We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOBBIES HOLIDAY”
Review of Hobbies Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roatan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hobbies Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
galion
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“HOBBIES HOLIDAY”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

First time to Roatan. My wife and I stayed 9 days at Hobbies in early March. John, Sue and Captain Ron made our visit the best. John's airport pick-up and his help and patience in the grocery store gave us peace of mind. We took a full day tour of the East end with John who showed us things we never would have found on our own. What ever we needed or wanted John or Sue made sure it happened. They even prepared a home made fish dinner with all the fixins. The fish were caught by the neighbors but were kind enough to share with all of Hobbies guests.Their beautiful beach and private pier is but a ten minute swim to a pristine reef that is loaded with all the sea creatures and corals you could want. West end is just a $5.00 cab ride and maybe ten minutes away. But after a couple visits to the busy West end and West bay beaches it was nice to return to Hobbies and relax and watch the sun go down. We hope to return to Hobbies and add some more great Roatan memories to the list.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank oh7016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobbieshideaway, Owner at Hobbies Hideaway, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hello, and unhappy to see you back at home. We wish you could have stayed longer.!! But you were able to get the feel for Roatan. Our tour really helps you see all the island. Not just the tourist areas. The reef and beach is beautiful in our private area of Sandy Bay and were happy you enjoyed it..
Thank you for the review and we hope to see you next year. Please email early for your special return discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    30
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
93
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leggett, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at Hobbies the week that John and Sue had to go to the States and although they were missed we were lucky to have Bill and Jean as our hosts. They were very warm and welcoming and were always checking to be sure we were having a great time (and we were)! Hobbies has it all, beautiful beach location and comfortable homey apartments with a huge front deck on the beach as our "second" living room. My husband had a medical problem and received excellent care from John and Sue's doctor. Thank you John not only for Dr. Selma but for calming me down and making it possible to safely complete our vacation. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliceblue71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobbieshideaway, Owner at Hobbies Hideaway, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hello Alice and Jim. thank you for a review. It's our guests that we appreciate and do our best to ensure they have a wonderful time at Hobbies. We also thank our co hosts while away.
Something that we don't advertise is Dra. Zelma Interneraios availability to our guests in a emergency. We were relieved she was able to stabilize a serious problem that occurred. She is one of the best on the island. Our guests can always feel secure when staying at Hibboies Hideaway. Thank you for staying with us. See you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

John picked us up at the airport, and we shopped for groceries so we could do our own cooking. Both John and Sue were great hosts--the chips and salsa were greatly appreciated after our long trip. John took us fishing in his small boat, and we both caught barracuda, which we enjoyed eating! John and Sue even cooked it up the island way for us one night! The fish, plantains, and rice were delicious! The only sad thing was that I left the rest of our fish in the freezer when we left to spend a week on the other side of the island....T.he snorkeling was great, and it was nice to have kayaks to use to go our to the reef or to fish in the mangroves. We really enjoyed our stay and are planning to return

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank sherisinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobbieshideaway, Owner at Hobbies Hideaway, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Hello John & Sherri, Thank you for staying with us. We welcome your return. John I still owe you a picture of that big Barracuda you caught fishing with us plus others I"ll email it when the computer is repaired. It's a excellent photo of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wills Point, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

this was my 2nd vaca at hobbies - this time aug 31-oct 5 - yippee 5 weeks! its hard to add anything to the great reviews! john and sue met me at airport - off to the grocery store where i loaded up on the deep woods off w/deet - my island perfume. this time along w/all the fruits/veggies/chips and hot sauces - i also bought filet mignon - omgoodness! over 3 lbs for under $18.00 - i even made a stew one nite w/it - i cant even look at it in the states - it grilled up perfect! steak, lobster & shrimp almost every day! back to the bug spray - the no-seeums can be bad so i also bought those mesquito coils and hung them around and that really helped. i stayed in same apt - 1 - king bed was comfy - w/extra pillows-yay! i also liked the day bed in the living/tv room, they had a fan and cold a/c which i dont use until nite. the griddle was nice too - i took it out on patio and cooked on it - didn't heat up my apt. heck, i cooked just about everything outside - when i cooked. i asked danny (boat cap) and his wife - julie to cook for us a couple of times! talk about some good eats! ask em to cook for you! very reasonable price to do this :) we went to frenchys 44 - nice - right on the water - very big and good rum punch. i took the nite fishing tour this time and caught a a lot of fish - enough to last my 5 weeks - grilled, fried, steamed, baked, you name it! john even made marine stew w/some. my first time to snorkel was last yr and john was so patient w/me - i can swim but im not as strong a swimmer as some and i do tend to get excited sometime - anyway, when we went out this time - Ronnie (helper) tied a rope to the life ring and i floated on it and snorkeled - he even bought up star fish for me to touch & take a pic! it was great! also, some of the other guests swam from the dock to the reef - i was too leary - Ronnie to the rescue again - he suggested i use the noodle so, i put my mask on and we made up a new name - snoodle:) so i snoodled out to the reef! :) his wife celia braided my ponytail - she did such a great job - i didn't take it down until i got home! oh yeah, while im thinking about it - use the atm at the airport - it works more than the others. one more little thing - hobbies has everything you need but i bought some styrofoam cups and my ice lasted a lot longer. me and sue would jump in a taxi or even better one of those buses and go to west end to eat at another fav of mine - coconut tree restaurant - has the best shrimp salad! this time too, instead of sitting on the dock all the time - i sat in the back by the pond and threw out my old bread - lots of birds back there. at nite, it was so much fun to sit on the upper deck and watch the nite sky w/rum punch :) the best time this year was going to the childrens home - last yr there was a couple staying at hobbies and they had bought down all kinds of things for the kids so, i took caps, school supplys, books, colors/color books and bubbles - they love caps and bubbles! - vaca #3 is comin up - cant wait to get back down there! thank you john and snoodlin sue! see ya soon!

Room Tip: i put frozen ice cubes in gal baggie and always had plenty. freeze your water bottles. i liked the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onecentntx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palestine, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Hobbies Hideaway is just perfect for us. We have been guests there six times and we are going back in March. John and Sue are the most sweetest people who just want to make your visit the very best it can be. It sits right on the beach, there is a long pier that takes you half way to the reef. The reef and the area around the pier is full of wild marine life, it is just wonderful. If you don't want to swim, you can lounge on the pier or porch and just enjoy the view. Hobbies Hideaway is away from all the people and crowds but you can catch a taxi at the corner. John meets you at the airport, takes you to the grocery store and back to the airport. John has two boats that he will take you fishing or snorkeling. You can't ask for much more, it is truly a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Not sure how much I can add to what has been written... We stayed with John and Sue last February, 2013, for a week. The apartment was very clean and comfortable. The kitchen was more than adequate for our needs. It is a great location away from the touristy end of the island. We had a pretty high surf most of the week so snorkeling on the reef was a bit more challenging due to the currents, but it beat the heck out of swimming in a snowdrift back home. All of our needs were met and it was difficult to leave. Definitely going back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Let me start by saying 'ditto' on every good thing you've ever read or heard about Hobbies Hideaway and it's Wonderful Hosts/owners John & Sue. The best way I can describe the lodging and presence of this tucked away treasure is it is like a 5 star bed and breakfast meets a 3.5 star hotel (only reason not higher is because it's not "Fancy" but it is fine and clean.) If your looking to feel completely like a tourist and have modern deco décor with glass, brass, mirrors, ceramics and sculptures, then this is not the place for you.) You get all the warmth and amenities of a 5 star bed and breakfast minus the meals (though if your lucky John and Sue may whip you up a plate of one of their delicious island specialties just out of the kindness of their hearts) in the respect that the hospitality is bar none an the atmosphere is warm and cozy. John and Sue make you feel like your having the privilege of visiting a longtime friend that opens up their home to you and just happens to live in a tropical paradise and just a few feet from their/your door awaits a serene secluded beach and only the worlds 2nd largest barrier reef! You know your on vacation but you don't feel like your on vacation, in the sense that you feel like your right at home. As a matter of fact I'm fairly certain before you leave you'll contemplate making this your home. They provide not only everything you need when your home (except for food, clothes, and toiletries) but they even keep your toilet paper, soap, and coffee stocked (including powder creamer). They also supplied us with a cell phone with some starter air time in case we needed to make a few calls back to the states (we hailed from the US) or just stay in contact while on the island. John picks you up from the airport and can supply you with a ride back at the end of your stay. He brings you to the grocery store and gets you acclimated with the pricing and shopping. You won't get that kind of hospitality in a bed and breakfast or a time share. It has all the warmth of a bed and breakfast and the quaintness too. Our apartment that we stayed at was clean and spacious. We had a nice size bedroom and bathroom with a King size bed. A full size kitchen with a full size refrigerator complete with microwave and stove (no oven but really, you won't need or want one who would want to bake in the heat anyway, even though the window A/C unit is more that sufficient for your stay). There is also living room complete with a TV and DVD player, 2 person couch and a daybed. And we were in what was considered the (1) bedroom apartment and it was located just under John and Sue's home. We had use of the porch (understatement) which triples as a lounge/ outdoor living room/ outdoor dining room. We also had use of the grill. We were supplied snorkeling gear and had use of the paddleboat and kayaks, dock and hammocks. The palm trees rendered fresh coconuts. The water was pristine and the reef was definitely within swimming distance. John is very knowledgeable of the island and the ways of the island. He has a boat and SUV and for a very reasonable fee can accommodate your desire to tour the island or waters and his tours can not be beat, price as well as quality... John and Sue will help you achieve a vacation where you can go to a beautiful tropical island and feel like an islander, "Island Life" as I call it. But whatever you do and wherever you go you will find your on island time (laid back and low key). And if you get the itch to feel touristy you can always head over to West End approx. 4 miles away to get your tourist on, where is touristy by day and sorta spring breaky by night. ;-} This type of lodging and location can accommodate Couples, Friends, Family, reunions, honeymoons, Small to Mid scale Events, etc. This trip was well worth every penny and an unbeatable, UNBEATABLE, value. In a word - Awesome!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dovess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
2.8 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
6.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.8 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
607 reviews
4.2 mi away
Cocolobo
Cocolobo
#3 of 8 in West End
593 reviews
4.1 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobbies Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobbies Hideaway

Property: Hobbies Hideaway
Address: Main Island road, Sandy Bay | directly on the beach Beach, Roatan 11011, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandy Bay,just off the main road on a secluded beachfront area that is quiet and tranquil. The white sand beach parallels the reef and inside the Roatan Marine preserve . Here is a pristine reef system with a abundance of tropical fish and corals within swimming distance from your accommodations Hobbies Hideaway offers affordable prices and a excellent location. Close to West End for the night life,bars and restaurants yet far enough away not to hear the bands at night. Coxen Hole has the new supermarkets and sovenier shops. Best prices on the island just a taxi ride away. $2.00 a person ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hobbies Hideaway Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing