We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The biggest steak ever!”
Review of RJ's Barbecue

RJ's Barbecue
Ranked #5 of 43 Restaurants in Utila
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Caribbean, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The biggest steak ever!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was definitely our favourite place to eat whilst on Utila! They always served a selection of locally caught fish, and I was lucky enough to try barracuda, along with having 2 steaks and a pork chop (we visited 4 times in total!)
The portion sizes were huge, and we were always stuffed when we left. The steak was the biggest Ive ever seen, and very tasty, with a nice glaze.
You can see the chef out the back on the bbq, grilling the orders,
which is lovely to see.
The meats change every time its open, depending on whats available, and the sides change too. The meats get crossed off the board as the night goes on and they run out, so its best to go prety earlyish, and it was always busy, so sometimes there'd be a wait for a table!

The only downside, is that it is only open 3 nights a week!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank katewills5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    45
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My favorite in Utila”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Of the restaurants I tried while in Utila (RJ's, Driftwood, Babalu, Fuking Wok, and Che Pancho), RJ's was my favorite by far. If I had more time, and if RJ's opened every night, I would have gone back again and again until I tried every single item on the menu (lamb, steak, pork, several different types of grilled fish, etc.). Not only was the food delicious, but the portions huge and prices surprisingly budget-friendly. I think my grilled fish was only $6 - 7. The pork chop was excellent, too, and I hear the restaurant uses locally grown pork.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderlustt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Go early to get a seat”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This place is only open Wed, Fri and Saturdays in July and for special party events. There is a lot of selection and a lot of the food is barbequed out back. Food portions were large, prices reasonable. I had the Mahi Mahi and it was cooked to perfection. I wanted to eat there every night it was open. If you get there later, there is a line up and they run out of the better selections. A lot of the local had takeout.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank multitravelorrkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great BBQ Even for A Texan”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Being from Texas I am critical about the BBQ I eat. RJ (only open Sunday, Wednesday, and Friday) does it right. Large portions at a great price. Get there early before they sell out. The steak and pork are our favorite.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jkwargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food and lots of it”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

When hungry and on a budget, RJ's is the place to go. It's only open three days a week and gets busy so get there early. They use only local fresh fish and quality meats. The amount of food and the price were both amazing. It was a perfect place to go on those nights you wanted a little splurge without breaking the budget.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cowntess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RJ's Barbecue also viewed

 
Utila, Bay Islands
Utila, Bay Islands
 

Been to RJ's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing