We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise Found!”
the coral house on treasure beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the coral house on treasure beach
living room with french doors opening onto the veranda comfortable veranda
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
the coral house on treasure beach
living room with french doors opening onto the veranda
comfortable veranda
fully equipped kitchen
morning coffee view
view from the veranda dinning table
the view from the overwater deck
lots of french doors
a comfy spot for a siesta
the coral house and our coral reef
the coral house at night
a shady spot
tropical flora
one of the neighbors
overwater sunbathing/star gazing deck
veranda
just a few steps from the veranda to your beach
snorkeling our house reef
aahhhhhh
coral house exterior
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Utila, Bay Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sjhconrad
Cornelius, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paradise Found!”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Treasure Beach is true paradise. Set your internal clock to island time – Rise with the sun, hear the coconuts fall, the gecko cry, & the Carribean sea hit the sands. Relax, Relax, & Relax some more on the beautiful beaches, the double tiered deck or on the front porch of the beautifully appointed Coral House. Enjoy fresh fish, meet new people, engage the locals, kayak, dive, swim or snorkel. Fall asleep to the ocean. Wake and Repeat. When you come to Utila, your shoulders immediately fall. Less is definitely more here. Take in the true beauty of the island. Soak up what the delightful caretakers (Dave, Trish & Peter) have to offer when it comes to marine life, Honduras, their island, plants, birds…EVERYTHING UTILA! They are a wealth of knowledge and are happy to share with you what puts a smile on their face every single day. If you come here prepared to be wowed by the simplicity of it all then you won’t be disappointed. The Coral House is stylishly decorated and has everything you need. Don’t bother bringing a lot of clothes…you won’t need them. A swimsuit, shorts and flipflops are about as fancy as you get. If you need to do laundry, a machine is there. Commit to a regimen of bug spray in the am and pm and suffer you won’t! Dave, Trish & Peter will get provisions for you and pretty much do anything in their power to make sure your stay is as comfortable and meaningful as possible! Visit the Cays for fresh fish – Peter will take you a tour you won’t forget. He'll even cook for you! Spend a day in town where everyone knows Dave. Pick Trish’s brain about conservation efforts and the locals. Meet Sebastian & Lola of Chez Lola’s…their dinners are amazing! Dive with Bogdan and Katherine of Utila Cays Diving…top notch experts! Most of all…enjoy the beautiful surroundings of Treasure Beach and enjoy the wonderful people you'll soon call friends. Open the doors of the Coral House and take it all in – Paradise is all around you! We’ve only been home 2 weeks and are longing for our return – it can’t come soon enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the Coral House
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2013
thank you so much for the kind review, its made our day! we look forward to hosting you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
World1day
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Real Get Away and Escape”
Reviewed 11 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Looking for some serious R&R, the idea of getting away from it all was what appealed to me about the Coral House. The possibility of swimming with whale sharks and dolphins just sealed the deal. As it turned out, every step towards Coral House is one step further away from the rat race and another towards Shangri La.

The process of renting a private home was foreign to me but David and Trish made it simple. In fact, everything about this trip was different and in a way an adventure. From flying in a tiny 5 seat plane, to sitting in the back of a old pick up truck (the taxi), and to taking an open boat to the house, it was all new to me. You can rest assure however that David and Trish can take care of everything for you. From booking the plane to provisioning the house. They are a magical couple.

Coral House sits by the sea and it has beautiful views of the cays, the caribbean sea, and the mountains of Honduras' mainland. No need for a T.V. since the changing scenery is dramatic enough. Having the beach in your front yard and the jungle in the back only means that the wildlife won't come from touristy bars and excessive alcohol. Instead, you are welcomed by the beautiful flora and fauna of wild coconut trees, noni trees, forbidden fruit, humming birds, eagle rays, majestic barracudas, evening bats, and too much more to mention. Being this close to nature means there are bug issues to consider. Wearing lightweight long sleeves and pants go a long way to protecting yourself from the bugs and the sun.

The house itself highlights one of Honduras' main export...wood. The floors, custom counters, and walls are of polished local hardwood and the rooms are spacious. Each of the bedrooms have an ensuite bathroom and open to a view of the sea. The open kitchen layout meant that one is never without a sea view and was well appointed. Despite the wonderful interior, we spent most of our time on the gorgeous wrap around porch where we had all of our meals. The only decision we made in the mornings was whether to enjoy our morning coffee meeting the morning sunrise on the dock or to walk the secluded beach.

You would think that being in a remote area that one would get bored. We found ourselves rather busy however scuba diving, snorkeling, fishing, exploring the cays, beach combing, kayaking and trekking in the jungle. There is even a fine dining establishment just a short boat ride away.

I found my Shangri La in Coral House on Treasure Beach. I would go back again in a heart beat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Sand Flies at dusk and dawn
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2013
wow what a lovely review, thank you so much
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanon B
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury & Relaxation at it's Best!”
Reviewed 8 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time at The Coral House on Treasure Beach. Without question this small stretch of beach is the finest on the island. From the moment we arrived we were taken care of and always felt like we were in good hands and not once did we ever feel unsafe.

Although the house is somewhat remote, getting around was easy and the restaurants/shops in the cays were very handy if we needed more rum/beer/food. You could get there easily via the provided kayak. Dave & Trish were absolutely AMAZING. Very attentive and there if you needed them, but always respected your privacy. All of their recommendations were spot on.

We are not divers - so we weren't really sure what to expect of Utila - but quickly found there was plenty for us to get into. For the first few days we couldn't pull ourselves off of the daybeds on the porch. The reef and water are beautiful - the dock is the perfect entry point for some of the best snorkeling we've seen. We found the reef creatures to be most active in the morning and saw a very large ray, barracuda, beautiful fan corals and fish of every shape and size - all right in front of the house!! We also had a chance to go to Water Cay with our awesome neighbors from the Pineapple House - some incredible snorkeling on the south side of the island there as well. We saw a huge school of large fish and a couple of Lion Fish as well.

We were very lucky to have such great people all around and made some new friends. A must is dinner at Chez Lola... such a unique experience. Chef Peter also made us dinner at the house and what a treat! That man can cook!

Overall we couldn't have asked for more. The house was perfect and just steps from the crystal clear water. We enjoyed the breeze that swept through when we opened all the doors but had the luxury of AC when we wanted it. The finishes and decorations are contemporary and tasteful and the house was equipped with everything one could need.

What a vacation to remember! If you are looking for a slow pace and place to decompress - look no further.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location/View
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeMorto...
Lyme, NH
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing trip, amazing place, amazing people, amazing snorkeling.”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Every island is different, and there’s so much to say about this one…

QUICK PLUSES -- Wonderful, helpful, knowledgeable on-site property managers Dave and Trish. Remote, quiet place. Interesting people (locals and expats). Wonderful snorkeling.

QUICK MINUSES -- As the owner will let you know before you sign, it’s remote. To go most places, you’ll need Dave or Trish to give you a ride in their boat, though that was always easy. Honduras is a developing country, and you need to be alert when traveling, though at the house we felt quite safe. Last… bugs.

The house is one of several in a row at the far end of Utila. Fairly sparse. A lot of expats from the US and elsewhere. Just offshore (swimming distance if you’re braver than me) are several cays with hundreds of folks living on them. Be sure to visit the cays, inhabited and not.

Snorkeling: We usually ask about snorkel tours when in the Caribbean, but the snorkeling just off the end of the dock was great and we were happy to skip going offshore. We did take one day trip to Water Cay and recommend that. Great corals (elkhorn especially, plus soft corals), nice parrotfish, a mellow barracuda, one ray -- and we lucked out and saw a reef octopus!

Bugs: At dusk and dawn, they were bad. Locals swear by baby oil applied with bug-off. The house had some good bug dope, and we brought some. Don’t skimp. Some people found the bites very itchy.

Wifi: There’s a slow 2G (?) connection, and the wifi may not reach you. Don’t count on more than quick email checks.


Planning your trip:
• If seeing whale sharks is important to you, check the season.
• Dave and Trish have a travel agent who can arrange travel from Honduras airports -- small planes or ferry (we liked both).
• Tour books say everyone on Utila speaks English. Not quite; brush up on tourist Spanish.
• Some tour books say everyone on Utila takes US Dollars. Not quite; for courtesy and convenience, get some Honduran lempiras (“lemps” in some circles).
• Dave and Trish will offer to stock the house with provisions from a list they’ll send. Take the up on it; prices are decent for an island and you’ll save a trip to town. But do go into town some time!
• Don’t plan too much what you’ll do when you arrive. Ask Dave and Trish about everything -- snorkeling, restaurants, market days, kayaking, visiting the cays off the shore.
• Once you’ve booked, ask Dave and Trish what small thing you can bring for them -- from us, they requested some Starbucks decaf, and like all island folks they appreciate help in getting things which are hard to find locally.

We found Dave and Trish to be more like hosts than property managers. They’re active in local goings on, and have a lot to share, both inside tips about local politics and people and great recommendations for how to spend your time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Snorkeling, remoteness.
Liked least: Bugs.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJGB
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Paradise”
Reviewed 9 April 2013 for a stay in August 2012

We had the most amazing time at the Coral House. It is a truly stunning home designed by the owner, for the owner - this shows in the level of detail and the clever use of the landscape to allow for the very best views and a sense of bringing the 'inside-in'.

The beach was very private with great snorkelling over the reef, panoramic views and star gazing from the top of the jetty, and wonderful cushioned day beds to while away the hours on the verandah.

David and Trish (who manage the property) were absolutely fabulous. A huge (and very overdue) thanks to them for being so helpful (and yet never intrusive). We loved sharing a few beers with them as we battened down the hatches for a storm (I guess that's one thing they couldn't fix!). We would recommend doing the same; they were welcoming hosts, very clever people with a wealth of local knowledge and history, and incredibly warm.

Top tips:
Stock up on food and beer for your whole stay and factor in island costs
Bring ample supplies of DEET (though the house had a supply for emergencies)
Consider your bank charges/deposit means carefully to avoid unnecessary charges
On a clear night head up to the jetty for an amazing view of the Milky Way.

Ps.... We are so sorry this review is so delayed. I guess we were just far too relaxed when we got home!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahaste...
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 29 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

The Coral House is a lovely Island style beach house on a secluded beach where the reef reaches the shore. We snorkeled every day right out front in crystal clear, warm waters where we saw many, many species including tarpon, tuna and eagle rays. There was a lobster tucked into the coral who popped out to warn us to stay away! Our trips to the cayes with Dave to buy fish gave us a little peek at the lives of natives of the cayes living a life from the sea, with beauty and dignity. Dave and Trish, the managers, made sure we had access to the amenities of the south shore and cayes which includes the most fantastic dinner experience at Chez Lola and the incomparable Bogdon, owner of Utila Cays Diving.
If you want luxury on a sparsly populated beach, dinner and diving experiences of a lifetime, the Coral House is for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beautiful home and it's setting on the beach with the reef at our fingertips.
Liked least: The cooling system was not working quite right.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi K
Bemidji, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Get-Away House”
Reviewed 14 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Never having been to Utila before, we were not sure what to expect of the location, house or area. We were pleasantly suprised by all three! The house is as described, although we did not look at the downstairs bedroom/bath as we had only 4 people. Each room has a view of the Carribean and the kitchen/living area is open and airy. We opened the doors daily to let the outside in and found the breeze to be adequate for keeping cool (and they have the BEST blender of any house we've rented to date, it didn't smoke or burn up with those HUGE ice cubes). Dave and Trish (caretakers) were amazingly accomodating, literally available whenever you need them, yet not in your face all the time or in your business! And their knowledge of the creatures both in and out of the sea was helpful, informative and educational. They only added to our wonderful memories of the vacation and to the colorful character of the area and home. Snorkeling is truly excellent right off the dock and Lola's is a must experience restaurant. Yes, the sand flies were horrible, but dilligent oil or Skin So Soft application kept them from biting. Those in our party who did not do that suffered, be warned. We never return to the same area twice, but this time we are seriously considering. Very private, serene and peaceful vacation, not for the "tourists" who want to be entertained all day and night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and serenity of its location
Liked least: Sand Flies
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,700
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing