We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome nachos, slightly greasy food”
Review of Munchies

Munchies
Ranked #18 of 44 Restaurants in Utila
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Awesome nachos, slightly greasy food”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I only had the nachos here, so I can't speak too much about the taste of everything else - but the nachos were quite good! The chips seemed to be fried on-site, they were a bit oily still, but warm and very chrisp. The salsa was a 'dry' salsa, which I really enjoyed (didn't wet the chips) and there was a HUGE portion of cheese and sour cream. So much cheese that I didn't eat it all - and I am a cheese fanatic. The ingredients seemed of good quality, and the service was pretty good. We were there with others, and the food did seem a bit greasy - our friend had a stir fry.

We checked out the iguana garden at the back of the resto - and we didn't see anything. There are definitely other options on the island, and for us it wasn't worth a walk to Munchies again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaitlyn_montgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    81
    65
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good brunch”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Had Huevos Rancheros for brunch and it was pretty good. The place didn't bowl me over. The porch on the street makes for some interesting people watching.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utila, Honduras
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Take the mixxed Fajitas :)”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Right across Parrots Dive Center there is Munchies, how the name says, if u got munchies go to Munchies :) Its a bit pricy but the people are really friendly and the portions are huge and very tasty. My favorite are the mixxed fajitas, chilli chease fries and the big nachos :) check it out, u wont be disappointed....

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InkkEnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive and Inedible”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Worst pizzas in three months of travelling. The prices are high, so you would think they would at least try...
While flavoring the smothie they keep licking and dipping the same spoon in the blender - best advise stay away - Utila has lots of great options

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Uva, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Location its only benefit”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Strong wifi but overpriced and bland menu. Good people-watching from the wrap-around deck but the mediocre food, combined with cold, slow and unsmiling service. Staff act like they're doing you a favour by waiting on guests. The food was so bad I fed it to a stray dog.

Utila has a lot of great little eating spots. This one would do well to put a smidge of effort into feeding and caring for clientele.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SocklessJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Munchies also viewed

 
Utila, Bay Islands
Utila, Bay Islands
 
Utila, Bay Islands
 

Been to Munchies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing