We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best stay in Utila, friendliest owner.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rubi's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rubi's Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Utila B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best stay in Utila, friendliest owner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I arrived on Utila looking to stay for about a week. One of the guys who works on the ferry recommended Rubis, and as I exited the dock I was asked where I was staying. the next thing I know my luggage is on the golf cart, and I'm taking the short journey to the Hotel. I ended up staying 3 months, and Tony became like a friend to me. Nothing was too much to ask, even when I lost my key after another tequila tuesday, he woke at 4 and let me in. Words cannot say how much I would recommend this place to others!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    19
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
37
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a great time at Rubi's! The place is peaceful and quite, the dock is fun to hangout on and the rooms are very clean, spacious and comfy :)
Would highly recommend for backpackers, especially couples, to stay there while diving!

Room Tip: Get the top floor. Better air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranmor84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at Rubi's in for 8 days!

We were greeted off the Utila Princess by beautiful Tatiana, she walked us to the inn whilst explaining what we can do on the island! She was super informative and throughout our stay she remember us and always checked up to see how we were doing!

Mr Tony and Rosa ( who live in the house at the front and own Rubi's) are absolutely fantastic and very approachable! They help with whatever you need and are good for jut a general chat. They're also around or near so if you need something they're not far away! They provide a laundry service which is very reasonable!

We did our dive course through parrots dive centre which was awesome and you also get a discount on accommodation which is great!!

Whether you like partying or not Rubi's is great as you're only a short walk to the bars but also far away enough to not get the noise so it's very peaceful and has a great dock to swim and snorkel off! I was lucky enough to swim with eagle rays just at the dock area which was very cool. They also have lots of hammocks for either hungover chilled arvos or for a nice book to read all day!

All in all STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

We had a very nice stay at Rubi's Inn. We spent 16 nights at this wonderful place. Mr. and Mrs. Rubi are very nice and are always there if you need them! We felt very safe at this place! In the Room you have a big bath and a fridge. The cleaning Lady come every or every second day to clean the room (new towels and change sheets). They provide a kitchen but please keep it clean! If you use it please clean your stuff! The next will be very thankful!
Even they have a laundry service for a fair Price.
To cool down it's nice to jump out of the pier! That's a must have on Utila!
We will definitely come back to this awsome place!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank muesu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

We came to Utila for 5 days and stayed for 12. Rubis Inn is a fantastic location a very reasonable price $23 and you can negotiate the longer you stay. A wonderful cleaner comes who changes towels and your bed sheets and also folds your clothes. The owners of this place are lovely and will go out their way to help. There is a dive and ladder and NO sand flies!
Lovely little cats running around so there are no bugs!
Enjoy

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cali, Colombia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

I have been traveling around the world for a year now and was lucky to get a room to at Rubi's Inn for a week.
Tony and Rosa were always there to greet us in the morning and make recommendations on things to do, the local way. They quickly became family and Rubi's Inn, a home away from home. Well...maybe even better!
Our neighbors came from all corners of the world and the open landscape made getting to know them effortless, with the dock being the hub for all sorts of shenanigans.
We had many conversations over seis-packs (and rum drank) about schemes that could solve the world's problems and keep us all traveling forever. Until that day comes I will have to hold the Rubis' dock, those memories and the taste of a homemade Baleada in my heart, and daydream of returning one day soon to this magical place called Rubi's Inn.

http://www.rubisinn.com/index.php
Note: They aren't the techiest so go old school and call for a reservation.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more windows which is great for getting a breeze. This is especially good to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drimorera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

stayed 7 days at rubies. great views, great showers. owner tony is laid back and keeps a good eye on the place. kids had a blast jumping off the jetty. (don't use the big jetty next door as the anal american who owns it will scold you) beware the sandflies who will suck you dry. fridges in the rooms are a welcome addition.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utila hotels
0.9 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
0.3 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#5 of 8 in Utila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
2.6 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 15 in Utila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Venue - Utila
The Venue - Utila
#1 of 9 in Utila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Lazy Daze on the Bay
#2 of 15 in Utila
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral View Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rubi's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubi's Inn

Property: Rubi's Inn
Address: Utila, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Utila
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing