We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Picante - CLOSED

El Picante
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

The best fruit smoothie in the island and excellent food. The restaurant is really clean and the owner is super sweet! Also, a beautiful view is a huge plus.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pei-Yi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    39
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
utah
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Quiet Right on the Water . . .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

If you're interested in something on the water this is an excellent choice. You'l have the best sunset view on the island with your dinner! The food is good quality Mexican food with lots of choices. We loved the fajitas! Prices are moderate but a good value. Conveniently located right off the main road in the center of town. A nice quiet place if you're looking for something a ways off from the noisy crowds. Great attentive service also! Lots of atmosphere here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kkleinrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“DELIGHTFUL RESTAURANT FACING THE WATER”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Not very many places are on the beautiful waterfront in Utila Town. Walk up to the second floor for a panoramic outdoor view. There is always a gentle breeze from the water. This is a great stop with great service and good food. The local tropical drinks are good and the prices are excellent for the amount of food served.
The advertised 'meal of the day' is the best choice. Lots of local items ion the menu and everything is prepared fresh. Be sure to have the local 'nachos'...
One of the special treats is the 'Gallery' shop located right below at the end of the dock. Best shopping for local art.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatandDiSpokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food Is Hard To Find.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Firstly here, let me be clear. I like this restaurant. I like it's location and it's owner and it's cook. I'm not really fond of it's Margaritas because they don't taste like a Margarita to me and they are small with a big drink price.
The food is acceptable but not truly what those of us from border states would consider either true Mexican and certainly not Tex Mex. It is a decent imitation of something of Mexican origin without the spiciness or complexities of flavors normally achieved in good Mexican restaurants.
Now that I've said all that, the owner is a very nice and welcoming individual, the views and sunsets are beautiful and the prices are in line with prices on Utila (20 - 30% higher than the mainland.). I'll eat there again but not because I'm hungry for Mexican food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobinman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic and Quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Set back off the main road, this bug-free restaurant is quiet and offers an excellent view of the bay from a second story covered patio. The owner, Jean, is very friendly and is a great to chat with. For lunch stop by and grab a loaded T's nachos (which my wife and I both agreed were the best on the island). The soft lighting is romantic and is perfect for a dinner-date.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Picante also viewed

 
Utila, Bay Islands
Utila, Bay Islands
 
Utila, Bay Islands
Utila, Bay Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing