We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you go to Roatan, you have to go Hobbie's!”
Review of Hobbies Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roatan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hobbies Hideaway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We didn't stay at Hobbie's Hideaway but lived down the lane from their place. When we first moved to Roatan,John and Sue were so welcoming. Our grandson would race down the road to Miss Sue's and she would always greet him with a glass of tropical juice. Many a night we would stroll down to their Bar and Restaurant for dinner for food to die for. We miss it very much and I would like to be sitting there right now having a Barena at the bar instead being cold in Calgary, Canada.. If you are heading to Roatan, you won't find a better place to stay, The setting, the company and the food are the best. A memorable holiday you will have.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2010

Hobbies hideaway was exactly what I imagined when I began looking for places to stay while visiting Roatan.

We found their hospitality to be outstanding, their conversation engaging, thier views spectacular, and their food and drinks kept us coming back day after day.

The unit is located in Sandy Bay, which is relatively off the beaten patth of tourists. What made it great was that when we were ready to leave Hobbies and see the rest of the island, there was always a taxi within 3 minutes. And within 10 more minutes and less than 5 dollars, we were in West End, or Punta Gorda.

Hobbies were very helpful in getting us familiarized with the island and the reccomended places to dive, and tour.

They have hammocks and tons of beach front right our thier front door!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

My husband and I wanted someplace unique to celebrate our 25th anniversary. What we found surpassed our expectations! We were John and Sue's guests for 3 weeks,so we had plenty of time to explore the island. The snorkling - just off the dock, was by far better than West Bay . Bonus - you will be the only ones out on the reef ! The food and drink at Hobbies is excellent and very reasonably priced. John and Sue were incredible -they went out of their way to assist us! I have to mention Hondo, such a lovable pooch, we looked forward to our morning greeting. No worries if you're not a dog person-he's very mellow and well behaved. Don't hesitate to stay here, you won't regret it. We can't wait to go back next year !

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13boxers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

hobbies hideaway is fantastic . john and sue are excellent host
the sunshine cafe restaurant and bar have great food and ice cold
beer and drinks { also a top notch wine selection } if your like us you like an authentic
island experience . not some resort which look and feel all the same . not to mention
the inflated prices . the staff of john / sue and company really gave us the personalized
serviceu just can;t get at the resorts . hobbiies is located just far away enough from the masses . yet minutes away from anything you need { shopping / baeches nightlife ect . }
and world class snorkling / swiming and water sports right outside your door at hobbies
hideaway . this is how the carribean use to be . we hessitate to share this hidden gem
but really felt obligated to praise hobbies .
thank you so much we will be back soon
peter and family

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter02895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

I stayed at hobbies hideaway for more than a week and it was absolutely awesome!!!! John and Sue the owners were so Helpful and friendly!!! The accomadations were good. I stayed in the one bedroom which had a full size kitchen and living room, ac,cell phone, cable and internet...That's really good because alot of places do not include all of that. As soon as i arrived John and Sue made me feel like I was totally at home. The food in the restaurant in great and at really great prices as well!!! It sits directly ocean front, but if you want to swim you will need to walk out to the end of the dock, which I wasn't particularly fond of due to the sea weed..lol...You will definitely see beautiful sunsets and get great pics sitting at the end of the doc though!!!! I will definitely be back to see John and Sue and enjoy wonderful and beautiful Roatan!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsFatima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We loved everything about Hobbies Hideaway. The location can't be beat. Steps away from the beach and wonderful snorkeling right off the pier. The apartment was spacious and had everything necessary to cook your own meals if you wished. We found we loved the food at the onsite restaurant, The Sunshine Cafe so much we ate most of our meals there. John and Sue were very accomodating for all our needs taking us to the bank and shopping. We love it so much we are headed back this summer.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimba45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We stayed at Hobbies Hideaway in Sandy Bay June 19-26, 2010.

Where to begin ?? John and Sue are the greatest hosts we have ever experienced on any of our vacations. As soon as we arrived at Hobbies, we were welcomed like family. We were also greeted by locals that frequent John and Sue's resturant called the Sunshine Cafe.

We rented the one bedroom and two bedroom apartment. Both apartments were spacious and had everything we needed for our stay such as a fully equipped kitchen, towels, linens, etc. The A/C worked great ! The apartments are well insulated and we were never disturbed by any outside noise. And when they say beachfront, they mean it! You can not get any closer to the water, beautiful sunsets and a awesome pier for snorkeling off of and also fishing.

The Sunshine Cafe that is on site is a terrific resturant and bar. Angie and Sue are great bartenders. We ate most of our meals at the cafe, and everything was great tasting, plentiful and very reasonably priced. You have to try the $5 three burger deal, it is a great deal, more than enough to eat and still have some left over. Steaks were really delicious also. The menu has a huge variety of items, it was tough to make a decision. We met alot of great people while enjoying afternoon cocktails at the fully stocked bar.

John is the man to talk to if you need to know anything about the island. Our last day on the island, John arranged for a van to take us to visit a local orphanage to see what they needed. He spent all day with us, taking us to a local grocery store and seafood/meat market to buy supplies for the kids. He also arranged for scuba tanks to be delivered to the hotel for diving, and scooters. John and Sue have the hookup on everything!

This was our first trip to Roatan, and hope to make many more. We really felt like we found paradise with all the great people on the island, and we could have not made a better choice when choosing to stay at Hobbies Hideaway. I am so glad we chose to stay in Sandy Bay vs. the more touristy West End/Bay area. You will not be dissapointed with Hobbies Hideaway. I was so sad when I had to leave....but there will be always more trips in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tejas01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
2.8 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
4.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in West End
272 reviews
4.1 mi away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Paya Bay Resort
Paya Bay Resort
#18 of 42 in Roatan
404 reviews
1.1 mi away
Puerta Azul
Puerta Azul
#2 of 5 in Sandy Bay
109 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hobbies Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hobbies Hideaway

Address: Island beach road, Sandy Bay | directly on the beach Beach, Roatan 11011, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Roatan
Price Range: £30 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sandy Bay,just off the main road on a secluded beachfront area that is quiet and tranquil. The white sand beach parallels the reef and inside the Roatan Marine preserve . Here is a pristine reef system with a abundance of tropical fish and corals within swimming distance from your accommodations Hobbies Hideaway offers affordable prices and a excellent location. Close to West End for the night life,bars and restaurants yet far enough away not to hear the bands at night. Coxen Hole has the new supermarkets and sovenier shops. Best prices on the island just a taxi ride away. $2.00 a person ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hobbies Hideaway Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing