We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST place to spend some lazy days on a unique lsland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Ranked #2 of 14 Utila B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Marys, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The BEST place to spend some lazy days on a unique lsland”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

First time to Utila, first solo trip. After a week in Roatan with family and friends l travelled solo for my second week to Utila. As a middle aged woman travelling alone safety was high on the list. Rob Smith the manager didn't disappoint. There early every morning to open the gates and every evening to ensure the gates where locked and make sure all was good with his guests. We all had keys to get in and out if we chose to be out at night which after the first night l knew l was safe on this little island and very comfortable. I had everything l needed to be comfortable at lazy daze, when my microwave quit working it was replaced in minutes. Swimming and snorkeling right off the dock and chairs set out to enjoy the sunset every night. If diving is what you enjoy you don't have far to go to find it ! l dove with Altons two doors down so sit and relax on the dock and enjoy your coffee until you see action on the docks at Altons and then you know it's time to start your day off with a good dive. You won't find many cars on the island except the garbage truck everyone else uses tuk-tuks, scooters and bikes. lf you want to go on any excursions talk to Rob !, he's been on the island for a long time now and can hook you up for anything you might want to do at a good price. Some others will over charge you if they can. I will definetly go back and will stay at Lazy Daze again. If you enjoy a beach cottage atmospher you will not be disappointed staying here just on the outskirts of the center of town where it's much quieter.

Room Tip: l would of been happy in any of the rooms but l did ask for one looking out at the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanc701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
34
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This was our third trip to the island, but the first time we had stayed in town, although we had met Rob (property manager) on both previous visits and had a tour of the Lazy Dazy apartments. We stayed in the larger upstairs apartment, which was fabulous - it can be two bed/two bath or one bed/one bath and is nicely appointed. The kitchen is full size and has all necessary cooking facilities if you choose to cook in house (we did each morning). The bed was queen size and quite comfy and the bedroom A/C worked like a charm at night. The living room had comfortable island style furniture and a decent sized flat screen TV with cable. (The cable itself was a treat for us because we don't have it at home!) The bathroom was sufficient and we never ran out of hot water (I believe they have an on-demand/tankless water heater). The real treat though, was the balcony/back porch. It easily doubled the square footage of the kitchen with an outdoor dining table and gorgeous wooden porch swing hand built by a local craftsman - we know because we were there when he installed it - all this overlooking the courtyard/bay. Drinking water was supplied in five gallon jugs, as many as you need for the duration of your stay. Towels were also made available and in the universal sign for new towels, anytime we left them on the floor they were replaced with fresh by the daily maid service, another bonus to Lazy Daze. Wifi is available, but the internet can be spotty - it is an island with limited resources after all.
We also saw the other one bedroom apartments available, and they were also well appointed and similarly spacious with kitchens and living space. One did have a window in the bedroom that looked out onto the porch where there was a very bright light that stayed on most of the night - some sort of dark window covering would be helpful there.
Lazy Daze is also conveniently located literally steps to Alton's Dive Shop, who we dove with each day, and is even closer to swim over. You'll definitely want to snorkel off the dock at either place - you'll see unusual things you never see while diving because it's a grassy bottom instead of coral - flying gurnards, checkered puffers, caribbean stingray, bat fish, etc.
Rob was super helpful in lining up our transportation to get to Utila from Roatan on learning our original plan was no longer available, and then again getting back to Roatan from Utila. Since this was our third trip we are pretty familiar with the island, but I imagine if you needed suggestions on a restaurant or snorkeling spot he'd be able to help you out there also.

Room Tip: The large upstairs apartment is great, as is the Boat House, but any of their apartments would be wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank femftal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidney, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Once again, we found a great place through Trip Advisor! We really enjoyed staying in the Boat House, located in the Lazy Daze on the Bay compound.

The new manager, Rob, is a great person to deal with and we found him very helpful with good advice on anything we had questions about. He even gave us some good tips on travel through mainland Honduras which proved invaluable. And he lent us fins to snorkel in front of the hotel!

The room is a two bedroom with a full kitchen and bathroom. You can get groceries from Bush's Supermarket right up the road, and there are lots of restaurants and everything else you need in short walking distance.

We loved the water side sun deck and swimming right off the dock in front. There is a ladder down into the water right beside the unit.

Alton's Dive Shop is right next door, and were great to deal with as well.

We would return in a heart beat, and hopefully we will.

The only negative, and I have to say it, is the rooster next door. He starts at exactly 4:25 am every morning. Take your earplugs. Luckily we had ours with us, and between them and air conditioner, he didn't bother us after the first night!

Room Tip: The Boat House is right on the water. The other rooms are closer to the road, and I think are a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucydodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We spent a week in the hotel room in early september, and dived with Alton's, which is right next door. SUPER quiet accommodation, very clean and comfortable bed. The room was tucked away at the back, making it very private and felt very safe.
They supplied towels and drinking water, and the AC was ice cold!
Good value for money, we have already recommended to other friends visiting Utila!
Stay here, dive at Alton's and eat at RJ's bbq across the street!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AC2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We just returned from a great two week vacation on the beautiful island of Utila. Our home away from home was the Boat House, part of Lazy Daze on the Bay. The accommodation was very nice, clean, fully equipped for cooking, had lots of ceiling fans and the bedrooms cooled by AC, nice for sleeping in September. It was roomy, built right out over the water and caught a wonderful breeze. Large French doors opened from the living room and both bedrooms onto a wrap-around porch where we spent many pleasant moments, coffe in the morning watching dawn over the bay right through to the spectacular sunsets, best view you can imagine. Alton's Dive Center is just steps away, as is R&J's Barbeque, the best food on the island. Ron, our host, was friendly and welcoming. He really helped us settle in to the island and is a great resource on the marine environment. He made sure everything was working well for us without ever being intrusive. Diving with Altons was great and the Boat House is the perfect place to stay in Utila, we are convinced!

Room Tip: The Boat House is a free-standing two bedroom home built over the water at the back of the hotel. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeoCaribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LJA6388
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Stayed at Lazy Daze on January for a couple of nights and loved it. Our room was really lovely. There was a full kitchen that was SPOTLESS. You could have eaten off of the floor in our place. The price was extremely reasonable. I will most definitely go back and would not hesitate to reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJA6388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

You know how when you see a place on the web that looks good then you get there and it's not quite as good as it looked ........ NOT the case with Lazy daze and Boat House, much nicer than the pictures! Cozy, clean, private quiet and easy walking distance to everything. Jim & Vickie are great hosts who work hard to make sure the guests are comfortable, have what they need and making sure the property is properly maintained. Thanks for making our vacation was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlySoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utila hotels
0.8 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
0.1 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#5 of 8 in Utila
43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Utila Lodge
Utila Lodge
#3 of 8 in Utila
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 14 in Utila
70 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Venue - Utila
The Venue - Utila
#1 of 9 in Utila
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mango Inn Resort
Mango Inn Resort
#5 of 14 in Utila
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Daze on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Daze on the Bay

Property: Lazy Daze on the Bay
Address: The Point, Utila 34210, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Utila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small hotel located right on the waterfront of Utila bay. Just a short walk from the center of town and with a range of accommodations, we specialize in helping divers and those who simply want to relax and enjoy our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lazy Daze on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing