We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Utila retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colibri Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Colibri Hill Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Utila retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We recently spent 4 nights at the colibri in Utila and found the location excellent,with a great view from the 3rd story level rooms and just far enough away from the sometimes noisy and busy main street business area.Breakfast which was included was very good and the service from Lucia and staff was excellent.They directed us to the good beaches and snorkling areas and resturants.It was a short walk to eating establisments or you could take a tuk tuk taxi (small charge)to good snorkling at coral view beach where there was a nice pier which had a small reasonably priced bar also.This hotel is up a hill so there is usually a nice breeze which was a real plus.We spent a month travelling through out Honduras mainland and Utila and Roatan and this resort was one of our better experiences.As is the case in a lot of areas there are roosters around so bring a set of ear plugs.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have excellent view of bay area and get a nice breeze so ventalation is good and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobginette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    30
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
18
32
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had the privilege of staying at Colibri Hill at the end of February. What a beautiful place. Nice pool, wonderful landscaping and clean rooms! Rooms come with hot water. Air condition is an option, but you won't need it very often as the rooms have good ventilation. Great staff who were able to assist us with any needs or questions. The place even has an outdoor bar. Quiet, secluded and a short walk to a wonderful beach. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors two and three have the best view of the sea. Corner rooms have more ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We booked this place at the last min and was pleasantly surprised. We where a little worried when we pulled of the main road towards the hotel (a little dirty looking) but when we reached the hotel it was a small piece of heaven. Nice pool area with a little bar and clean upkept rooms. Our room was plenty big and modern. lots of hot water and comfortable beds. The on-site staff (Shirley) was a very friendly Canadian, who never batted an eye to make our stay awesome. A short walk to most dive centers and bars and restaurants, but far enough away from the scooters and 4wheelers that plague the main street. The property is well maintained with nice palm trees and flowering shrubs. The pool is nice too, at the end of the day to take a dip to cool down before going out for the evening.

Room Tip: try not to stay on the ground floor. late night partiers coming home tend to be a little joyfull
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Colibri Hill on Christmas Eve and were so happy we chose this place. It is just a side street away from the main road but it's more secluded and private. We could hear the party music going on Christmas eve but I'm sure that was around the entire island. The next night was much quieter. We sat by the pool and had drinks with the bartender/manager who was such a sweetheart and we got to know her boyfriend Luis and beautiful son Marley. Such great people. They took such great care of us and were so down to earth. I would definitely recommend staying there if you want something more special in Utilia and want a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor for a better view of the coast and for lounging in hammocks. I would reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed in Colibri Hill in July 2013 and I can truly recommend the place for others as well. The room was beatiful and comfortable with a sea view and a hammoc. It was also very clean and was comfortably cool during the night. The surroundings are nice with lots of colibris around. The pool could maybe be a bit cleaner but is nice and refreshing anyways. The resort has a quiet location, just a short walk away from the main street. The breakfast was good and overall we had absolutely nothing to complain.

The best thing was the helpfull and friendly staff. We had promblem with our luggage and the staff helped us a lot in getting our bags to utila from la ceiba. I was also sick during our stay in Colibri Hill and the staff helped me with doctors and medication. If we go back to utila we will defenitely stay in Colibri again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kipperii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We read some of the critiques of Colibri Hill. There are some issues that people could have with this place - especially because it is named a "resort." The curtains are sheer, but they do give you a set that you can drape over your windows - is that four star quality? Probably not. The pool, we did not venture into - we weren't interested. Also, there was a warning that the shower could "drip" down to the room below us.

However, the place felt safe to us. The place is on the hillside just above the main roadway, and everything is within walking distance on Utilla. The staff that worked there was very friendly and worked hard to help us enjoy our stay. The rooms were very clean, along with the bedding and the air conditioning that came with our room was a god-send. We especially liked the manager serving, Lucy, who was kind and helpful. She let us know some of the ins and outs of the island, and we could see she was working hard to have a good establishment.

We'd recommend this place, because what we had during our stay was good and we know the staff is working hard to make it an even better place.

Room Tip: Get the air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colibriUtila, Manager at The Colibri Hill Resort, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thanks you very much for the very objective report. We are doing a lot to help to improve our Service to our Guest.
We have just made all over new window bars to make the place more secure.
Have a good time and enjoy your self.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I can live with most things, insects, hard beds etc but dirty I struggle with. The stay got off to a good start with the fact that the young lady who helps run the property quickly showed me to my room, the AC ran cold and there was wifi. She also served at the little bar and was a good conversationalist. Unfortunately those are the good points summed up.

The bad:

- Pool - yuck
- Location - Sketchy
- Breakfast - don't bother
- Toilet - dirty + it is a place you have to put all non human waste in a trash can. The trash can was filthy and you can only guess what the filth was.
- Privacy - near none as have only very sheer curtains
- Cupboard under the sink - opened closed as quickly as I could due to the "horror"

The worst:

When I got back from dinner I finally pulled back the covers on bed number one, there were crusty stains and hair. I decided to try bed two. Bed two had a small amount of hair but no visible stains so I slept in that one.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajwkmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colibriUtila, Manager at The Colibri Hill Resort, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We are very sorry that you had this bad experience. We have change our whole stuff at the hotel, and hope like this to improve our client service more.
Thanks and have a nice day
Luzia Bodden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utila
0.7 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#5 of 8 in Utila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
23.8 mi away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
2.0 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 15 in Utila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Coral View Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Lazy Daze on the Bay
#2 of 15 in Utila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Venue - Utila
The Venue - Utila
#1 of 9 in Utila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colibri Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colibri Hill Resort

Property: The Colibri Hill Resort
Address: Sandy Bay, Utila 34021, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Utila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Colibri Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing