We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful diving vacation in beautiful Roatan!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Roatan
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Wonderful diving vacation in beautiful Roatan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

For one week at the end of April 2014, our group of 50 divers from the Academy of Scuba in Phoenix, AZ "took over" the Turquoise Bay Resort. Being this was AOS's first large group trip, we weren't sure what to expect, especially as we did not choose the location or the resort, but, truly, we were blown away by the staff and accommodations at the Turquoise Bay Resort.

We were picked up at the airport by staff, and when our baggage taken from us, we were handed beer or water. Hello, vacation! Upon arriving at the resort, our bags were deposited at our rooms. Very nice!

The location is about 45 minutes from the West End (and approximately 30 minutes from the airport) give or take. But once you are on the resort, you have little reason to leave, and it is very close to excellent dive sites by boat (~1 to West End spots, ~5-10 minutes to excellent reef and Dolphin's Den).

The rooms are grouped kind of like bungalows. To get to them, you walk along pretty little manicured trails through lush landscaping, all while admiring the tropical view of the oceanfront property. Our rooms were very nice--tile floors (great for sand and diving), comfortable beds with linens that are all washed regularly (no old comforters, just crisp white linens), closet, safe, dresser, desk, coffee maker, tv, etc. The bathrooms had large floor to ceiling tiled showers. And the balconies and room (ours was #11) had great views of the ocean from every window! We also had internet access in both our rooms and the restaurant/lounge, and the A/C kept the room nice and cool.

The food was all-inclusive, and we were served buffets for every meal. All of the food was really good. Every meal had local choices as well as American standards, and there was always tons of fresh fruit and salad fixings. Typically, there was also someone making things fresh, whether that be grilled meats or fish, a pasta station, or an omelet station. The food was always varied and tasty, and I was pleased all week long. The selection of alcohols and mixed drinks was also excellent. Try the Monkey La La -- you will not be disappointed!

The pool was also excellent and kept sparkling clean. There are plenty of places to lie around on the pool deck or down on the beach. On the beach, which is always raked and clean, are tons of chairs and hammocks to relax in under palapas. There is also a long deck out on the ocean. Plenty of snorkeling is available right off the beach, and the water is calm, clear, and warm.

Above all, however, the staff is excellent and always willing to serve. Alejandro (Alex) was always quick to arrange any activity needed and even accompanied us on some to make sure everything went smoothly. The activity selection was varied (we tried the Dolphin Encounter--great!), and the resort can arrange easy transportation with super nice drivers. We even got out to the West End of Roatan with ease. Massages could be arranged even last minute for in your room. The restaurant staff was also always ready to serve -- Pablo would always appear at my side as soon as I sat down to arrange for drinks and any other items I may need. Dining was either outside or in, with tables on patios or in the air-conditioned dining room. Our beach bbqs were great with local entertainment and candle-lighted walk ways and tables. The resort was always clean, the service always quick and pleasant, and they really cared that we had a nice time! They would do "extras" too, like decorate our room with flowers. They always put flowers around our tables in the dining area, as well.

I am doing a separate review of Subway Watersports, the on-site dive location, but needless to say the diving was amazing and the shop was also equally amazing! Their dive staff truly went above and beyond, and they are comparable to any top dive shop around the world.

If you are looking for a dive vacation, or even just a beach getaway, in Roatan, look no further. This resort will give you plenty of things to do both under and above the sea, for divers and non-divers alike, couples, families or groups of friends.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room; there are also corners available with more windows. Ask for rooms closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shanna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    125
    42
    19
    5
See reviews for
80
165
28
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

By diving buddy and I do a couple of dive trips a year I have over 150 dives he has over 30. This was our first time to Rotan. Diving was fantastic, great coral walls with lots of fish and a nice wreck, visibility 70-100 feet, water temp at 60 feet 80+ degrees.

First about Rotan, think Cabo 20-30 years ago. Some new resorts just starting to pop up, no major chains which can be good and bad same with restaurants.

The bugs are as bad as other reviews state. Have plenty of deet and don't miss any spots or you get covered in small round, red bites.

There is one 2 lane road the length of Rotan, from Turquoise Bay to West End where all the restaurants are is 40- 60 minutes trip and will cost $100 round trip for 2.

The resort has an optional all inclusive. If you don't take it, there's nowhere else to eat. there's no place to walk to or to take a short cab ride to; you have to go to the West End.

The resort is dated but clean, was surprised we got an actual key; no card readers on the room doors. Our rooms (2) where up on the hill about 20-30 wide stone steps with great views.

The food is limited nothing fancy, buffet style but good. Always some fruit, salad, rice and beans and depending on the day a combo of chicken, beef and or fish and one night grilled lobster.

The vast majority of people staying there where experienced divers. If your not diving there isn't anything else to do except hang out at the pool or the beach.

Rocky the bartender was great can answer all your questions about the Island.
Pablo is the happiest man in Rotan - he always had a big smile and helped with drinks etc.
Seyda took care of our drink orders and special requests and she was a true gem.

Nelson our Dive-master and TL our Boat Captain where fantastic and very help full with the tight quarters on the dive boats.

Subway Adventures was the dive shop on site, while a great staff the boats are out dated and not maintained very well. After one of our drift dives the boat wouldn't start and we had to be towed back in. During lunch it was repaired and we went out again, guess what it wouldn't start again. Their mechanic didn't tighten the battery leads an with no tools another boat had to be called.

Also try to get paired with divers with equal experience, some of the more experienced or thought they where can make the boat ride to the dive sites miserable.


Be prepared there's a 19.5% sales tax on everything which can add up.

One last thing we reserved a shuttle back to the airport for 9:45 am. It didn't show up until almost 10:30 which could have caused a problem at the airport. When I asked the desk clerk where's the shuttle her response was don't worry you have plenty of time.

Because of the condition of the boats I wouldn't go back to this resort.

Room Tip: If you want view and don't mind the walk up the dimly lit stairs every day, the rooms on the hil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AdventureGuy606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Our group of 51 divers had a great week. We all enjoyed the food and drinks at the resort and the dive staff was excellent -- both professional and fun. The resort went out of its way to provide evening entertainment and a variety of evening dining throughout the week. Everyone of the resort staff catered to each guest's requests and many remembered specific requests made by a particular guest. Dive staff on the Shirley Belle were particularly attentive and accommodating. I couldn't have asked for a better experience of Roatan diving than at Turquoise Bay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our dive community took a trip to Turquoise Bay Resort April, 2014 for a week of fun filled diving. Our group booked the entire resort. We were pampered with all of our needs graciously taken care of for us. We had such a good time. The meals were great with plenty of variety and always healthy choices. The staff was a pleasure and learned our names and favorite drinks. I would highly recommend this resort for someone that wants to get away from the towns and be in a remote location but still retain easy access to anything they desire.

Alex, our concierge, did an awesome job making sure we had transportation to all our our destinations at the correct times. He negotiated preferential pricing for us on many of our excursions and transportation. Our prices always seemed lower than what we were initially quoted when we left for an activity.

The resort kitty was awesome and loved to snuggle with us!

Room Tip: We were in room 10 and had a great view of the ocean but it was a bit of an uphill walk from the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

What a great place. Staff was extremely attentive and friendly. Food was plenty and great. Drinks flowed. Great diving vacation beautiful reefs. Rooms were cold which is what was needed after a day of diving. We had the best time

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

A small group of us went to Roatan to dive. We have previously been in Roatan but stayed closer to the west end of the island on Sandy Bay. The accommodations at Turquoise Bay Resort were excellent, the staff very attentive, the dive operation (see separate review) was outstanding. The bugs are fierce but it is Roatan, so to be expected. Don't go on the beach without layers of DEET! The room had a brand new bed, excellent air conditioning, and good screens on the window, and was clean (what else do you want in a dive resort?) The food is better than average for a dive resort, buffet with reasonable number of choices at each meal including salad and veggies at lunch and dinner, and lots of fresh fruit. Roatan is considerably less expensive than comparable resorts in the Caribbean or Belize, and this resort is an excellent value. The only downside is that the Marine Park fishing regulations only recently have been started to be enforced on the eastern end of the island, and the big fish we were used to seeing on the west end, where the Marine Park is more established, were nowhere to be seen. The underwater "landscape" is amazing with caves and swim-throughs, but NO GROUPERS!

Room Tip: we were in room 4 and it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy-and-Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
381 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 895 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed in the Turquoise Bay Resort in April 2014. The rooms are comfortable. Air conditioning is wonderful and helps combat the humidity outside. The hotel and wait staff are very attentive. They live to ensure your stay at their resort is one of the best. Make sure you take bug spray with Deet and use liberally if you plan to spend any time on the beach... the sand flies/fleas have a ferocious appetite and you are their meal. Alejandro will do his best to ensure that your stay is the best on the island.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Roatan hotels
15.4 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
12.6 mi away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
5.9 mi away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
West Bay Lodge and Spa
West Bay Lodge and Spa
#1 of 14 in West Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
15.2 mi away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
15.2 mi away
Bananarama Beach and Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort

Property: Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort
Address: Milton Bight, Roatan IB3100, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Roatan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Roatan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Roatan's Northeast shore Turquoise Bay is the only dive resort in this lush and remote area of the island providing you with the opportunity to dive uncrowded, pristine dive sites. The resort is set on a hillside with spectacular ocean views and a protected bay which makes the water calm and perfect for swimming and kayaking. Beach lovers will enjoy our private, tranquil, 500 ft white-sand beach.At Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort you will enjoy the very individual and personal service that only a small dive resort can offer. Our friendly local staff takes pride in getting to know our guests and making them feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquoise Bay Hotel Roatan
Turquoise Bay Roatan
Turquoise Bay Dive & Beach Resort Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing