We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”
Review of Rubi's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rubi's Inn
Ranked #3 of 14 Utila B&B and Inns
Tumut, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

My friend ,partner and I just spent 9 nights at Rubi's Inn and absolutely loved it. If you want to escape the loud party hostels then this place is perfect. Great location walking distance to all the action and tucked away enough to be a blissful little paradise.

Rooms are clean, neat and spacious. We had 2 double beds $30 (US) a night for three people.

- Communal Kitchen
- Right on the harbor with swimming dock
- free wifi
- House keeping and fresh towels daily.
- Incredible view and sunsets daily
- Laundry service
- In room mini fridge / air con available

Tony and his wonderful wife will welcome you with open arms, friendly local advice and make you feel right at home.

Well worth the stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JenAdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    20
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
38
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

A lot of people suggested us this place and we are happy we followed their suggestion to stay at Rubi's. The hotel It is located right on the centre of Utila, with a beautiful view of the sea and a dock where you can swim.
The rooms are simple but yet very nice and clean. The two owners (Tony and Rosa) are the nicest people you could ever met. They made us feel as we were home. Our kids loved to chat with them too.
In top of it they can help you with all the places to visit in Utila .
We had a really great stay there and we cannot wait to go back. We highly recommend it.
Thanks to Tony and Rosa for everything! You really have a have a beautiful place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Rubi's Inn was a perfect location for us to stay for 12 nights during our time at Utila. The rooms are big and spotless and cleaned to perfection every day. It's nice to have your own fridge in the room and actual hot water in the shower for those days you're feeling a chilly after swimming or diving.
There's also a small kitchen that you can use outside, nice hammocks to chill in and a private dock where you can sunbathe, swim and even snorkel to a sunken sailboat which is nearby.

The hostel is really quiet and you will get your sleep before morning dives, so for partying look elsewhere. That's the way we like it, you can always go and look for the party but if it's right in your face that's too much. Didn't hear any noise from the neighbors either except for the hammer clapping coming from the building site next door but that didn't bother us.

The only 'problem' we had was that the room gets really hot during the day even with the fan and windows open on both sides but isn't that the reason why people come to the Caribbian and there's really no reason to stay inside.

The best thing about the hostel are the owners, Tony and Mrs Rubi who are such an adorable couple and will help you with everything and always have time to chat with you.
Their staff is also super friendly and the cleaning service is unbelievable like stated here before.
And the kittens were so sweet, too bad we couldn't take one with us because we still got three weeks to travel..

Next time we visit Utila we will also return to Rubi's Inn, recommended!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Drknmunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at Rubi's. Nice basic clean rooms. With a little fridge (which al hostels should have :-) ) Friendly staff. And a great dock for a swimm. The kitchen equipment was very poor but that was the only minus. I would defenitly recommended staying here. And of course at Utila, it's a very nice Island.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank rhialto7148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayd here for 6 days now. Perfect feeling at the hoster, and alt of backpackers Whois want a ceap place. We made fish dinner with 8 other that stay there to. Lovely.
You will not regret staying here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Miriam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I arrived on Utila looking to stay for about a week. One of the guys who works on the ferry recommended Rubis, and as I exited the dock I was asked where I was staying. the next thing I know my luggage is on the golf cart, and I'm taking the short journey to the Hotel. I ended up staying 3 months, and Tony became like a friend to me. Nothing was too much to ask, even when I lost my key after another tequila tuesday, he woke at 4 and let me in. Words cannot say how much I would recommend this place to others!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simmo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had a great time at Rubi's! The place is peaceful and quite, the dock is fun to hangout on and the rooms are very clean, spacious and comfy :)
Would highly recommend for backpackers, especially couples, to stay there while diving!

Room Tip: Get the top floor. Better air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranmor84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utila hotels
0.5 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
0.3 mi away
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Lazy Daze on the Bay
#2 of 14 in Utila
76 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Venue - Utila
The Venue - Utila
#1 of 9 in Utila
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Coral View Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 14 in Utila
70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coopers Inn
Coopers Inn
#13 of 14 in Utila
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rubi's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rubi's Inn

Property: Rubi's Inn
Address: Utila, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Utila
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing