We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accommodation on our trip through Central America”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Ranked #2 of 14 Utila B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best accommodation on our trip through Central America”
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We'd thoroughly recommend you stay at Lazy Daze on the Bay. My wife and I stayed here while taking a 'free diving' course of the island.

Rob, the manager, collected us from the Ferry and tookus to the airport on our departure - this service went far beyond what we'd been used to, yet it appeared to be the norm for Rob. He was always around to help us arrange things or provide advice when sought.

The accommodation is clean, comfortable with good wifi, cable TV to watch after a tiring day out and AC. We thought it represented great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichF004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
34
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

After staying in another inn on Utila, we needed to find one with Wi-fi. We moved to this place, and I am SO glad we did! It made a world of difference!! The rooms are well equipped, and both drinking water and wi-fi are free! Our stay on Utila was improved greatly! We loved it here! We went diving at Alton's, and it's two doors down! Rob was so helpful and very pleasant to work with! I hope to return to Utila soon, and I will definitely come back to Lazy Daze!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utila, Honduras
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in the beginning of June. It was an amazing break from the usual back packing accommodation and well worth the extra money money. Located over the water you have an uninterrupted view of the sunset every night and there's a cool breeze all through the day so you barely ever need the air conditioning.

Rob was there whenever we needed him and generally made our trip perfect. Can't thank you enough Rob.

We would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay in the Boat House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boomer84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

After a long morning searching through many different accomodation options on utila we stumbled upon (and hit the jackpot) with lazy daze. Rob the owner is an absolutely pleasure to deal with, the house over the water is total luxury and after 2 months of backpacking we couldnt believe our luck!
The house sits on stilts over the Caribbean, the kitchen has everything you need.. we even made a birthday cake in the oven.. and the decor inside is beautiful with a really homely, relaxed, beachy feel..
We would highly recommend lazy daze as the best option hands down on Utila and hope to return someday soon;)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roisin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I had brought my mom on this Bay Islands vacation as a 65th birthday gift, & I sure did my research. I had no personal referrals & had no idea what to expect. I made my reservation at The Boat House about a month in advance, & let me tell you, the pictures on the website don't do it justice. Rob stayed in very close contact with me prior to our arrival & reserved our charter flight from roatan & back, in addition to our golf cart rental, & endless amazing recommendations of what to do & what not to do during our visit. He was literally there at our beckoned call & we felt so well taken care of we hadn't a care in the world. I wished we had spent way more time on Utila on the Boat House as opposed to the majority of our time on Roatan. You can guarantee that I'll be recommending Lazy Daze & Rob to whoever states they're going to Utila. Excellent!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I just spent 3 months traveling tropical Central America. My 6 weeks stay at Lazy Daze on Utila was by far the best time I had during my 3 month adventure. I researched extensively places to stay on Utila prior to my arrival in mid January and correctly chose Lazy Daze. I traveled solo and stayed in one of the 2 one bedroom apartments. Rob Smith the manager is great; very attentive and concerned about the guests.
Lazy Daze is a small boutique inn located on the harbor front. Utila has a lot of hostel and lower priced lodging for the back packing crowd. Lazy Daze is far superior to the standard lodging offered on Utila. If you want to rent a fully appointed apartment with air conditioning, be situated on the harbor front and desire secure premises this is the best choice on the island.
Lazy Daze's location on the main harbor road is ideal. This is a very busy and noisy road however Lazy Daze is located past the main congestion so there is much less traffic and noise. It is within walking distance of shopping, restaurants and the dive centers as well as a beach and there is a 10 minute walk to reef snorkeling. If you plan to dive with Alton's Dive Center this is the perfect choice for lodging. There is considerable marine wildlife swimming by and around the dock from sea horses, snapper, turtles, eagle rays, tarpon, barracuda and more. The boating activity in the harbor never ends and the sunsets are a bonus. I spent many hours swimming along the harbor front docks.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Marys, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

First time to Utila, first solo trip. After a week in Roatan with family and friends l travelled solo for my second week to Utila. As a middle aged woman travelling alone safety was high on the list. Rob Smith the manager didn't disappoint. There early every morning to open the gates and every evening to ensure the gates where locked and make sure all was good with his guests. We all had keys to get in and out if we chose to be out at night which after the first night l knew l was safe on this little island and very comfortable. I had everything l needed to be comfortable at lazy daze, when my microwave quit working it was replaced in minutes. Swimming and snorkeling right off the dock and chairs set out to enjoy the sunset every night. If diving is what you enjoy you don't have far to go to find it ! l dove with Altons two doors down so sit and relax on the dock and enjoy your coffee until you see action on the docks at Altons and then you know it's time to start your day off with a good dive. You won't find many cars on the island except the garbage truck everyone else uses tuk-tuks, scooters and bikes. lf you want to go on any excursions talk to Rob !, he's been on the island for a long time now and can hook you up for anything you might want to do at a good price. Some others will over charge you if they can. I will definetly go back and will stay at Lazy Daze again. If you enjoy a beach cottage atmospher you will not be disappointed staying here just on the outskirts of the center of town where it's much quieter.

Room Tip: l would of been happy in any of the rooms but l did ask for one looking out at the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanc701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utila hotels
0.8 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
0.1 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#5 of 8 in Utila
43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Utila Lodge
Utila Lodge
#3 of 8 in Utila
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Coral Beach Village
Coral Beach Village
#1 of 14 in Utila
69 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Venue - Utila
The Venue - Utila
#1 of 9 in Utila
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mango Inn Resort
Mango Inn Resort
#5 of 14 in Utila
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Daze on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Daze on the Bay

Property: Lazy Daze on the Bay
Address: The Point, Utila 34210, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Utila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small hotel located right on the waterfront of Utila bay. Just a short walk from the center of town and with a range of accommodations, we specialize in helping divers and those who simply want to relax and enjoy our beautiful island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lazy Daze on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing