresh fish for the week. Hobbie showed us the best places to buy groceries and fresh fruit. The Blue Parrot is the only restaurant within walking distance but the jerked chicken and curry chicken are excellent. We ate some good meals in West Bay (Foster's lobster tails) and West End (Splash Inn - risotto), but we ate mostly at home experimenting with new spices, fruits, and vegetables from the market. However there is no doubt our best meal was lunch at Marble Hill Farms..... yellow tail snapper with olives and tomatoes. Their home made salsas, jams, and freshly baked chips were also unforgettable.

For the most part, we stayed around Hobbies for great snorkeling, fishing, and kayaking. We explored the nearby mangrove thicket just to the east of Sandy Bay Point by kayak several times. We also did the zip line and jungle tour at Gumbalimaba Park near West End. The monkeys, reptiles, and insect displays were all happy and well tended. The tour was well worth the time. We learned about the history, flora, and fauna of the island in detail. Gumbalimba monkeys were all running free and were nice as long as you dont grab them or let them think you have food. The Macaws were also incredible!
We were also lucky enough to get Hobbie to give us a one day tour of the Island. Be prepared for some rough roads if you want to venture to the east but Punta Gorda, Marble Hill Farms and Paya Bay are worth the dust and pot holes. Most regular taxis wont even go that far.

The bugs are everywhere in Roatan. Save yourself some bug goop money by bringing some loose pants and shirts to wear if you are going to be on the beach around dusk or dawn when the no see ums are most active. They can swarm you with dozens of bites in a manner of minutes and they wont itch immediately. Be diligent and you wont have any problems. We used Bullfrog sun tan/bug lotion product that worked great. But its pricey. We came home with lots of bites but nothing serious. We didn't get any additional inoculations for the trip and had no problems. The most likely health concerns for Roatan are bad tap water and mosquito borne illnesses like dengue and malaria, but we had no problems.

Easy access to the near-pristine reef is what makes Roatan unique. Plan you trip around that and you cant go wrong. If you are looking for the night scene, discount malls, and a miracle strip then you will come up short in Roatan. But we couldnt have asked for a better place than Hobbies for the family to relax and explore at our leisure. It is a one of a kind hideaway on Roatan. And Hobbie, Sue and Vodoo (the dog) are one of a kind managers who really care about your stay. I just hope it doesnt change before I get to go back! On a final note.....Do not listen to the youtube videos of realtors saying you should only stay at West End or West Bay....they just want you to spend your money with them. There is great snorkeling all along the north shore, you just need to find a good base of operations that suits your needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobbieshideaway, Owner at Hobbies Hideaway, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Hello Gary, thank you very much for your professional reporting on the true nature of Roatan. We certainly appreciate the facts. Hobbies Hideaway does indeed try to make our quests comfortable and provide needed orientation of island attractions. We also advise to stay away from the pandering taxi drivers that are so accommodating at double the normal fare.
As you realized part of our package amenities are all not advertised. We do like to surprise our guests sometimes .Of course the fishing provides meals on the BBQ. Thank you again for the great review. On your return we hope to have more surprises for you and company' It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Sincerely Your hosts,John and Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
2.8 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
6.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.8 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
606 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 8 in West End
593 reviews
4.1 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobbies Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobbies Hideaway

Property: Hobbies Hideaway
Address: Main Island road, Sandy Bay | directly on the beach Beach, Roatan 11011, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 Speciality Lodging in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandy Bay,just off the main road on a secluded beachfront area that is quiet and tranquil. The white sand beach parallels the reef and inside the Roatan Marine preserve . Here is a pristine reef system with a abundance of tropical fish and corals within swimming distance from your accommodations Hobbies Hideaway offers affordable prices and a excellent location. Close to West End for the night life,bars and restaurants yet far enough away not to hear the bands at night. Coxen Hole has the new supermarkets and sovenier shops. Best prices on the island just a taxi ride away. $2.00 a person ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hobbies Hideaway Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing