We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for a better place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hobbies Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roatan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hobbies Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't ask for a better place to stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

I traveled with a group of friends and stayed at the Beachcomber, which is next door to Hobbie's Hideaway. The place was great. Wonderful patio looking out to the ocean. Rooms were minimalist, but that was exactly what we were looking for. Located in Sandy Bay, we were away from the hustle and bustle of West End and Coxen Hole, but close enough to take Microbuses into either town. We were able to snorkel right off the beach from the house.

We spent alot of our time next door at the Sunshine Cafe and Bar. John and Sue are the most gracious hosts. They were attentive to all our needs and were full of great information as far as things to do. Kathy cooks wonderful food and Dinora is a fabulous bartender. By the end of the week, we had eaten almost everything the menu had to offer...and it was all great and great prices too. Don't miss the Friday Night All-You-Can-Eat Fish and Shrimp.

Of course, like any vacation, we were all sad to leave...but I think even more so because John and Sue (and the rowdy gang of regulars) quickly became friends!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cessparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    30
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
92
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
austin, tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

To preface this review, my 5 friends and I stayed next door to Hobbie's in a rental unit (Beach Comber) that is managed by the kind owners of said establishment, John and Sue.
Our place was nice and simple. No real luxuries to speak of but, it had what we wanted.
Now John and Sue made sure we were taken care of, from begining to end.
Their establishment had updated rooms with kithchens and showers and are available for short term or long term stays on the Island. It is located in Sandy Bay, a short distance to Coxen Hole and West End. Micro buses run about L 15 in both directions.
I just have to talk about the service we had received while there. John and Sue both took great care of us. Whatever information we needed, tours etc they new who and at a good price. While there, we ate most of our meals at their cafe (Sunshine Cafe) which was also a bar that we frequented most nights. It is more of a local place without all of the tourism and fuss. The food ranged from omlette's to all you can eat seafood. They have amazing conch fritters and an amazing selection of hot sauce.
By the end of the trip, I felt like they were family. While there take some time to get to know them, they have wonderful stories and are a delight just to hang with. I would highly recommend visiting their establishment if you are looking for good food, good customer service and a laid back island feel.
(note: when in Latin American countries, things move at a slower pace so don't expect food to come out American fast. They only have one cook for day and one for night. All things are made fresh)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewtigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolinna
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

If you are looking for an incredibly wonderful stay on a Carribean island, this is for you. You will be surprised at how much you get and how little you pay. My fiancee and I were looking for a cheap place to stay for a few days while waiting for or room to open at the very expensive and all inclusive resort we had scheduled to celebrate her 27 birthday. Instead we found an large and very clean ocean front air conditioned apartment four times the size of the expensive room we had reserved. And, how many tiimes does the owner of the resort pick you up in his sportscar from the airport or ferry? And, you step ort of your apartment to the restaurant and bar where you find an expatriot local international gathering of men and women who welcome you immediately as one of them. The conversation ranges from the extreme left to the extreme right and everything in between. I stress that this is intelligetn conversation without yelling and with a not so much cussing. You meet Captain Steve ( A native of Roatan Island who was born on Roatan when Roatan was part of British Hondoras) who will tell you the days price he is gettng for fresh lobster and fish and will sell directly to you if you care to cook in your apartment.You walk out of your apartment and step directly onto the beach. You look out a hundred yards or so and see the great barrier reef and the pier leadiing directly to the reef that rivals the Great Barroer Reef of Australia. There you are only a hundred yard walk from the very best snorkling and skin diving in the world. You will not believe the mass and variety of sealife. In short, We loved Roatan Island and Hobbies Hideaway so much we are going back for a month in October. By Mickey Andrews, Winston Salem, North Caroling

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potrock213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

Stayed here 2 weeks. Could swim to the reef and snorkel without having to pay for boat. Restaurant was great, Very reasonable and good variety of food.The owners were very friendly and helpfull. Transport by taxi or bus very reasonable for going to other parts of the island,

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nataor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Ceiba, Honduras
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

I spent another week at Hobbies Hideaway. This is the nineth trip to Roatan and the third time that I have stayed here. The rooms are clean, confortable and roomy. The sunshine cafe and bar are just one step outside of the rooms and 50 feet from the ocean. Of the 39 items on the menu all that we tried were very good and filling without needing to take out a second loan on your home. Soon they may be serving breakfast. At this time only lunch and dinner are available but lunch starts early. There is a long dock that goes out nearly 400 feet into the clean, clear, warm water and the reef is just a very short swim the from the end of the dock.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OneCaptainMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

For those of you who remember the TV show Fantasy Island, Ricardo Montablan as Mr Rourke has nothing on Mr Hobbie, the owner of this hidden getaway... even though he reminds me more of Tatu! :-)

If you are looking for a place to totally relax and be disconnected from everything... then this is the place for you!

Hobbie met us at the airport and is definately a known and respected 'Islander", as he had us, and our bags, on the ride to the "Hideaway" very quickly.

We arrived first thing in the morning at Hobbie's steps and were immediately greeted by the beautiful sound of the crashing morning surf... however, when we looked at the shoreline, it was calm as a drawn bath. What took our breath away was the view of the waves as they broke in a crescendo on the coral reef roughly 100 yards off the shore. To view mother nature in all her beauty, while its tranquilty was at our feet was awe inspiring and let us know that we had picked the right spot.

We later learned that this is the second largest reef system in the world...and it is beautiful!!!!

From there it was to our bungalow. A two room resident with a FULL kitchen. Hobbie was very informative about the local retail establishments and where to purchase any neccesary amenities. That being said, the cuisine at Hobbies' restaurant "Sunshine Cafe" is delicious. From a good ol' fashioned American Cheeseburger to what has to be the freshest local seafood. If you want some Conch (pronounced konk) Fritters that are more Conch than batter, you have to try these... and the prices will make you think you are paying for a value meal!

Getting back to the room, it is of ample size and comfort, including the bath. The kitchen was fully outfitted with all of the necessary utensils, cutlery and appliances. There was more than enough storage for our wardrobe, and the air condtioning was ice cold! While the island weather was pleasant, it was nice to walk into an island igloo! There is a quaint dining room set, a television and if you just can't get away from needing to get on-line, Hobbie's has internet capability! You may keep in touch with all current events back in "uncivilization" through Hobbie's broad spectrum of satellite TV stations, as well.

While the island of Roatan has a great deal of things to just relax in, the most relaxing was right outside the door of our room, the Caribbean Sea! We kayaked out to the reef everyday and tied off to buoys that allowed us dive the reef and take in its wonder. Hobbie has kayaks and snorkle gear that made this possible. It is best to take this in first thing in the morning, as the afternoon "trade winds" make for a challenging paddle back. The brillant colors, underwater sealife (seahorses!) and the gently swaying of fan coral with the current, while suspended in water that you can stand in at spots with your "tippy toes," is something that you must do!

After taking in a day on the island, you can simply kick back in one of Hobbies' hammocks, or take a stroll on the dock that seems to reach almost to the reef. This dock is two storied, with the view of the sky in the evening nothing short of spectacular! Away from the bright lights of the city, you can almost reach out and touch every star!

Sitting on the dock, you are still close enough to take in the sound of one of the local bands that plays at the "Sunshine Cafe."
Combine this with a Pina Colada and the gentle evening breeze and you will be swinging in a rythmic island beat that will make even the worst dancer forget they have two left feet!

While the night life and clubs of Roatan echo a South Beach- eseque vibe, the realxation with the "locals" and liquor is one I definately enjoyed moreso at Hobbie's Sunshine Cafe... the prices were better, as well! You could easily be sitting across from a millionare who has chosen this hidden gem Roatan to spend their retirement, as much as a local. Both of whom were full of vibrant stories about the island and their lives.

Roatan is definately a place I would recommend to anyone! If you are looking for a relaxing true island "Hideaway" for your stay, that is not commercialized, the aptly named Hobbie's Hideaway is the place I would recommend to stay on Roatan.

Hobbie, and his adorable wife Susie, who I believe is the real boss! :-), are the perfect hosts and will do their best to accomodate any of your needs and inquiries.

It was sad the day we departed, after our relaxing 5 days in paradise, however, as the plane banked away as it gained altitude, our last glimpse of Hobbie's Hideaway on the shore left us longing to return very soon!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrottinfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

Hobbies is the place to go if you want to stay in the peace and quiet of Sandy Bay. It is close enough to West End and West Bay (5 min. taxi ride @ $2) and is also close to Coxen Hole and towns on the east end. John and Sue are great people and will give you the do's and don'ts of the island. The bar and resturant at Hobbies (Sunshine Cafe) is wonderful as well, with great food, conch steaks, conch fritters, lobster, shrimp and alot more. The Sunshine also offers great drinks with wonderful bartenders (Sonya and Rosa), including mixed drinks, beer, wine and shots. There is alot to do as well, beach walking with wonderful scenery, swimming from the pier, snorkling to the reef about 100 yds. out from the pier and fishing and the best thing is relaxing on a picture perfect beach without the crowds. It is a great place to base your operations out of, as you are close to everything. I will be going back.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunloverUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
2.8 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
4.6 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Blue Bahia Resort
Blue Bahia Resort
#5 of 5 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
4.1 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobbies Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobbies Hideaway

Property: Hobbies Hideaway
Address: Main Island road, Sandy Bay | directly on the beach Beach, Roatan 11011, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandy Bay,just off the main road on a secluded beachfront area that is quiet and tranquil. The white sand beach parallels the reef and inside the Roatan Marine preserve . Here is a pristine reef system with a abundance of tropical fish and corals within swimming distance from your accommodations Hobbies Hideaway offers affordable prices and a excellent location. Close to West End for the night life,bars and restaurants yet far enough away not to hear the bands at night. Coxen Hole has the new supermarkets and sovenier shops. Best prices on the island just a taxi ride away. $2.00 a person ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hobbies Hideaway Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing