We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dangerous place - No insurance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Colibri Hill Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dangerous place - No insurance”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Haveing travelled to utila 4 times, I can say i made friends here and know the island quite well. Haveing said that , Strange things happens in this resort.
After 2 nights, we got robbed in our room. The security cameras misteriously turned off at night, in the morning, plain day, the wachman just desapeared, and our money and computer were robbed. No broken door, no signs of violence. We returned from diving and still the resort had not called the police. Not only that, the resort cleaned all the room before the police arrived... the resort doesnt have security boxes. The owner does not have insurance, and of course he refuses to take responsBility about the stolen things (actually he is and that is why we are starting a legal complaint)
If you are still not surprised, read this:
1- the owner told me in my face that the hole thing it was my fault aNd from now on it was my problem (he didnt even care to take me to the police, we had to take a taxi and borrow money from friends to pay for it)

My name is martin fiumara, passport 25317773n

After we were robbed by them (the door wad closed, and there was not any evidence somebody broke in, so take your conclusions)we decided to moved, and of course they demanded us to pay the 3 days we stayed.

The breakfast is below average too.

Be very carefull if you go there. The resort is located in and unsafe area of utila, junkies are all over the area dureing night, and 2 more rooms were robbed the next week we left.

The owner itself, Hans Dietrich, is been prosecuted for not haveing insurance and other legal requirements he should have in the resort. I have posted in my review a scan of the police report (at the botton you will read COLIBRI RESORT). I will continue visiting Utila, but definitly not the "resort" (don't know why they call it resort, since it is just a couple of rooms like many others on the island)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank martin-diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colibriUtila, Manager at The Colibri Hill Resort, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi
I can only tell how sorry i am about what happen here to you. We are trying to give our guest the best service we can. We just exchange the whole crew at the hotel.
We have new a couple that is staying permanent at the Hotel to help to keep it more save. We also mad all over metal bars on our windows to make it more safe.
I hope you still have some good memories about the island.
Have a nice day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    31
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
18
34
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
copan ruinas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed at The Colibri Hill Resort for three nights over the busy Semana Santa week. The thing that sticks out in my mind the most about this gem is the great hospitality. Lucy was very accommodating and even tried to set up a bus for us to get back to Copan. From our top floor room we could see the ocean and spent a lot of time just relaxing in the hammocks outside our room. The rooms were clean, staff friendly, and overall it was a great experience. Wish it could have been longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rifle, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

our stay at Colibri hill was like being at home. we felt like we were part of the family there. everyone was extremly nice and helpful. Lucy the manager was truely concerned about making sure all our needs were met. room was confortable,clean,quite and plenty of hot water. Thanks
to Lucy and all the staff we loved staying with you all. Tammy

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colibriUtila, Manager at The Colibri Hill Resort, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Thank you very much. We are working hard to keep our service.
We hope we can welcome you some time again. Have a nice and happy time back home
Love and hugs from use all
Luzia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Last year, we stay out of town which was very nice, but we felt a little isolated. When deciding on where to stay this year, we wanted to be in town but away from the late night noise. We found exactly that at Colibri Hill. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds, the pool is welcome on the hot days, the bar is a great place to meet fellow travelers and the 3 story deck is very spacious with a wonderful view. The grounds are large and well kept. It is a very short walk from the main road, but much of it is up hill. It would be a challenge for those with mobility concerns. We simply found it a great way to get a little exercise in during our stay. A great bang for your buck.

Room Tip: Rooms with out AC are on the top floor, the two corner rooms have windows on three sides for better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank platosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colibriUtila, Manager at The Colibri Hill Resort, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Thanks you so much.
We hope you had a good time in Roatan and the way back home whose not to hard.
Maybe we can welcome you next year again for a couple of days.
Have a good time and many thanks to you.
Love and hugs from the colibri Famaliy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I stayed here for a week in September. I opted for the AC cause it was HOT. The owner and staff, like the rest of the island, were very kind. The rooms were large and clean. The AC worked great. I spent may hours just chillin on the hammock outside my door. I think it's a great place especially for the price. Enjoy the salva vida..

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colibriUtila, Manager at The Colibri Hill Resort, responded to this review, 28 October 2012
Thanks Drew.
It whose nice to have you here and we are glad that you enjoy the relax and chill out place.
Hope we can welcome you some other time again.
We will have some salva vidas for you waiting with your hammock.
Love from the little paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

When we checked the Internet for in-town hotels with swimming pools, we clicked on the other one and now wish we had not. After one night with poor service, we moved to the Colibri Hill Resort when our other hotel drained their pool on a holiday weekend. The Colibri welcomed us to air conditioned rooms and a lovely restored pool and bar area for relaxing. Breakfast was included and was just fast enough and filling enough to get us on our way to our day on a dive boat. The hotel has a view to the ocean from the upper levels and please note that you will need to walk the last couple of blocks up the hill where taxis can't go. Lucy, the proprietor, and Diana and Jennalee at the bar/restaurant treated us very nicely, including getting us a quarter-to-six TucTuc ride to the ferry on our last morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACE_Thibodeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colibriUtila, Manager at The Colibri Hill Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thanks for the nice review we are always happy when our guest enjoy there stay here at our relax and chill out place.
We are more then happy to welcome you some other time.
Have a great and relay day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
u.s.a
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Colibri Hill is an island of peace, beauty, and quality in Utila! This lovely hotel is certainly something different on the island. we loved the great peaceful garden and amazing pool!
I'm so happy we chose to stay at Colibri Hill and would strongly recommend this place to everyone.
Hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnjoyTheWorldToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colibriUtila, Manager at The Colibri Hill Resort, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thanks that you like our little paradise in the middle of the party scene.
We are more then happy to welcome you some other time here at our relax and chill out hotel.
Enjoy your time and we see you soon.
Love the colibri team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utila
0.8 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#5 of 8 in Utila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Utila Lodge
Utila Lodge
#3 of 8 in Utila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
23.2 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Coral View Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 15 in Utila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Venue - Utila
The Venue - Utila
#1 of 9 in Utila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colibri Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colibri Hill Resort

Property: The Colibri Hill Resort
Address: Sandy Bay, Utila 34021, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Colibri Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing