We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location in utila”

Hotel Margarita Bay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Utila
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Margarita Bay
Utila, Honduras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best location in utila”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very simple and authentic utilian hotel, great attention by its owner. Margarita bay is clean two minutes from utilas best beach and it has a very nice deck and restaurant to drink margaritas watching the sun go down in this paradise island.
Thank you very much for everything.

Room Tip: ask the owner!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed in a downstairs room and found it very noisy from the room upstairs, people moving chairs on the deck above (at 3am) and from the road.

The aircon cost an additional $20/night but was ineffective.

My room was basic and not particularly clean.

Although the owners were easy going and helpful, I felt the room was over-priced for what it was.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalaharigeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utila, Honduras
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

best place on the whole island to stay. Ms. Carmen, and Bessie are great hosts, and if there is anything you need they know where to get it. hotel is great, cabins are great, and right on the water, be it lagoon side or sea side. they cater to your every need. restraunt right on the water in front of the hotel, chepes beach next door, and some local bars also.driftwood has cold beer, great food, and the best burgers on the island. ask for Sharon or Jungle Jim for any other additional info about Utila you might need

Room Tip: it's all good at margarita bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The only complaint I have is that the bed was not comfy but that is personal preference. Carmen speaks English well and is so sweet and kind. She was sewing a ton of purple material for curtains on the wrap around porch. It was nice to have a room with CLEAN window coverings. One cover was a net for bugs. Windows had screens but still those tiny bugs get thru. But they really worked pretty well. The only grimy thing was the light switch cover which I don't understand how it was overlooked as it was pretty dirty. The shower was hot.

Room Tip: We had a corner room in the back so we had lots of windows. Did not need AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank painnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

It was our first time to Utila and we stayed at the Margarita Bay Hotel's cabin on the ocean. The view was outstanding. The cabin clean and wonderful. Carmen was very hospitable. I recommend this hotel over others in Utila due to the location!

Room Tip: I suggest the cabin on the ocean over their others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristainthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Good price compering to other i checkd in utila ,for 2 persones,its location is around 10 to 15 minutes from the center but on the other hand its one minute from the beach,rooms are very compty and with space oweners nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonobono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottenbach, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The Margarita Villa Bay resort is a lovely Caribean pink house with a huge Balcony all around were you can sit and enjoy the lovely view at the sea or the lagoon. It is next to the public beach and the closest for a walk to the snorkellocation at Coral view. Bessie is a helpfull lady and every morning coffee is served downstairs for the guest. The rooms ans beds are very basic and you have to improvise to get your fan on the right place and so on.The bathroom is not so clean but the shower is hot. The Wifi is working well. We visited the bay islands in February, in the "no-see-ums" period ... so you can imagine that there were a lot of bugs flying around. In march, when the wind picks up, these ugly animals are gone. Fact is that I was eaten by No-see-ums on the normal moskito places but also had like 40 bites at the back of my body and legs, in my hair and back of my neck. This happened after we changed room from the back to the front (the lock was broken and we could not open the door anymore from the inside). Even now, after a long thought I suspect Bedbugs in the last room and I am still washing and cleaning all my stuff at home, because it was awful. My husband had no moskito or bugbites at all, I must say. Bessie promised to clean and spray the room and I'm sure she did so.. Apart from the bugissue the Margarita Ville is a cheap and nice place to stay..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carovis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Utila hotels
1.1 mi away
The Colibri Hill Resort
0.7 mi away
Sea Eye Resort
Sea Eye Resort
#5 of 8 in Utila
43 reviews
1.0 mi away
Utila Lodge
Utila Lodge
#3 of 8 in Utila
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Venue - Utila
The Venue - Utila
#1 of 9 in Utila
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lazy Daze on the Bay
Lazy Daze on the Bay
#2 of 14 in Utila
76 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coral View Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margarita Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margarita Bay

Property: Hotel Margarita Bay
Address: Sandy Bay, Utila IB3103, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Utila
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Utila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing